PDA

View Full Version : Internet speed requirement for new apple tv?




zepica
Sep 5, 2010, 09:55 AM
I cant find anywhere what is internet speed requirement for apple tv. So I can watch movies without glitches. :)



Hellhammer
Sep 5, 2010, 10:06 AM
Depends on movie and whether you choose SD or HD. Try renting a movie on your computer to see how it works

jamied95
Sep 5, 2010, 11:25 AM
I wondered this, the Apple person told me to ask my ISP, but I took the view of, how do they know how big the file is, it's YOU as APPLE that should know what I need, so I know whether the Apple TV will work or not! To be honest I don't exactly think she knew what she was talking about, she said you couldn't rent from the Apple TV box, you had to buy/download all your programs from iTunes, and then stream them after the download! Which left me VERY confused!

Merthyrboy
Sep 5, 2010, 11:35 AM
probably best to try out other streaming sites for this. Youtube now does TV programs in the UK so you could maybe try watching one of those and see how it goes.

zepica
Sep 5, 2010, 11:43 AM
I wondered this, the Apple person told me to ask my ISP, but I took the view of, how do they know how big the file is, it's YOU as APPLE that should know what I need, so I know whether the Apple TV will work or not! To be honest I don't exactly think she knew what she was talking about, she said you couldn't rent from the Apple TV box, you had to buy/download all your programs from iTunes, and then stream them after the download! Which left me VERY confused!

This is for old version, new apple tv cant download, it must stream all content. I wonder if 5mbps will be enough.

TheBritishBloke
Sep 5, 2010, 11:58 AM
This is for old version, new apple tv cant download, it must stream all content. I wonder if 5mbps will be enough.

That'll be fine.. Apple's download speeds rock.

jamied95
Sep 5, 2010, 02:19 PM
This is for old version, new apple tv cant download, it must stream all content. I wonder if 5mbps will be enough.

Well I'm chugging along on 0.5Mbps.... can't imagine that'll work, and with my dongle, I get 2Mbps or sometimes slightly more... so I don't want to purchase to find it doesn't work!

yoda13
Sep 6, 2010, 01:05 PM
I am thinking it wouldn't work well for me either as I am 1.0 mbps on the connection speed...our only option in this area...well, I guess I could get satellite, but it sucks for my friend that has it at his church...

goobot
Sep 6, 2010, 01:24 PM
http://www.speedtest.net/result/942955779.png (http://www.speedtest.net)

good?

zepica
Sep 6, 2010, 01:25 PM
http://www.speedtest.net/result/942955779.png (http://www.speedtest.net)

good?

Very good :)

stridemat
Sep 6, 2010, 01:25 PM
http://www.speedtest.net/result/942955779.png (http://www.speedtest.net)

good?

You will have no problems!

iMJustAGuy
Sep 6, 2010, 04:30 PM
I assume it will be close to that of netflix and possibly even a little less strict. Netflix says that to view their shows in HD you need a 6mbps download speed and I think 1-2mbps for standard.

I'm at work and decided to test my speed... I can't believe our upload speed is faster than our download speed... weird?

suss2it
Sep 6, 2010, 05:07 PM
http://www.speedtest.net/result/943204179.png (http://www.speedtest.net)

Good enough to stream HD content?

PurdueGuy
Sep 6, 2010, 05:29 PM
http://www.speedtest.net/result/943204179.png (http://www.speedtest.net)

Good enough to stream HD content?
Should be fine.

And for grins:
http://www.speedtest.net/result/943221899.png (http://www.speedtest.net)

emvath
Sep 6, 2010, 06:12 PM
Oh yeah, well check THIS out b****es! ;)

http://www.speedtest.net/result/943250890.png (http://www.speedtest.net)

iMJustAGuy
Sep 6, 2010, 06:18 PM
http://www.speedtest.net/result/943204179.png (http://www.speedtest.net)

Good enough to stream HD content?

That ping is terrible... you'll probably experience lag with a ping that high. (Well, lag cause high ping not vice versa, but you may still experience glitchy video)


Oh yeah, well check THIS out b****es! ;)


NICE! :p

liquidsuns
Sep 6, 2010, 08:46 PM
I don't know how well iTunes movies stream but my experience with Netflix has been great. I only have a 1.2 Mbps connection but I still get pretty good quality. Right now I stream over an xbox which has 4 bars that indicate video quality. I'd say 50% of the time it's on 3 bars, 40% of the time it's on 2 bars, around 5% on 1 bar, and then sometimes it actually shoots up to full HD. It's really funny when it happens because sometimes it'll go all the way from 1 bar to HD for a few minutes then back to something more expected. That's a massive difference in bandwidth, I don't know why it happens, but it really makes me wish I could get faster internet.

