Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

dbrothers

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Apr 17, 2010
I've been using iPhones for a few years (started with an "original", currently have a 4), and a couple of years ago signed up for the paid dev program - I'm near the end of my first renewal. Mostly curiosity, interested in the "sociology" of the developer program, with the idea that, if a "killer" app ever occurred to me, I'd be ready to go.

This is _not_ an "I'm a total noooob - what's a variable?" post. I'm amazed at how many of those posts I see in this forum, and admire the people who have the patience to respond gently to them. I've been programming for about fifty years, been through all the "methodologies du jour". OOP with a good app framework, starting with MacApp and Object Pascal in the mid-eighties, and with many worthy successors like Think Class Library and Code Warrior, even Microsoft's MFC and .NET, seem to me to be the ideas with the most staying power.

Anyway, I've got an idea I want to implement on the iWidgets, so I poked around and found this forum - seems to be one of the better areas for wide-open discussions between developers. I decided to do a "total immersion in the iThing developer culture" thing, and read all the posts back to the beginning of the year. Really informative.