PDA

View Full Version : Likelihood of hack to play non Apple formats?




rediffusion
Sep 7, 2010, 10:12 AM
What is the likelihood of their being a hack for the AppleTV to allow users to play non Apple formats such as .avi files? Am I right in saying that all streamed content is played via iTunes? If this is correct, I guess the only way around this is converting the files (which is a pain)



hipvamore
Sep 7, 2010, 01:03 PM
yeah this is the main reason why i have not yet bought an apple tv, always thought it was cool. hopefully someone will be able to do something with this version so we have more options with it.

InsiderApps
Sep 7, 2010, 01:22 PM
I would imagine not anytime soon, as everything is streamed, so you'd need both ends to work well with each other.

rediffusion
Sep 7, 2010, 01:26 PM
I would imagine not anytime soon, as everything is streamed, so you'd need both ends to work well with each other.

That's what I thought :(
What's the best alternative to the TV?
I predominently want to watch downloaded avi files although Netflix & YouTube would be a nice bonus

dmm219
Sep 7, 2010, 01:37 PM
the lack of a HD onboard the new ATV will make is a much harder device to hack. not sure if this was one of Apple's intentions or not...

OllyW
Sep 7, 2010, 01:40 PM
That's what I thought :(
What's the best alternative to the TV?
I predominently want to watch downloaded avi files although Netflix & YouTube would be a nice bonus

Have you looked at the WD TV Live Plus?

http://www.wdc.com/en/products/index.asp?cat=30

TheBritishBloke
Sep 7, 2010, 01:47 PM
That's what I thought :(
What's the best alternative to the TV?
I predominently want to watch downloaded avi files although Netflix & YouTube would be a nice bonus

I have an idea... Buy your films rather than pirating them..

shakesfist
Sep 7, 2010, 07:35 PM
I have an idea... Buy your films rather than pirating them..

Can't buy with the new Apple TV. Also, if you buy disks, you can't play them on your new Apple Tv. But you can rent. High Horse, get down.

bigpatky
Sep 7, 2010, 08:27 PM
Can't buy with the new Apple TV. Also, if you buy disks, you can't play them on your new Apple Tv. But you can rent. High Horse, get down.

sure you can. buy from itunes on your home computer and stream. if you want to purchase a disk, you can rip it on to your home computer and...stream.

TuckBodi
Sep 7, 2010, 10:04 PM
the lack of a HD onboard the new ATV will make is a much harder device to hack. not sure if this was one of Apple's intentions or not...

On the original ATV you don't need the hard drive to run a hack. I'm running a crystalbuntu USB Disk Image on mine, which can also run on a virgin ATV system. Put the image on a 4gb-8gb flash drive plug it in, and boot up. Runs XBMC great, nice and snappy.

And I've heard there's someone working on an ARM XBMC version, which I'm sure at some point will be running on a boot image (of which I'm sure ATV Flash and Patchstick.ca will claim as their own...).

bigpatky
Sep 7, 2010, 10:36 PM
On the original ATV you don't need the hard drive to run a hack. I'm running a crystalbuntu USB Disk Image on mine, which can also run on a virgin ATV system. Put the image on a 4gb-8gb flash drive plug it in, and boot up. Runs XBMC great, nice and snappy.


do they make micro-usb flash drives? that might be a problem.

dopechess
Sep 8, 2010, 12:09 PM
I use a PS3 and run ps3 media server to stream content. works with lots of different formats.

dynaflash
Sep 8, 2010, 12:17 PM
the lack of a HD onboard the new ATV will make is a much harder device to hack. not sure if this was one of Apple's intentions or not...
Well of course it will have a hard drive. The question is how big it is. Rumors are that its to be a 16GB flash drive. Which of course it needs to store the os as well as a video and network buffer I would imagine.

Billy Boo Bob
Sep 8, 2010, 12:31 PM
Well of course it will have a hard drive. The question is how big it is. Rumors are that its to be a 16GB flash drive. Which of course it needs to store the os as well as a video and network buffer I would imagine.
There's also the problem of no USB port on the new unit. Hard to use a patchstick if there's nowhere to plug it in.

NightStorm
Sep 8, 2010, 12:35 PM
There's also the problem of no USB port on the new unit. Hard to use a patchstick if there's nowhere to plug it in.

There is a mini-USB port on the back of the device.

Carlanga
Sep 8, 2010, 12:41 PM
check out the Logitech Revue with Google TV when it comes out....