But if you have a slower connection like mine, I highly recommend you use ethernet instead of going wireless. It has made my netflix connection much more stable.

ColinM
Sep 6, 2010, 09:28 PM
Just for fun. :D

Also, you should try http://www.pingtest.net/ . It can also give you a good indication how your line will behave during streaming.

iMJustAGuy
Sep 6, 2010, 09:47 PM
I don't know how well iTunes movies stream but my experience with Netflix has been great. I only have a 1.2 Mbps connection but I still get pretty good quality. Right now I stream over an xbox which has 4 bars that indicate video quality. I'd say 50% of the time it's on 3 bars, 40% of the time it's on 2 bars, around 5% on 1 bar, and then sometimes it actually shoots up to full HD. It's really funny when it happens because sometimes it'll go all the way from 1 bar to HD for a few minutes then back to something more expected. That's a massive difference in bandwidth, I don't know why it happens, but it really makes me wish I could get faster internet.

But if you have a slower connection like mine, I highly recommend you use ethernet instead of going wireless. It has made my netflix connection much more stable.

I think it may have something to do with netflix (at least some of the "problem") I get 13mbps at home and 70% of the time it runs in standard def 20% it runs in HD and the other 10% of the time it will start off in HD and change to SD about a minute into the show. It's weird, and somewhat annoying. I have 100% wi-fi signal. Also, this is via my PS3.

theonekcrow
Sep 6, 2010, 10:10 PM
My speed is ok for the time being, I have seen speeds of 10 Mb/s though on my wifi before.

http://www.speedtest.net/result/943416126.png (http://www.speedtest.net)

iMJustAGuy
Sep 6, 2010, 11:46 PM
Okay. A few things I don't get. Both pics were taken right after eachother.

I pay for 13 MBPS download... typically I get around 8-9 on speedtest.net.

Now,

1) Why does using a server 500 miles away give me far greater results than one in my own city.
2) Why do sometimes, such as now, do I get very low speeds in comparison to what I "normally" get.
3) Why do I "normally" get 8mbps when I pay for 13?

bohbot16
Sep 7, 2010, 05:38 AM
I wouldn't be surprised if rentals on the new ATV work the same as the current one, where rentals are temporarily downloaded to the device then deleted when they expire. The nice part about this setup is that you can watch movies as they download (if your downstream connection is ~6mbps or higher), or you can wait until it finishes downloading before you start watching. Even with something like 4GB of flash storage the new ATV could work this way.

khva1380
Sep 7, 2010, 06:17 AM
Should be fine.

And for grins:
http://www.speedtest.net/result/943221899.png (http://www.speedtest.net)

And for bigger grins.... (UK to the USA)

http://www.speedtest.net/result/943778004.png

and if those grins aren't big enough - (UK to UK)

http://www.speedtest.net/result/943779948.png

Of course, I can't use these speeds for watching movies!

suss2it
Sep 7, 2010, 08:59 PM
That ping is terrible... you'll probably experience lag with a ping that high. (Well, lag cause high ping not vice versa, but you may still experience glitchy video)Here's what I got when I went to pingtest.net is that any good in conjunction with my Internet speed?:

http://www.pingtest.net/result/23674440.png (http://www.pingtest.net)

iMJustAGuy
Sep 7, 2010, 09:25 PM
Here's what I got when I went to pingtest.net is that any good in conjunction with my Internet speed?:



Yes, that's good.

Chip NoVaMac
Sep 7, 2010, 10:03 PM
Was wondering the same thing, since wifi speeds in a hotel suck big time at some hotels. So I wonder how Airtime will handle streaming of movies that I have loaded up on my iPad to the new Apple TV?

PurdueGuy
Sep 8, 2010, 12:30 AM
And for bigger grins.... (UK to the USA)

http://www.speedtest.net/result/943778004.png

and if those grins aren't big enough - (UK to UK)

http://www.speedtest.net/result/943779948.png

Of course, I can't use these speeds for watching movies!

These are at a university though? Mine is a residential connection, not work.

