PDA

View Full Version : Compiling Objective C on Mac from PC

openglguy
Aug 31, 2010, 06:42 AM
Hi,

I am very new to Mac. Just curios to know this: I have a single Mac MINI, which four of our friends want to access simultaneously from PC (not mac). Is it possible? Basically we will be developing iPad Applications using Objective C and OpenGL.

We have been doing so on PCs where we used Putty for accessing a server. This way we were able to cut hugely in terms of cost as we installed expensive softwares and hardware only on one system, (but we accessed it from many).

Thanking you in advance.

openglguy

maflynn
Aug 31, 2010, 07:39 AM
The SDK for iPhone/OSX is mac only so the frameworks and such is not available on a PC. I believe you may be able to find an objective c compiler for the PC but since you don't have the SDK, it doesn't do you any good.

You need a mac to develop apps for OSX and the iPhone/iPad

robbieduncan
Aug 31, 2010, 07:44 AM
Assuming you are happy with putty you can still remote into a Mac OSX box using that. The compilers and entire build process can be run from the command line. In general though you will hit things that require the full XCode GUI. And OSX only supports 1 logged in GUI user at once.

pinsrw
Aug 31, 2010, 01:57 PM
Hi,

I am very new to Mac. Just curios to know this: I have a single Mac MINI, which four of our friends want to access simultaneously from PC (not mac). Is it possible? Basically we will be developing iPad Applications using Objective C and OpenGL.

Why not write your code first for Windows using C++ and OpenGL, get it working, and then port it to the iPad?

maflynn
Aug 31, 2010, 02:44 PM
Why not write your code first for Windows using C++ and OpenGL, get it working, and then port it to the iPad?

I suspect the work required to port C++ code will be sizable given how objective-c works.

robbieduncan
Aug 31, 2010, 02:47 PM
I suspect the work required to port C++ code will be sizable given how objective-c works.