PDA

View Full Version : I have Jag.. YAY


madamimadam
Aug 23, 2002, 12:20 AM
We got a demo iMac today so I am giving 10.2 a try out

Been installing for 46 minutes and just finished disk one.

Oh, I am SO excited

madamimadam
Aug 23, 2002, 12:28 AM
BTW, only problem I find with installing Jag from an iMac disk... Update only, no install.

I wanted to delete my OS and start fro scratch but I guess I will have to wait for the box to come in.

55 min and ALMOST there

madamimadam
Aug 23, 2002, 12:37 AM
Final time to get to the 10.2 login screen:

58 Minutes

I had one customer tell us it took him 2.5 Hr

I think we should have a contest to see who can UPDATE from 10.1 to 10.2 the fastest and who can INSTALL 10.2 the fastest assuming DEFAULT INSTALL/UPDATE is conducted.
:)

Updates as they come.... btw, my dock is packed up with a few extra things
:)

madamimadam
Aug 23, 2002, 12:56 AM
First impressions:

Things really do seem to be faster... in fact, the dock is too fast and it looks kinda silly.

Currently importing from Entourage to Mail and CPU is just under 100% but I can still do all the fancy looking graphics.

When Mail is finished I want to test slow motion minimising while running a movie.


BTW, I am on a SP 533 with 2MX and 896MB
With no apps open my machine used 375MB RAM but I, obviously, do not have a clean system and there are a couple of things that run on start up that are not installed by the OS.

madamimadam
Aug 23, 2002, 12:58 AM
Other things I have noticed that I like:

Utilities:
ODBC Administrator
BlueTooth File Exchange
Audio Midi Setup

System Pref:
Desktop Change Pic Time
New screen saver is AWESOME
Font Smoothing optimised for Flat Panel
No HD sleep time just a check button
Sound Input (YAY)
New Alert sounds and sound when changing system volume is nicer on ears
Auto update on iDisk info
AMAZING Sharing pane with great Firewall settings and all
FAR more detail on what each user is allowed to do
New Map for time settings

madamimadam
Aug 23, 2002, 01:21 AM
Looks like my machine can still not handle minimising a movie in slow motion but in normal speed it is so fast you would not know either way
:)

madamimadam
Aug 23, 2002, 01:22 AM
The sherlock tranlation is DAMN cool... far better than anything Google or Alta Vista can provide

madamimadam
Aug 23, 2002, 02:24 AM
Maybe it is my eyes but there seems to be a purpley haze around all my text

hhhmmmm......

madamimadam
Aug 24, 2002, 07:25 PM
Well, while I don't seem to be getting any replies here I will still post.... Looks like there are not only a heavy handfull of apps that do not work under 10.2 but there are also a ****load of apps that load MUCH slower. Overall, things are MUCH better but there are a few upsetting things.

This weird hazed colour around letters is starting to piss me off.

In many programs, like IE, when you have to click on a button there are parts of the button that do not highlight when you press them.

The Uni. Access feature that speaks any sentances under the mouse is VERY cool.

MacMaster
Aug 24, 2002, 07:39 PM
Well now this is one way to boost your post count...:p ;)

madamimadam
Aug 24, 2002, 08:01 PM
Originally posted by MacMaster
Well now this is one way to boost your post count...:p ;)

LOL, that is true, but I am genuine... seems people just don't want to comment on my thread but as long as people are reading it I am happy.
:)

MacMaster
Aug 24, 2002, 08:13 PM
Originally posted by madamimadamtimallen


LOL, that is true, but I am genuine... seems people just don't want to comment on my thread but as long as people are reading it I am happy.
:)
Yes I know;)

jelloshotsrule
Aug 24, 2002, 08:13 PM
navigator (chimera) loads up very very slowly for me using jag and dp 800....

guess we just have to wait til the new version comes out...

madamimadam
Aug 24, 2002, 08:32 PM
Originally posted by jelloshotsrule
navigator (chimera) loads up very very slowly for me using jag and dp 800....

guess we just have to wait til the new version comes out...

As a slightly unrelated quote, I am using Chimera now and it will be fantastic when they advance it. It is the only browser I have come across that truely takes in the OSX feel.

firewire2001
Aug 24, 2002, 11:31 PM
you should chill out.. if alphatech was still around....... :rolleyes:

its jsut not cool to go crazy like that.. i think that quite a few ppl are pretty excited about jag here, too..

jelloshotsrule
Aug 25, 2002, 08:03 AM
Originally posted by firewire2001
you should chill out.. if alphatech was still around....... :rolleyes:

its jsut not cool to go crazy like that.. i think that quite a few ppl are pretty excited about jag here, too..

if alphatech was around what? he'd spout off words on a computer? uh oh. and i don't think he's one to jump on people for the "problem" you see with this thread... more jumping on people who have facts wrong... or facts he thinks are wrong.

to go crazy like what?

i found his comments pretty informative and i didn't mind reading them

so what are you complaining about? find another thread then.

