PDA

View Full Version : True HD Playback




hijar69
Sep 9, 2010, 09:43 PM
Does the old aTV support True HD? If so what are good settings in Handbrake?



killmoms
Sep 9, 2010, 09:44 PM
If by “true HD” you mean 1080p, then no, it does not.

techfreak85
Sep 9, 2010, 09:46 PM
Maybe he is talking about the audio codec.
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Dolby_TrueHD

hijar69
Sep 9, 2010, 09:52 PM
Correct! Does anybody know? I'm connecting through an Onkyo TXSR606 and I know that through my Blu Ray player I get True HD. I'm trying to figure out encoding for audio. I have ripped MKV files that have True HD, just trying to figure out the setup.

emegmac
Sep 9, 2010, 10:07 PM
I dont think it even plays dts let alone lossless audio. No mac can play it right now

hijar69
Sep 9, 2010, 10:11 PM
My receiver has a signal of dts through the setting of Neo:6 Cinema believe it or not but thanks for the answer on lossless

hijar69
Sep 9, 2010, 10:15 PM
Can anybody explain the difference between Dolby Pro Logic II and 6 Channel Discrete in the Mixdown section under Audio tab in Handbrake?

NightStorm
Sep 10, 2010, 07:35 AM
Can anybody explain the difference between Dolby Pro Logic II and 6 Channel Discrete in the Mixdown section under Audio tab in Handbrake?

One is a two-channel matrix surround sound format (DPL2), the other is six-channel discrete surround sound in AAC format. Not many devices can properly decode multichannel AAC if I remember correctly.

By spec, any Bluray with a TrueHD soundtrack must also include a standard Dolby Digital (AC3) 5.1 soundtrack (either standalone or contained within the same track). Handbrake can recognize and use the AC3 5.1 track when encoding from a Bluray source. There is currently no way to mux a TrueHD track into the mp4 container and have it playback through the AppleTV.