PDA

View Full Version : I need help connecting iPad to internet through ethernet NOT wifi




tdfitz
Sep 16, 2010, 06:46 PM
Has anyone tried connecting the Apple camera connector kit to an iPad, then connecting the Apple USB Ethernet Adapter to that so an ethernet cable can then, theoretically, be connected to the iPad? I will traveling to Tokyo and staying in a hotel with wired internet access only, no wifi and I only want to take my iPad and not my laptop. Yes I know I can go elsewhere for wifi, but I specifically want to use the iPad to check email while at the hotel at all hours. PLEASE help! Thanks in advance.



Intell
Sep 16, 2010, 06:47 PM
It won't work. The iPad lacks the proper drivers.

tdfitz
Sep 16, 2010, 06:50 PM
right. makes perfect sense. dammit.

prot0type
Sep 16, 2010, 07:11 PM
Maybe consider a travel router like the ones listed here:

http://www.newegg.com/Product/ProductList.aspx?Submit=ENE&DEPA=0&Order=BESTMATCH&Description=travel+router&x=0&y=0

miamijim
Sep 17, 2010, 03:32 AM
Errr.

Apple Airport Express shoud do the trick plug in and connect the ethernet cable and you are away.

chiefroastbeef
Sep 17, 2010, 04:03 AM
I travel extensively, and like the poster above mentioned, buy an Airport Express (I also have the Extreme and Time Capsule, all of them works great).

I just connect the Express into an outlet, and then plug in the Ethernet cable. I then have wireless access for my MBP, iPad, and Blackberry anywhere in the room. However, some hotels has a device detection that limits each room to one device (usually it is with hotels that charges for internet use), but that is only a small percentage of hotels I've been to.

Just buy an Airport Express and enjoy your trip to Tokyo.

tdfitz
Sep 17, 2010, 10:40 AM
thanks for the solution. much appreciated.

sushi
Sep 17, 2010, 10:45 AM
I will traveling to Tokyo and staying in a hotel with wired internet access only, no wifi and I only want to take my iPad and not my laptop.
Is this a one time shot?

If so, I think that the Airport Express (or similar) as others have mentioned is a good solution.

If however, you will be traveling regularly to Tokyo, there are other options to consider that will provide more flexibility while here in Japan. Basically, Internet access along the lines of the Verizon MiFi. Softbank and E-mobile offer similar devices and there are others.

misterbig
Sep 17, 2010, 06:12 PM
I travel extensively, and like the poster above mentioned, buy an Airport Express (I also have the Extreme and Time Capsule, all of them works great).

I just connect the Express into an outlet, and then plug in the Ethernet cable. I then have wireless access for my MBP, iPad, and Blackberry anywhere in the room. However, some hotels has a device detection that limits each room to one device (usually it is with hotels that charges for internet use), but that is only a small percentage of hotels I've been to.

Chiefroastbeef, how do you get your Airport Express to bypass the hotels' login page? I have an Airport Express and most hotels I stay at require you to login and the AE can't seem to work when such a page exists.

chiefroastbeef
Sep 17, 2010, 08:30 PM
Chiefroastbeef, how do you get your Airport Express to bypass the hotels' login page? I have an Airport Express and most hotels I stay at require you to login and the AE can't seem to work when such a page exists.

I connect the Ethernet cable to the AE, connect to the AE on my computer, and when the login page pops up, I just click login, and then I will have access to the internet. Most of the Sheratons, Hyatts, or Holiday Inns in China for when I travel require a login (and some require payment).

Perhaps the hotels you stay at completely block wireless router usage? I have never seen that though traveling in the US, China, or elsewhere.

cherft
Jun 3, 2013, 07:53 PM
Hello - I have seen all your replies.
I do not believe any suggestions will work unless you also carry a laptop that will help you to initially configure the router.
So if you are ONLY carrying an iPad, you are stuffed! Can anyone help to confirm this?
thanks very much.
Chris

Capt T
Jun 6, 2013, 03:59 AM
Hello - I have seen all your replies.
I do not believe any suggestions will work unless you also carry a laptop that will help you to initially configure the router.
So if you are ONLY carrying an iPad, you are stuffed! Can anyone help to confirm this?
thanks very much.
Chris

Depends on how the login page works. For the most part, there is no problem. And most router can be configure from your browser, I use the iPad with the one I carry, but barely ever need to reconfigure the router anyway.