Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Seamoose17

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Mar 29, 2010
Hi

I'm looking at getting a macbook and I have seen an aluminium unibody macbook with specs of 2.0GHz 2GB Ram and a 160GB hard drive.

Is this enough for my needs of general web browsing, itunes etc or would it be too slow?

Any advice welcome.

Cheers.

Dybbuk

macrumors 6502a
Aug 8, 2006
Yes, it should be fine. You can always upgrade the RAM and HDD later if you want (as I have). The unibody MacBook is a solid machine.

Seamoose17

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Mar 29, 2010
Hi

I'm not really very good at all the technical stuff but how much does it cost to upgrade RAM and can Apple do it for you?

Cheers

sheppy1

macrumors 6502a
Sep 8, 2008
That's pretty much exactly the same as the one I bought last week, I'm a student too and as fast as it already was I upgraded the RAM to 4GB which set me back £40, I bought the RAM through eBay though and fitted it my self, it's very easy to do and there are many YouTube videos which show you how to do it. Apple will do it for you but they charge roughly double for the parts and labor so it will set you back about £70-£80 if you have Apple do 'it for you

Seamoose17

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Mar 29, 2010
Hi Sheppy

Is it the white uniboday or aluminium uniody you have out of interest?

And was there a noticable difference with 2GB and 4GB RAM?

I wouldn't really mind paying extra for Apple to do it because I really wouldn't trust myself!

sheppy1

macrumors 6502a
Sep 8, 2008
Hi Sheppy

Is it the white uniboday or aluminium uniody you have out of interest?

And was there a noticable difference with 2GB and 4GB RAM?

I wouldn't really mind paying extra for Apple to do it because I really wouldn't trust myself!