PDA

View Full Version : Panther CD Photos....




MacAztec
Apr 27, 2003, 07:25 PM
I saw this on SpyMac, and then I enlarged the photo (it was originally a bigger size lik 1280x1024)

I decided to take a screenshot, and now when I refresh, the photo has been removed. The black hole in the center of the disc on the right was said to be there becaues it was printed on a dye sublimation printer.

I wish I had the full quality to show you, but I did not take a pic of it. It says AMD Opteron on the disc on the right.

Who knows...



MacAztec
Apr 27, 2003, 07:30 PM
Sorry forgot to upload em...

Freg3000
Apr 27, 2003, 07:54 PM
Can anyone say if this is what that Jaguar build CDs looked like? And I can't really tell, but it looks like the X is pretty much not aqua.

MacAztec
Apr 27, 2003, 07:55 PM
Its like graphite/silver

MacAztec
Apr 27, 2003, 08:00 PM
Holy crap. If apple did use the Opteron, it would SMOKE all chips. Look at this! It even smokes the 970!

http://www.eetimes.com/semi/news/OEG20021016S0019

MacAztec
Apr 27, 2003, 08:36 PM
Another photo....

MacAztec
Apr 27, 2003, 08:37 PM
The guy said apple has banned him from their website for 24-hours. This is weird...

Freg3000
Apr 27, 2003, 08:44 PM
Originally posted by MacAztec
The guy said apple has banned him from their website for 24-hours. This is weird...

That is really strange. I doubt that is real...I mean, look how bad that stop sign looks. If Apple were to ban you for a day, they would at least make it look nice when they told you.

DakotaGuy
Apr 27, 2003, 09:01 PM
And everyone thought the Panther screen shots were bad fakes...this disk is even funnier. How in the world do you get banned from apple.com? He is at the start page you don't even log in. duh.

rainman::|:|
Apr 27, 2003, 09:02 PM
The second photo is the master that whoever did this used to print the CD label. it's a total fake, the reason the inner ring wasn't printed is that his CD labeling kit is too cheap to include center labels. Total crap, no one pay any attention.

That he would upload the master speaks loads for how unintelligent he is. Why would you have access to the master but only a very poor photo of an actual CD?

pnw

MacAztec
Apr 27, 2003, 09:02 PM
If they got his IP or something....

cubist
Apr 27, 2003, 09:04 PM
I'm not following this... first the guy posts images of some CD-ROMs, and apologizes for having had trouble printing one of them; then he posts an image without a center hole; then he posts an image saying he is banned from Apple.com.

:confused: It sounds to me like he is having some fun with Photoshop.

icetraxxg5
Apr 27, 2003, 09:05 PM
The MacOS X logo looks JUST like the MacOS X 10.2 server logo.... Why would apple want to get the 2 confused? :rolleyes:

http://a772.g.akamai.net/7/772/51/f3e8d0ec8f9139/www.apple.com/server/macosx/images/features_top08122002_01.gif
http://a336.g.akamai.net/7/336/51/8b0e3c369aecbb/www.apple.com/server/macosx/images/index_top071602.gif

I would say it was a fake

DakotaGuy
Apr 27, 2003, 09:09 PM
Well I have the confirmation...notice in the legal registered copyright statement it says AMD Inc. When did the corporate name change. This is the legal info from a press release...

"AMD, the AMD Arrow logo, AMD Athlon, AMD Opteron, and combinations thereof, QuantiSpeed, and 3DNow! are trademarks of Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. HyperTransport is a licensed trademark of the HyperTransport Technology Consortium. Other company and product names are for informational purposes only and may be trademarks of their respective companies."

My point is made.

DakotaGuy
Apr 27, 2003, 09:18 PM
Notice the title to the banned web-site is simply

appleban.jpg

Now the URL is just www.apple.com nothing else...wouldn't we all get the appleban.jpg if that is what you hit when you go to www.apple.com. There is nothing behind the URL to send him to that page, plus I can't see apple giving a page the name appleban.jpg

This guy missed a lot of details that even I can pick out.

mangoman
Apr 27, 2003, 10:03 PM
What does someone expect to gain from wasting that much time creating a fake? Why am I wasting my time thinking about this?

Why is the grass green?

(zzzzzzzzzzz)

marcsiry
Apr 27, 2003, 10:04 PM
Apple (or anyone) can't ban a specific IP for fear that the IP might have been temporarily assigned to a dialup user, or represents someone surfing from behind a NAT device at a school or business. Total BS.

Additionally, that "appleban.jpg" is so laughably amateurish and off, it's ludicrous to think anyone would buy it for a second. "24-hours"? WHO in the United States puts a dash between "24" and "hours"? Uhh, nobody, that's who.

bidge
Apr 27, 2003, 10:16 PM
Does anone in here use keynote???

That's the same sign as the top sign in the keynote objects that keynote comes with....

Kwyjibo
Apr 27, 2003, 10:38 PM
yeah i doubt hes banned from apple.com. I think apple is more about stopping you from sending out their stuff to others than stopping you form viewign relatively harmless content.

mac15
Apr 27, 2003, 11:02 PM
now this seems a bit far fetched, the graphics for the X and well everything haven't even been done yet. A friend dad works for the design company doing there stuff and they have until August 13th to finish it. So this is Bs

Sun Baked
Apr 27, 2003, 11:08 PM
http://pages.prodigy.net/indianahawkeye/newpage44/10.gif

---

Gullible fools everywhere, makes them easier to fleece when they visit Wall Street. ;)

The AMD Opteron is the server/workstation solution, which means this flawed forgery should have been for Mac OS X Server ver. 10.3

If Mac OS X v10.3 was a AMD-64 only OS it would most likely have been for AMD Athlon 64, which is probably going to be delayed again. :rolleyes:

FelixDerKater
Apr 27, 2003, 11:08 PM
All the person had to do was load the AppleBan image and then type in the www.apple.com and move the cursor out of the address bar.

nuckinfutz
Apr 27, 2003, 11:49 PM
Originally posted by MacAztec
Holy crap. If apple did use the Opteron, it would SMOKE all chips. Look at this! It even smokes the 970!

http://www.eetimes.com/semi/news/OEG20021016S0019

Ummmm that's a negative.

The article quotes

AMD's 64-bit X86 processor running at 2 GHz in a 32-bit mode will hit an estimated SPECint base2000 performance rating of 1,202 and a SPECfp base2000 rating of 1,170, said Fred Weber, chief technology officer of AMD's computation products group, at the Microprocessor Forum here Tuesday (Oct 15).

While that's faster than the "Estimated" 1.8 Ghz PPC 970 figures of 950 for Interger and 1031 for FP. It's basing it's basing it's figures on 2Ghz parts. Take the 970's number and add another 200Mhz and you'll have an increase as well

The Opteron is a nice chip but I'd prefer the PPC 970 over it because of it's 64/32bit Native capabilities, Because it's a smaller die by 60sq mm. Because it has Altivec. There will be no Operton lust here. What we have coming is at least equal and potential superior in the long run.

j33pd0g
Apr 28, 2003, 10:12 PM
I guess you can get banned anywhere!

DreaminDirector
Apr 28, 2003, 11:54 PM
That's funny!

Since most of us around here are fairly talented mac geeks, we should start making all sort of fake pictures. Then we can sit back an see if we get slapped with C&D orders or Apple pulling it from the site.

On second thought.....


nah.

XnavxeMiyyep
Apr 29, 2003, 10:00 PM
The jpeg compression on the stop sign is terrible. Look at the edges. Apple would never do that. The person who did this really messed up...