MacRy
Sep 8, 2010, 01:20 AM
I have a 3Mb connection. Is that going to be sufficient?

dezza.1985
Sep 8, 2010, 01:41 AM
Although no designated internal storage, I'm sure that the new ATV must have a small memory in there to buffer as in the Keynote he still had to wait a few seconds for the unti to say the episode was ready to watch like the old one does.

What I normally do is rent the movie that I want to download and then wait half an hour whilst it buffers (Normally half the film on my slow 4mb/s) then I click play and never get and problems.

They can't reply on fully streaming with no large buffer storage or its just not going to work for the everyday person, which didn't he state was who this product is now aimed it?!?

Evgenyy
Sep 8, 2010, 05:25 AM
And for bigger grins.... (UK to the USA)

http://www.speedtest.net/result/943778004.png

and if those grins aren't big enough - (UK to UK)

http://www.speedtest.net/result/943779948.png

Of course, I can't use these speeds for watching movies!

Show off! ;)

Kebabselector
Sep 8, 2010, 07:08 AM
My work connection......

http://www.speedtest.net/result/945195370.png (http://www.speedtest.net)

(tis a little slow at the moment as it's lunchtime and probably being hammered by around 10-20,000 users)

My home connection......


Actually it's sooo slow at the moment I struggle to open speedtest (line issues) I think I'm getting around

P140897
Jan 6, 2011, 03:32 PM
Would this be good enough for the Apple TV? How long would I have to wait to get an HD movie running? SD Movie?

Thanks

rockhard
Jan 11, 2011, 03:18 PM
Hey this is my first post. I've been having a really bad experience renting iTunes movies via the AppleTV2 and wanted to get some information. I had a cable ISP with a 9mbps download speed with a d-link router. Whenever I'd try renting a movie it would say it was available in 2 to 3 hours. Then, even when it started playing would buffer 5 or 6 times during.

I get my TV through the phone company so I thought I'd bundle my internet with it and get a 15mbps DSL line which uses the 2wire modem/router. Here are my results:

http://www.speedtest.net/result/1107228686.png (http://www.speedtest.net)

http://www.pingtest.net/result/32011460.png (http://www.pingtest.net)

I thought for sure this would fix the issue, but I've tried renting 2 movies since and they have both said "available in 6 hours"!!!! Considering the internet speed and the fact I've used TWO DIFFERENT ISPs and hardware it has to either be Apple servers or an issue with the AppleTV itself.

Can anyone comment??

Thanks! Great forum.

laurim
Jan 11, 2011, 04:28 PM
Hey this is my first post. I've been having a really bad experience renting iTunes movies via the AppleTV2 and wanted to get some information. I had a cable ISP with a 9mbps download speed with a d-link router. Whenever I'd try renting a movie it would say it was available in 2 to 3 hours. Then, even when it started playing would buffer 5 or 6 times during.

I get my TV through the phone company so I thought I'd bundle my internet with it and get a 15mbps DSL line which uses the 2wire modem/router. Here are my results:

http://www.speedtest.net/result/1107228686.png (http://www.speedtest.net)

http://www.pingtest.net/result/32011460.png (http://www.pingtest.net)

I thought for sure this would fix the issue, but I've tried renting 2 movies since and they have both said "available in 6 hours"!!!! Considering the internet speed and the fact I've used TWO DIFFERENT ISPs and hardware it has to either be Apple servers or an issue with the AppleTV itself.

Can anyone comment??

Thanks! Great forum.

Based what I've been reading with people who have slow download rentals, I don't have much confidence in dsl service when it comes to streaming movies. That could just be that most dsl is slower than cable. A poll on this subject might be interesting. Did you happen to do a speedtest on your cable internet during the time you had slow streaming to know what speed you actually had at the time? I have "up to 12Mbps" service and when my test has actually been around 4Mbps, my HD rentals took a little longer to start (meaning a minute and a half) but lately I've been getting a test between 12 and 20Mbps and they start in a few seconds.

Have you tried all of the other things people have mentioned that fixed their issues, like changing tv settings, moving the atv away from other wireless devices, turning off "send data to Apple", backing out of buffering and restarting the rental, etc? Maybe the Canadian iTunes store is having issues? There are a lot of local things to try fixing before blaming Apple and giving up, especially when other people don't have issues.

rockhard
Jan 11, 2011, 07:39 PM
I did a speedtest when I had cable and it was a consistent 7-7.5 mbps. I switched for two reasons...one, my DLink router was on the way out, needing to be reset once or twice a day which got very frustrating. I was either going to spend $200 on an Airport Extreme and keep cable, or go to DSL to save by bundling with TV AND getting a faster speed without having to purchase a new router. I thought about it for a while knowing that cable is generally better, but I figured if I was getting the faster speed for a cheaper price then why not.

