PDA

View Full Version : Mobile Me and pesonal Wep Page




Lykos1986
Aug 29, 2010, 07:30 PM
Hello! I am curious about the mobile me account and probably I am going to give it a try later. But I have a question. I have heard that you can use the mobile me as a web server in order to host your personal web page. Is that true?

If yes, how big can be my page? Does support XML, Databases, CSS, JavaScript or any other latest internet trends? Is it reliable or most of the times the page will be off line? I have to use only the iWeb application for the web page creation or I can use whatever I like? Does it worth for a personal page or it probably better to go to another web server? Any link or “how to” that can help me about the web server process?

Thanks....



r4dical
Aug 29, 2010, 09:55 PM
Yes, you're able to host a website with your MobileMe account.
You'll have as much space as is allotted to iDisk through your account settings (me.com/account, Storage Settings), so as much as 19.97GB (unless your account has been upgraded) - which is absolutely plenty. I think that you are allotted 200GB bandwidth on the standard account, but I am not entirely sure. Unless your website is massively popular, you will not need to worry about bandwidth.

MobileMe supports basic files such as HTML (.html), JavaScript (.js), CSS (.css) and XML, as well as images/videos/songs. This file support is enough to build a decent website, though if you need more complex functions like databases, you cannot use your MobileMe account to host a website beyond HTML, CSS, JavaScript, and XML. So unfortunately, MobileMe doesn't support programming languages like PHP and Ruby. You're still able to upload these types of files as downloads, but they will not work as they would on a server that supports those languages.

My experience with MobileMe hosting has been very pleasant. As far as I am aware, my website has never been down and is consistently loads quickly.

You can use iWeb to create a website (this is best if you don't have any experience with web design) or you can manually code files and upload them in Mac OS X finder or Windows Explorer, for example. I use Coda (http://panic.com/coda) because of the built-in editor and syntax highlighting, previews and other tools.

For around $100 annually, I think that using MobileMe to host your website, as well as for your mail, contacts, calendars, photos, iDisk, and iDevice tracking is a very good deal. It's definitely comparable to other hosts (A Small Orange shared hosting (http://www.asmallorange.com/hosting/shared/) ranges from about $25-$360 a year, and with the best plan you still get less space and bandwidth than on MobileMe).

One other thing: if you have a domain name, you can host it on your MobileMe account with a simple CNAME change. This requires that you have access to the host records - I highly recommend Namecheap (http://www.namecheap.com/), where you have complete access to those tools.

Lykos1986
Aug 30, 2010, 04:45 AM
Oh! I really like your respond!!! It is complete!!!!! Thank you very much!

Probably I will go to an Apple Store in the middle of September in order to take one of those packages of Mobile Me.

If you have any other info about the web page hosting, please let me know!

Lykos1986
Aug 30, 2010, 11:32 AM
And a more general question. . .

If I start using the 60 days free trial I will have all the features of the real one in order to test those? Furthermore, after the free trial I can go to a retail store take a Mobile Me box with an annual subscription and I will continue to have the same account?

Is there somewhere a place to put the box registration code to my free account?

r4dical
Aug 30, 2010, 01:16 PM
Oh! I really like your respond!!! It is complete!!!!! Thank you very much!

Probably I will go to an Apple Store in the middle of September in order to take one of those packages of Mobile Me.

If you have any other info about the web page hosting, please let me know!

You're welcome :)

And a more general question. . .

If I start using the 60 days free trial I will have all the features of the real one in order to test those? Furthermore, after the free trial I can go to a retail store take a Mobile Me box with an annual subscription and I will continue to have the same account?

Is there somewhere a place to put the box registration code to my free account?

Yep, you can do that. During the 60 days you'll have all features and once you buy an annual subscription to MobileMe you can apply the activation code (https://secure.me.com/wo/WebObjects/Signup.woa/wa/activation) (make sure you choose "Apply to an existing account") on the box to an existing account.

Also, you may want to browse eBay for deals on MobileMe. Watch out, though, and try to only buy from sellers that have good reputation and feedback.

OneMike
Aug 30, 2010, 03:14 PM
Also, you may want to browse eBay for deals on MobileMe. Watch out, though, and try to only buy from sellers that have good reputation and feedback.

Also make sure you are getting a FULL individual account, not a sub account of a family pack. Lastly make sure they can mail you the box and not just email the code. I'm about to renew this way again.

MarkGreaves
Sep 18, 2010, 06:00 PM
Hi
I have just bought my own domain name through www.justhostme.co.uk and I am having trouble with the cname section. They (justhostme) have told me that I need to pay them to host my web site, however I have a MobileMe account so I just want to direct this to my new web address. Please help, I'm a newbie to all this and I am becoming rather frustrated with it all

Regards

Supa_Fly
Sep 25, 2010, 04:25 PM
Hi,

Wondering if a mobileme full user can increase the monthly bandwidth and website data size? I don't know because I'm still on the fee trial.

regarding my data size increase - for a family account can this be increased for ALL users or allotted for specific users?

Thanks for all the information thus far as its been very helpful.

Weaselboy
Sep 26, 2010, 09:12 AM
Hi
I have just bought my own domain name through www.justhostme.co.uk and I am having trouble with the cname section. They (justhostme) have told me that I need to pay them to host my web site, however I have a MobileMe account so I just want to direct this to my new web address. Please help, I'm a newbie to all this and I am becoming rather frustrated with it all

Regards

http://support.apple.com/kb/HT1107

Here is what you want.

MarkGreaves
Oct 15, 2010, 04:15 PM
I've done all that the support link states however it still doesnt work. When I type in my domain name into safari it states that the server cannot be found. Your help will be appreciated as I'm at my wits end now.

Thanks

Weaselboy
Oct 16, 2010, 09:30 AM
http://discussions.apple.com/forum.jspa?forumID=1163

You might try looking in the Apple Support forums.

malgrosch
Oct 20, 2010, 03:55 AM
Can I ask a question? If you use Mobile Me for webhosting do they allocate you a name? Does it have a normal suffix? I am just wondering if it is worth changing to personalised domain name? Basically, do mobile me give you a very long complex domain name do you know. Mal Grosch

Playgear
Oct 20, 2010, 04:21 AM
Can I ask a question? If you use Mobile Me for webhosting do they allocate you a name? Does it have a normal suffix? I am just wondering if it is worth changing to personalised domain name? Basically, do mobile me give you a very long complex domain name do you know. Mal Grosch

By default you get given - http://web.me.com/username

If you want a personal domain with a normal suffix, you'll need to register and purchase your own domain name with a registrar such as GoDaddy.

visakar
Oct 23, 2010, 06:53 AM
I am new to Mac, first time using iweb, mobileme etc.
I got my domain registered in Yahoo and was able to create a website using iweb and managed to launch using Mobile me.

My site www.visakar.com

I got stuck few times for which I got support from Apple and was able to fix it.