PDA

View Full Version : new iPod Touch -> Netflix -> Apple HD Cable -> HDTV




iPaddentist
Sep 9, 2010, 12:28 PM
hi everyone-

was wondering if someone who has the component HD cable and a new iTouch can see if streaming Netflix or Youtube to an HDTV works.

would love to use this new iTouch as portable movie machine!

thanks!



AEREC
Sep 9, 2010, 12:32 PM
I dont see why it wouldnt work...but if Im not mistaken yuo can only display the touch on the TV up to 480p, which is technically still HD but the very lowest form.

iParis
Sep 9, 2010, 12:39 PM
It should at least work for YouTube. Can the iPod touch 4G even play HD YouTube and Netflix videos? I know it has the power and resolution to, but not sure it's enabled in the software.

EthanNixon
Sep 9, 2010, 12:47 PM
I dont see why it wouldnt work...but if Im not mistaken yuo can only display the touch on the TV up to 480p, which is technically still HD but the very lowest form.

480P is not HD, it is SD.

If the cable exists, then it is possible. I am fairly certain NetFlix doesn't stream in HD.

iParis
Sep 9, 2010, 12:58 PM
480P is not HD, it is SD.

If the cable exists, then it is possible. I am fairly certain NetFlix doesn't stream in HD.

Exactly. If 480p is HD, then I have four HD TVs in my house and my iPhone 3GS can play and record videos in HD. XD

iPaddentist
Sep 9, 2010, 02:23 PM
thanks for the input but im still looking for a response from someone who's tried using netflix w/ a tv through the new itouch, not just speculation or i think it does/doesnt work.

thanks

Intell
Sep 9, 2010, 05:04 PM
Netflix currently does not output to a TV using any TV/AV out cables. If you are jailbroken this can be done.

iPaddentist
Sep 10, 2010, 01:38 AM
Actually netflix does output via iPad and the component cable.

AEREC
Sep 11, 2010, 07:00 PM
480P is not HD, it is SD.

If the cable exists, then it is possible. I am fairly certain NetFlix doesn't stream in HD.

your right...480p is not HD, it's technically ED and 480i is SD.

Intell
Sep 11, 2010, 07:02 PM
Actually netflix does output via iPad and the component cable.

But this person was asking about the iPod Touch.

iPad ≠ iPod Touch

iPaddentist
Sep 11, 2010, 10:53 PM
Yes I know o was the one who asked the original question....
I know it works for the iPad, does it work for the iPod is the question

radiohead1075
Sep 12, 2010, 09:09 AM
Yes I know o was the one who asked the original question....
I know it works for the iPad, does it work for the iPod is the question

Just fyi... I connected a 4G iPod touch to TV with an Apple Composite AV Cable. The touch would not transfer a streaming Netflix SD movie to TV.

Hopefully there is a simple solution for this...

iPaddentist
Sep 12, 2010, 11:20 AM
Thanks! The answer I was looking for even though I'm sad it doesn't work

dave1812dave
Sep 12, 2010, 11:45 AM
there are so many devices to pick up netflix with, does running it through a touch to the TV really make much sense? I've got netflix on a couple of Blu ray players, as well as a PS3, not to mention it can play on PC's. I'm not clear what the point of going from the touch to a bigscreen is all about other than to say "I can do it!".

iPaddentist
Sep 15, 2010, 04:21 PM
Thanks for sharing Dave but I don't have any of your gadgets and thought it'd be nice if the iPod could stream movies without me carrying around a blu Ray player or ps3 to a friends house

iPaddentist
Sep 15, 2010, 04:22 PM
And another thing just help answer the questions and stop being a dick about why you would or wouldn't do such things

dave1812dave
Sep 15, 2010, 06:50 PM
Thanks for sharing Dave but I don't have any of your gadgets and thought it'd be nice if the iPod could stream movies without me carrying around a blu Ray player or ps3 to a friends house

u can't seriously expect the touch to replace all those devices do you?? you can't have EVERYTHING in a 4 oz device. (HINT: you have to PAY to PLAY. :) )

con0095
Jul 12, 2011, 09:00 AM
It works fine but my cable didnt work that great I would recommend a RCA cable it works better and there is an hdmi cable out from apple that mirrors everything but it's only on iPad 2. If you want it to mirror go to

http://www.jailbreakme.com/

Download Cydia click user and search TVout2 mirror TVout. Then down load. There is now settings on the home screen it is an icon click set up and plug in.
:apple: