PDA

View Full Version : Do I have free RAM-slots in my MacBook?




Ramius
Sep 7, 2010, 03:32 PM
I´ve just started using my Macbook unibody from 2008 alot more than I used to.

I see now that lagging occurs more often than before, because I run alot of programs. So Im thinking of buying more RAM. But just a little bit more.

I could open my machine and look, but I thought it would be easier to ask first. Are there free slots in the MAcbook?

Do I have to change the ones that are already there, out with some new, or can I buy more RAM and put them in some available slots there?

So what kind of Ram does the machine use anyway? I see OSX tells me its DDR3 and 1067 mhz. But there are more to RAM naming than this. Usually I need to know something like "PC" and a bunch of numbers right?



alust2013
Sep 7, 2010, 03:47 PM
You won't have open slots, you'll simply have to replace the RAM you already have. I would get 4GB from OWC or newegg.com. It's PC3-8500 200-pin 1067MHz DDR3 SODIMM memory, and you'll want a 2x2GB kit

Edit, I lied, it's 204-pin

cubeeggs
Sep 7, 2010, 04:02 PM
It’s extremely unlikely that you’ll have any free RAM slots unless someone’s stolen some of your memory because there are only two slots and they both come preloaded, but you can check by choosing “About This Mac” in the Apple menu, clicking “More info…” and choosing “Memory” on the left.

mrsir2009
Sep 8, 2010, 12:01 AM
How much RAM does the MacBook have?

Ramius
Sep 9, 2010, 04:08 AM
It´s got two gigs.

So theres only two slots in the Macbook unibody? Also known as Macbook Pro.

That sucks. It kind of makes me not wanting to upgrade, cause I will be throwing away perfectly good ram.

iThinkergoiMac
Sep 9, 2010, 08:23 PM
You could always sell the RAM. It's not Mac-specific, it'll work in any computer that takes that specification...

Ramius
Sep 10, 2010, 09:57 AM
For upgrading, does any kind of DDR3 work? Or does it have to be 1067mhz?
Cause some of these chips looks very very large.

Messy
Sep 10, 2010, 10:42 AM
For upgrading, does any kind of DDR3 work? Or does it have to be 1067mhz?
Cause some of these chips looks very very large.

DDR2 Only i do believe.

GGJstudios
Sep 10, 2010, 10:47 AM
DDR2 Only i do believe.

Type of RAM slots: 2 - 204-pin PC3-8500 (1066 MHz) DDR3 SO-DIMM
Maximum RAM: 6.0 GB (Actual) 4.0 GB (Apple)

You can find specs on all Apple products with Mactracker (http://mactracker.dreamhosters.com/)

unixperience
Sep 13, 2010, 12:50 PM
from other threads I've read you can get any speed ram that is greater than or equal to 1066, if it's faster it just gets scaled down, some have said the faster ones also run a tad warmer

just FYI you can open system profiler then click on the tab under hardware>memory
it tells you what you have in there currently (All mac laptops only have 2 slots)

alust2013 gave the best info the macbook is pc3-8500 that will get you ddr3 at the proper speed, you should also note, that it's just a naming convention, for instance if you said mom or used her actual name, its the same person pc3-8500 is the same as ddr3 1066 one other thing to note is the speed (not always listed) but its typically CL7 or CL9 I believe you want CL7 its a bit faster than CL9 (someone please correct me if im wrong)

if you have an ALUMINUM unibody, theres a few reports of getting 8gb of ram in there, but it's a hit or miss kind of thing, some brands work some don't
I don't know if you are opposed to ebay, but I got 4gb of ram from someones MBP (they upgraded to 8gb) for only 40 bucks. it was that HYNIX brand that apple uses, so no compatibility issues

Blondie :)
Sep 13, 2010, 01:06 PM
from other threads I've read you can get any speed ram that is greater than or equal to 1066, if it's faster it just gets scaled down, some have said the faster ones also run a tad warmer

just FYI you can open system profiler then click on the tab under hardware>memory
it tells you what you have in there currently (All mac laptops only have 2 slots)

alust2013 gave the best info the macbook is pc3-8500 that will get you ddr3 at the proper speed, you should also note, that it's just a naming convention, for instance if you said mom or used her actual name, its the same person pc3-8500 is the same as ddr3 1066 one other thing to note is the speed (not always listed) but its typically CL7 or CL9 I believe you want CL7 its a bit faster than CL9 (someone please correct me if im wrong)

if you have an ALUMINUM unibody, theres a few reports of getting 8gb of ram in there, but it's a hit or miss kind of thing, some brands work some don't
I don't know if you are opposed to ebay, but I got 4gb of ram from someones MBP (they upgraded to 8gb) for only 40 bucks. it was that HYNIX brand that apple uses, so no compatibility issues

There was a post on here not too long ago of a guy who managed to get 8 gigs in his polycarbonate body. He had to change some other things, but it worked :P

Covart
Sep 13, 2010, 01:49 PM
from other threads I've read you can get any speed ram that is greater than or equal to 1066, if it's faster it just gets scaled down, some have said the faster ones also run a tad warmer

This is not exactly correct and can confuse. You can use one chip that is rated faster, as long as the other chip is the correct speed. Using 2 chips rated faster than 1067 will not work in conjunction. The Mac will just sit at the grey screen with the Apple logo and spin forever. I do not recommend using chips rated with faster bus speeds.
For the OP, buy 2x2GB PC3-8500. G-Skill, Mushkin are good brands.

unixperience
Sep 13, 2010, 01:53 PM
\. The Mac will just sit at the grey screen with the Apple logo and spin forever. I do not recommend using chips rated with faster bus speeds.

thanks for the info!

KingNush
Sep 19, 2010, 12:42 AM
Go to crucial.com have a download a system check and it will tell you alot about your mac (including free slots in your macbook)