View Full Version : Apple threatens iTunes.co.uk owner
MacBytes
Dec 7, 2004, 12:11 AM
Category: News and Press Releases
Link: Apple threatens iTunes.co.uk owner (http://www.macbytes.com/link.php?sid=20041207001131)
Posted on MacBytes.com (http://www.macbytes.com)
Approved by Mudbug
haddiscoe
Dec 7, 2004, 03:04 AM
Apple doesn't deserve to win this one. Hope the little guy prevails.
polyesterlester
Dec 7, 2004, 04:33 AM
Apple doesn't deserve to win this one. Hope the little guy prevails.
Yeah, and Benjamin Cohen's a saint, too. Go to CyberBritain.com, and scroll to the bottom. This jerk's contributing to the uselessness of online search.
He may not have originally intended to cybersquat itunes.co.uk (the debate's still up), but it's obvious that once Apple came out with iTunes, he took advantage of that. Otherwise, why did he renew iTunes.co.uk when he didn't renew most of his other domains (SkipMusic.com, etc.)? He's obviously not using iTunes.co.uk for anything other than a forwarding address to a spam scam, aka QuickQuid.
Nice. Someone needs to hang him from his balls, and if Apple's the one to do it, I couldn't be happier.
slipper
Dec 7, 2004, 04:43 AM
Based on the facts in the article, Apple has no case against the guy. i dont blame Apple for going after the domain name though, theres no reason they shouldnt. But to take them to court, they have absolutely no case.
But at the same time, why wouldnt the "itunes.co.uk" guy want to sell the domain? its not really in use. unless he just wants a larger amount than what Apple initially provided.
broken_keyboard
Dec 7, 2004, 04:53 AM
He doesn't sound like a squatter, he sounds like the genuine owner of that domain. As the article said, Apple should just make him a proper offer and get it over with.
dragula53
Dec 7, 2004, 05:02 AM
His original intent may not have been to squat.
But now he is in violation of the part that says "the Respondent is using the Domain Name in a way which has confused people or businesses into believing that the Domain Name is registered to, operated or authorised by, or otherwise connected with the Complainant"
visit the site. he is trying to profit off of the itunes name.. by selling/giving away ipods/itunes songs. In other words he is profiting from the fact that apple doesn't have the name by using apple's brand name to make money.
This isn't a big corporation trying to screw the little man. This is the little man trying to milk big money out of a big corporation. He may deserve a "buyout" fee from apple because he got the name first. But he is in no way being oppressed or whatever.
Timelessblur
Dec 7, 2004, 08:58 AM
Apple sounds like it just being a baby about this. In all legil aspect he had the domin registered before itunes even existed. Yeah the name may be a little conufusing but if apple should do the right thing and offer him money for the site instead it just trying to play the big buniness card and get the domin name for very little money.
Low ball tacits and apple has been doing a lot of that recenctly
Chip NoVaMac
Dec 7, 2004, 09:42 AM
His original intent may not have been to squat.
But now he is in violation of the part that says "the Respondent is using the Domain Name in a way which has confused people or businesses into believing that the Domain Name is registered to, operated or authorised by, or otherwise connected with the Complainant"
visit the site. he is trying to profit off of the itunes name.. by selling/giving away ipods/itunes songs. In other words he is profiting from the fact that apple doesn't have the name by using apple's brand name to make money.
This isn't a big corporation trying to screw the little man. This is the little man trying to milk big money out of a big corporation. He may deserve a "buyout" fee from apple because he got the name first. But he is in no way being oppressed or whatever.
Maybe this can end up like the Nissan domain dispute. Though that had a David vs. Goliath story, though in this one David lost.
http://www.nissan.com/
awulf
Dec 8, 2004, 03:27 AM
I think Apple should do something about these domain squatters:
http://www.itunes.org/
http://www.itunes.net/
http://www.ipod.org/
I'm sure there are more.
www.itunes.com.au is still available
polyesterlester
Dec 9, 2004, 06:01 PM
I think Apple should do something about these domain squatters:
http://www.itunes.org/
http://www.itunes.net/
http://www.ipod.org/
I'm sure there are more.
www.itunes.com.au is still available
Don't forget iTunes.ca!
vBulletin® v3.6.10, Copyright ©2000-2009, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.