I ended up calling Apple finally. I haven't called yet because I assumed they would just say "sorry, it must be your internet" so I used it as a last resort. I talk to the rep and she was very helpful. She put me on hold for a couple minutes after doing a bit of troubleshooting and she said that there is indeed an issue on Apple's end. She said they weren't expecting the traffic that they've been getting and have overloaded the servers. There is a team of engineers working on the matter right now. She also said, "Apple doesn't mess around with issues like these so it should be up and ready in a week or so". She also suggested I email Apple and let them know of my issues and they should put a credit on my account considering I've attempted 8 movies, 1 one which actually worked.

Overall, I'm happy that they actually admitted it was their issue. Hopefully it's working again soon.

laurim
Jan 11, 2011, 08:39 PM
I did a speedtest when I had cable and it was a consistent 7-7.5 mbps. I switched for two reasons...one, my DLink router was on the way out, needing to be reset once or twice a day which got very frustrating. I was either going to spend $200 on an Airport Extreme and keep cable, or go to DSL to save by bundling with TV AND getting a faster speed without having to purchase a new router. I thought about it for a while knowing that cable is generally better, but I figured if I was getting the faster speed for a cheaper price then why not.

I ended up calling Apple finally. I haven't called yet because I assumed they would just say "sorry, it must be your internet" so I used it as a last resort. I talk to the rep and she was very helpful. She put me on hold for a couple minutes after doing a bit of troubleshooting and she said that there is indeed an issue on Apple's end. She said they weren't expecting the traffic that they've been getting and have overloaded the servers. There is a team of engineers working on the matter right now. She also said, "Apple doesn't mess around with issues like these so it should be up and ready in a week or so". She also suggested I email Apple and let them know of my issues and they should put a credit on my account considering I've attempted 8 movies, 1 one which actually worked.

Overall, I'm happy that they actually admitted it was their issue. Hopefully it's working again soon.

I'm glad you contacted Apple and I hope that improving the Canadian iTunes service fixes it for you. They really do try to help people when you give them a chance.

rockhard
Jan 11, 2011, 09:27 PM
This was my second experience with Apple tech support and I was very impressed. Usually its phone, press 1, press 3, press 5 etc etc...wait...wait...wait....sorry we can't help you.

This I logged in on apple.ca, chose my apple tv, selected the issue and then they phoned me. Amazing customer service.

fpnc
Jan 12, 2011, 05:01 AM
Would this be good enough for the Apple TV? How long would I have to wait to get an HD movie running? SD Movie?

Thanks
Here is a link to a table that shows the wait times you can expect for playback to begin on an iTunes Store rental:

http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=1029347

maroot
Jan 12, 2011, 10:15 AM
I've had issues with streaming to my ATV also. Hardwired to my Time Capsule. I have PREMIER Cox internet and doing speedtest, I get anywhere from 5 Mbps to 15 Mbps. My ping is almost always around 125. Do I most likely have an issue with my connection with Cox? Should the ping be much better? I'm thinking of calling Cox anyway, as I have been PAYING for "up to 25 Mbps" speed. I have to think the issue is on their end.

Any thoughts?

Thanks!

pricej636
Jan 12, 2011, 10:33 AM
I've had issues with streaming to my ATV also. Hardwired to my Time Capsule. I have PREMIER Cox internet and doing speedtest, I get anywhere from 5 Mbps to 15 Mbps. My ping is almost always around 125. Do I most likely have an issue with my connection with Cox? Should the ping be much better? I'm thinking of calling Cox anyway, as I have been PAYING for "up to 25 Mbps" speed. I have to think the issue is on their end.

Any thoughts?

Thanks!

Your ping time sucks. This is most definitely your issue.

rockhard
Jan 12, 2011, 11:55 AM
How can the ping affect your download speed for streaming a movie?

As you can see in my post above, I get 67ms on pintest.net, but I get 129ms on speedtest.net. It seems like my ping is almost always in the 120-130 range on speedtest. A higher ping is typical of DSL isn't it?

maroot
Jan 12, 2011, 01:09 PM
I am out of Omaha. When I run Speedtest, it shows the closest server as being in Norfolk, Nebraska, which is about 100 miles away. When I run speedtest from that server, I get 125 ms ping and 7 Mbps download. I chose a server in Bixby, Oklahoma (much further away) and I get 20 Mbps download speed and my ping is 8 ms!

