Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Bitcrusher

macrumors member
Original poster
Feb 19, 2010
Ok, this idea came from this thread: Seriously concerned about the problems with the new iPod Touch where user goodboy wrote that the first 2 numbers or letters of the serial number represent the factory where the ipod was made, then try to identify the faulty ipods by these factory numbers and avoid them.

I made this thread so we can share the quality of our ipods and post the factory where it was made so other users can look for them when buying or returning an ipod.

My iPod has 0 problems, and serial number starts with CC lets call it the "CC factory":p

This is my fisrt thread and I'm not really good at english, I am sorry if this is poorly redacted;)

macjackie

macrumors newbie
Sep 17, 2010
Hey guys.
Sorry to disprove your theory...
My first one (CC) had small light leaks and the clicking sound while recording.
My second one (CC) has some small light leaks on the side near the volume buttons, but I think the clicking sound is gone... or at least less frequent.

I'm trying to be careful with this one and see how I go with it... if not, I'm taking it in again...

ouimetnick

macrumors 68040
Aug 28, 2008
Beverly, Massachusetts
Mine starts with a C3. No problems. havnt recorded video in quiet places, so cant comment on the clicking. Why did Apple change the serial number format. before it was like 9E911FE201 (old iPod touch sn) this format was for ALL Apple devices. 9E911FE201 9 is the year... so year 2009 was the iPod build year. Then 9E911FE201 11 is the week. So the iPod was built 11 weeks into the year 2009... so around March 2009. This format applied to ALL Apple products up to the new iPod lineup. Anyone know if you can still decode the info with the new serial numbers?

Bitcrusher

macrumors member
Original poster
Feb 19, 2010
Hey guys.
Sorry to disprove your theory...