PDA

View Full Version : The worst thing about the (old) Apple TV




cube
Sep 7, 2010, 01:21 PM
There's no clean way of switching if off.

WTF?

This is not a nice surprise about your brand new purchase.



rorschach
Sep 7, 2010, 01:25 PM
Eh, hold play/pause for 3-4 seconds and it goes into standby.

cube
Sep 7, 2010, 01:27 PM
I want to switch it off cleanly, not standby.

dmm219
Sep 7, 2010, 01:35 PM
yea, it does suck. I have mine hooked up to belkin BT strip interruptors.

In fact, I have almost ALL my electronics plugged into these as none of them "really" turn off. Been surprised how much lower my electric bill has been.

Switch is wireless...cut power from the couch or anywhere else...works great.

rorschach
Sep 7, 2010, 01:40 PM
yea, it does suck. I have mine hooked up to belkin BT strip interruptors.

In fact, I have almost ALL my electronics plugged into these as none of them "really" turn off. Been surprised how much lower my electric bill has been.

Switch is wireless...cut power from the couch or anywhere else...works great.

^^This is what I'd recommend if you really want to turn it off regularly. Just get a power strip with a switch.

I've heard it draws anywhere from 12W to 20W in standby, but that's the closest thing it has (built-in) to a shut down.

cube
Sep 7, 2010, 01:42 PM
Taking out the power does not shutdown the system properly.

rorschach
Sep 7, 2010, 01:53 PM
Well my cable box works the same way. It has a power button but like the Apple TV it doesn't actually "shut down" - it just cuts off the A/V signal to the TV. If I want to turn it off completely I have to pull the plug.

The cable box stays on so it can record shows...the Apple TV stays on so it can stay synced with iTunes.

TheBritishBloke
Sep 7, 2010, 01:59 PM
Most devices use 1Watt/Hour if that when in standby.. Meaning On average, 1000 hours in standby = 10Pence (15cents in US). Not exactly going to break the bank, you'd spend more for a power strip as stated above.

Taking out the power does not shutdown the system properly.
Umm.. And? If you're not going to do that.. Then you won't get anywhere unless you completely reprogram the AppleTV OS to make the power shut down rather than stand by.

cube
Sep 7, 2010, 04:12 PM
I think the AppleTV is more like 18 watts in standby, and the point is not to save money.

harcosparky
Sep 7, 2010, 04:33 PM
I want to switch it off cleanly, not standby.

Can't be any simpler, we have our entire entertainment system on a single power switch.

ON/OFF

That's how it works.

Why go about turning off two or more devices when a single switched power controller is all you need?

Not exactly going to break the bank, you'd spend more for a power strip as stated above.


Most people would already have the power strip, as they probably have more devices then outlets.

TV
Apple TV
Game Consoles ( 3 )
Cable/Sat Descramblers
Audio Receiver
DVR ( not sure why we still have this - hasn't been used in a year )

( the above is my list )

I know on my system there are like 8 devices, when they are OFF, they are OFF.

For me its not about 'breaking the bank', it's about keeping my money in my pocket ! ! !