PDA

View Full Version : New Apple TV 802.11 n 5 GHz or just 2.4?




rusty2192
Sep 16, 2010, 10:40 AM
The specs page for the new Apple TV just says that it is 802.11 n capable. If I remember correctly, the iPad supports the 5 GHz band, but the iPhone 4 only supports the 2.4 band. Has anyone seen or heard anywhere if the new Apple TV will support 5 GHz n?

I have my AEBS set to 5GHz n for max speed and minimal interference, so I really hope it does.



newagemac
Sep 16, 2010, 11:11 AM
http://www.apple.com/appletv/specs.html

From the tech specs:


Wireless
802.11n Wi-Fi (a/b/g compatible)
2.4GHz and 5GHz

rusty2192
Sep 16, 2010, 01:11 PM
http://www.apple.com/appletv/specs.html

From the tech specs:


Wireless
802.11n Wi-Fi (a/b/g compatible)
2.4GHz and 5GHz

Well I feel like an idiot. Somehow I passed right over that. Thanks. :D

Phantom Gremlin
Sep 16, 2010, 06:53 PM
If you're counting on 5 GHz, you may be disappointed.

I have a 3 y/o iMac that does 5 GHz pretty well. So does my Macbook. However, I've stuck to 2.4 GHz for my iPad because, while it does 5 GHz OK when very close to the access point, it behaves much worse than the iMac or Macbook when at a distance (30+ feet and a few walls).

So, for your sake, let's hope the 5 GHz is implemented as in the iMac and not as in the iPad.

bananaboi
Sep 16, 2010, 07:51 PM
If you're counting on 5 GHz, you may be disappointed.

I have a 3 y/o iMac that does 5 GHz pretty well. So does my Macbook. However, I've stuck to 2.4 GHz for my iPad because, while it does 5 GHz OK when very close to the access point, it behaves much worse than the iMac or Macbook when at a distance (30+ feet and a few walls).

So, for your sake, let's hope the 5 GHz is implemented as in the iMac and not as in the iPad.

u probably haven't updated your ipad... the 5ghz works flawlessly since 3.2.1

Phantom Gremlin
Sep 18, 2010, 11:55 PM
u probably haven't updated your ipad... the 5ghz works flawlessly since 3.2.1

I had done my earlier testing on the original iOS, but re-checked with what's now on my iPad, ie 3.2.2.

At least on my iPad, 5 GHz is still broken. Here are the rough numbers, using the free app SpeedtestX HD:

2.4 GHz, same room as AP: 19 mb/s
5 GHz, same room as AP: 19 mb/s
2.4 GHz, a few rooms and one ceiling away from AP: 17 mb/s
5 GHz, a few rooms and one ceiling away from AP: started slow (a few mb/s) then eventually stop xfer at all

Maybe it's my hardware. But I don't really care, I'm amazed at the very good 2.4 GHz performance. Very little dropoff. So I don't really need 5 GHz.

newagemac
Sep 19, 2010, 05:56 AM
What brand router are you using? I would bet there wouldn't be any problems with the iPad talking to a Time Capsule, Airport Extreme, or Airport Express. I haven't had any problems at all with my Apple wireless devices talking to Apple equipment.

d21mike
Sep 19, 2010, 09:44 AM
Wirelessly posted (iPhone 4: Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_1 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/532.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/4.0.5 Mobile/8B117 Safari/6531.22.7)

My understanding is Lower GHz goes through walls better then higher GHz. That is why new DECT phones work better at around 19 GHz over the older 5.8 GHz. This is just something I read, not an expert. However, my experience has shown better performance with 2.4 802.11n. I have both.

dmm219
Sep 19, 2010, 10:53 AM
Correct. 5 Ghz attenuates far more through physical objects than 2.8.

Anyone who has a physically wide house will tell you 5Ghz is just not practical for them. I HAVE to use 2.8, 5Ghz only travels about halfway across my rancher (from a Time Capsule).

Mike Oxard
Sep 19, 2010, 03:51 PM
Refurb AirPort Expresses have just dropped in price (update soon???) If you do have a problem you could get one and connect it to your AEBS it to create a dual band network.

musio
Sep 20, 2010, 03:35 PM
Refurb AirPort Expresses have just dropped in price (update soon???) If you do have a problem you could get one and connect it to your AEBS it to create a dual band network.

http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=996878&highlight=

What do you think? Could anything be added? see my thread above