PDA

View Full Version : RipIt's compression vs. Handbrake's




canyonblue737
Sep 6, 2010, 08:32 AM
I used RipIt for ripping a few DVDs and Handbrake for compressing for my AppleTV and it worked well. I noticed that RipIt now offers a built in compression feature that supposedly uses the Handbrake CLI for an all in one solution. I tried it with one movie and the results from a quick look seemed the same as Handbrake.

Is there any advantage to using Handbrake for compression over RipIt except for queuing?

Thanks.



DanMacApple
Sep 6, 2010, 09:43 AM
I don't know if either way is better but I have used rip-it's compresion feature for several of my dvds and the quality is always nice and have not had a problem so far.

roidy
Sep 6, 2010, 09:44 AM
If RipIt does use the Handbrake CLI then there should be no difference as the Handbrake GUI is just a front end to Handbrake CLI as well. However it will all depend on what encoding options RipIt exposes to the end user as to how well you'll be able to tweak the encodes.