Sepulchre
Aug 25, 2002, 08:18 AM
Originally posted by jelloshotsrule
navigator (chimera) loads up very very slowly for me using jag and dp 800....

guess we just have to wait til the new version comes out...

You should try it on a G4 400 arrggh :(

jelloshotsrule
Aug 25, 2002, 09:13 AM
Originally posted by Sepulchre
You should try it on a G4 400 arrggh :(

since i posted it's been opening up much faster.... guess the first couple times i noticed there was other stuff going on or whatever... but it seems at least back to old speed now...

madamimadam
Aug 25, 2002, 06:53 PM
Originally posted by jelloshotsrule


since i posted it's been opening up much faster.... guess the first couple times i noticed there was other stuff going on or whatever... but it seems at least back to old speed now...

As time has been going on I have found Jaguar to be a very odd experience, to say the least. Some things have sped up, some slown down and some just don't know what it going on. I would take 10.2 over 10.1.x anyday but it is just a shame that it still lags a bit.

I do love, though, being able to open up my CPU monitor, do lots of graphical stuff and not have the marker move more than the normal ups and downs of idle use.

Edit: The new startup screen just damn rocks too

madamimadam
Aug 27, 2002, 12:46 AM
Ok, I thought it was just the way things were being displayed on my machine but I took this screen shot from WebObjects Builder to show how blury things have become under 10.2 and tested it on an OS 9 machine.

This is the worst I have ever seen it... usually there is just a funny pinky purple colour around text.

cb911
Aug 27, 2002, 01:10 AM
yeah, 10.2 is heaps faster. now i can minimize using the genie effect again!!:D

e-coli
Aug 27, 2002, 01:16 AM
huh...my install only took 20 minutes. :D

but jaguar is WONDERFUL!!!

madamimadam
Aug 27, 2002, 01:26 AM
Originally posted by e-coli
huh...my install only took 20 minutes. :D

but jaguar is WONDERFUL!!!

Oh, come on, you know the deal.

What specs on your machine... was it an install or an update?

You said install and if you meant install you are in a different boat because I updated.

8thDegreeSavage
Aug 27, 2002, 01:27 AM
I just reinstalled Jaguar and it took 20 minutes...then i updated it to build 6d42 and things are all sunny and weedsmoking-like....all is well.

madamimadam
Aug 27, 2002, 01:34 AM
Originally posted by 8thDegreeSavage
I just reinstalled Jaguar and it took 20 minutes...then i updated it to build 6d42 and things are all sunny and weedsmoking-like....all is well.

Yeah, seems installs don't take half as long as updates

MacBandit
Aug 27, 2002, 01:37 AM
Any program you have problems with try reinstalling it. I've heard that this has helped with many apps.

GeeYouEye
Aug 27, 2002, 01:43 AM
Originally posted by madamimadamtimallen
Ok, I thought it was just the way things were being displayed on my machine but I took this screen shot from WebObjects Builder to show how blury things have become under 10.2 and tested it on an OS 9 machine.

This is the worst I have ever seen it... usually there is just a funny pinky purple colour around text.

Dude, I don't see anything wrong... I think its your monitor

madamimadam
Aug 27, 2002, 01:58 AM
Originally posted by GeeYouEye


Dude, I don't see anything wrong... I think its your monitor

People are not in a detail mood today, are they.
;)

Can you tell me if you are on an LCD or CRT. I tested it on another 17" LCD under OS 9.1 and it looked the same as on mine with a 17" LCD and OS X.2

vniow
Aug 27, 2002, 02:02 AM
I've got a CRT and I don't see it.

madamimadam
Aug 27, 2002, 02:21 AM
Originally posted by edvniow
I've got a CRT and I don't see it.

hhhhmmm.... anyone on LCD????

madamimadam
Aug 27, 2002, 02:24 AM
Here is one of the other problems

ShaolinMiddleFinger
Aug 27, 2002, 02:46 AM
Originally posted by madamimadamtimallen
Here is one of the other problems

I think that's just Chimera or how it accepts the "submit reply" button. I have the same problem but when I try it on the other buttons, it looks fine.

The bluish/purplish haze you're looking at looks okay on my iBook

madamimadam
Aug 27, 2002, 06:39 PM
Originally posted by ShaolinMiddleFinger


I think that's just Chimera or how it accepts the "submit reply" button. I have the same problem but when I try it on the other buttons, it looks fine.

I thought it was in IE as well but looks like i was wrong.