So I wonder what this all means??? What is the best approach to doing the speedtest?

I'm having Cox check my connection when I get home from work. They tell me the speedtests on the net are not always reliable and they check for packet drops to tell them how good their connection really is.

True?

Hammie
Jan 12, 2011, 10:06 PM
Hey this is my first post. I've been having a really bad experience renting iTunes movies via the AppleTV2 and wanted to get some information. I had a cable ISP with a 9mbps download speed with a d-link router. Whenever I'd try renting a movie it would say it was available in 2 to 3 hours. Then, even when it started playing would buffer 5 or 6 times during.

I get my TV through the phone company so I thought I'd bundle my internet with it and get a 15mbps DSL line which uses the 2wire modem/router. Here are my results:

http://www.speedtest.net/result/1107228686.png (http://www.speedtest.net)

http://www.pingtest.net/result/32011460.png (http://www.pingtest.net)

I thought for sure this would fix the issue, but I've tried renting 2 movies since and they have both said "available in 6 hours"!!!! Considering the internet speed and the fact I've used TWO DIFFERENT ISPs and hardware it has to either be Apple servers or an issue with the AppleTV itself.

Can anyone comment??

Thanks! Great forum.

You don't mention whether your ATV is wireless or wired, but if it is not wired, that is probably your biggest issue.

This is my bandwidth when wired:

http://www.speedtest.net/result/1073822003.png (http://www.speedtest.net)

It drops to about 20-30Mbps and my ping and upload also takes a crap. Move to a wired Gig-E environment and most issues will disappear. A majority of issues are causes by local area network issues and not your ISP.

maroot
Jan 13, 2011, 07:46 AM
You don't mention whether your ATV is wireless or wired, but if it is not wired, that is probably your biggest issue.

This is my bandwidth when wired:

http://www.speedtest.net/result/1073822003.png (http://www.speedtest.net)

It drops to about 20-30Mbps and my ping and upload also takes a crap. Move to a wired Gig-E environment and most issues will disappear. A majority of issues are causes by local area network issues and not your ISP.

That download speed is INSANE!!! I am so jealous!

:D

maroot
Jan 14, 2011, 03:17 PM
Just an update on my situation. I had my cable guy come out and access things and he recommended I get a DOCSIS 3 modem, which I did.

Amazing difference. I now get over 50Mbps from speedtest and my problems have disappeared. No dropouts, hesitations or long buffering. Movie trailers from iTunes start immediately and never pause anymore. Netflix seems to take awhile to start up, but then it goes perfectly.

laurim
Jan 14, 2011, 03:22 PM
Just an update on my situation. I had my cable guy come out and access things and he recommended I get a DOCSIS 3 modem, which I did.

Amazing difference. I now get over 50Mbps from speedtest and my problems have disappeared. No dropouts, hesitations or long buffering. Movie trailers from iTunes start immediately and never pause anymore. Netflix seems to take awhile to start up, but then it goes perfectly.

Thanks for following up. It's always helpful to document how people fix their issues.

gigemzach
Jan 18, 2011, 06:42 PM
I sometimes have issues with streaming, too. I know my ping sucks compared to wired internet but wireless is all that is available in my area.

http://www.speedtest.net/result/1117579924.png (http://www.speedtest.net)

jlyanks85
Jan 18, 2011, 08:29 PM
Speedtest has to be lying for me. Were paying for 15 mbps d/l and 3 upload and when I usually do the test I get around 10-12 d/l. Now lately it's giving me 1/2 d/l. When my internet connection still seems pretty fast.

Now it has to be speed test lying and giving me inaccurate results or there's a problem with my isp.

I just got this computer the end of november, should have no issues with internet connection.

JRoDDz
Jan 19, 2011, 12:53 PM
Oh yeah, well check THIS out b****es! ;)

http://www.speedtest.net/result/943250890.png (http://www.speedtest.net)

Is that a 14.4k modem? LOL

JRoDDz
Jan 19, 2011, 12:54 PM
Speedtest has to be lying for me. Were paying for 15 mbps d/l and 3 upload and when I usually do the test I get around 10-12 d/l. Now lately it's giving me 1/2 d/l. When my internet connection still seems pretty fast.

Now it has to be speed test lying and giving me inaccurate results or there's a problem with my isp.

I just got this computer the end of november, should have no issues with internet connection.

If it's cable internet, the speed will fluctuate depending on whether little Johnny next door is downloading his daily pron at the time your doing the speed test.

benji888
Jan 19, 2011, 02:30 PM
http://www.speedtest.net/result/1118779395.png (http://www.speedtest.net)http://www.speedtest.net/result/1118796891.png (http://www.speedtest.net)

wow, I heard the US was behind in broadband internet, but to see you're results from the UK...WTF?...why is the world's wealthiest nation so far behind with internet speed? Obviously the military must have this kind of speed and they don't want us civilians to be anywhere close to that. (My guess).

So: When I stream Netflix it will sometimes stop, I have no idea why, but it gives me a screen saying my internet connection has slowed and it's doing something to prevent further interruptions, but most of the time it just stops there until I quit out of it, restart browser and resume...this sucks...I'm assuming AppleTV needs more than Netflix and would be worse??

jlyanks85
Jan 19, 2011, 06:12 PM
If it's cable internet, the speed will fluctuate depending on whether little Johnny next door is downloading his daily pron at the time your doing the speed test.

Yeah our cable, internet and phone are all connected with one another. I have a secure network though, so the person next door shouldn't affect my internet speeds.

My cable company advertises that it should take 5-10 mins to d/l a 1gig movie, yet it takes much longer for me. Something is wrong there. Which is why I will be giving them a call soon.

fpnc
Jan 19, 2011, 06:49 PM
Yeah our cable, internet and phone are all connected with one another. I have a secure network though, so the person next door shouldn't affect my internet speeds.

My cable company advertises that it should take 5-10 mins to d/l a 1gig movie, yet it takes much longer for me. Something is wrong there. Which is why I will be giving them a call soon.
Internet speeds from your ISP will vary from minute to minute and the values they quote are usually qualified with wording like "up to" so you might get the stated values now and then but your long term average will generally be below what they state (and sometime significantly lower, such as when other customers in your area are making significant demands on the "trunk" cable that is serving your entire neighborhood).

Note that it would take a minimum of 27Mbps to download a 1GB movie in only five minutes (more likely, at least 30Mbps given other overhead). YMMV, but if they quote 15Mbps I'd expect measurably less than that on a long term average.

jlyanks85
Jan 19, 2011, 07:36 PM
Internet speeds from your ISP will vary from minute to minute and the values they quote are usually qualified with wording like "up to" so you might get the stated values now and then but your long term average will generally be below what they state (and sometime significantly lower, such as when other customers in your area are making significant demands on the "trunk" cable that is serving your entire neighborhood).

Note that it would take a minimum of 27Mbps to download a 1GB movie in only five minutes (more likely, at least 30Mbps given other overhead). YMMV, but if they quote 15Mbps I'd expect measurably less than that on a long term average.

The internet plan i'm on which is a triple play sort of plan (phone,internet, cable), advertise my speed as 15 mbps d/l. When the highest I normally get is 10-12. Alot of the time lower than that. I probably will eventually upgrade to the faster internet service my cable company offers, which is like 10 dollars more a month. Which gives you around 30mbps. They also offer a 100 mbps d/l, but that's like 70 dollars more a month, I def am not paying for that.

With that one that gives you 30 mbps they advertise is takes 3 mins to d/l a 750 meg file, which I doubt will happen for me.

I have a brand new computer so I know that isn't the issue, and I know it isn't the router. So it has to be the modem or my cable company. All I want is speeds close to what they advertise and to take advantage of my core i7 imac.

nightrider99
Apr 25, 2011, 12:20 PM
hi you can check the internet speed test from here. ip-details.com (http://www.ip-details.com/internet-speed-test/) it's given a best result.

timoconnor50
Dec 10, 2012, 05:16 PM
http://www.speedtest.net/result/2364298427.png

Any hope at this speed??

bushido
Dec 10, 2012, 05:30 PM
streaming shouldnt be an issue, it even works just fine with HD files on my parents shiatty dsl 6000 broadband back home

JRoDDz
Dec 12, 2012, 12:33 PM
Yeah our cable, internet and phone are all connected with one another. I have a secure network though, so the person next door shouldn't affect my internet speeds.

My cable company advertises that it should take 5-10 mins to d/l a 1gig movie, yet it takes much longer for me. Something is wrong there. Which is why I will be giving them a call soon.

Cable internet is shared bandwidth with everyone who is on your node. A node could be several hundred customers (houses). If too many are using up the bandwidth, guess what.. you're going to suffer slower speeds.