View Full Version : macgamefiles.com hacked!
AppleMatt
Dec 20, 2004, 05:12 PM
well...macgamefiles.com has been hacked. I can't find any information on this worm, but does this mean the site is hosted on a PC?!
edit: insidemacgames.com gone too...but the rubbish that appears seems to indicate it's on RedHat linux.
AppleMatt
cb911
Dec 20, 2004, 06:16 PM
they could have at least done something a bit more interesting than that...
seems like MGF is back to normal now... IMG is sitll down, with a temp message on their page...
jimjiminyjim
Dec 20, 2004, 06:17 PM
Back to the schoolyard bantering... "whoever smelt it delt it" (the spelling is as is to emphasize the rhyme).
"whoever posted it toasted it"
Did you hack the site?
Ok... Just joking. Why would someone do that? Is it a glory thing?
Hemingray
Dec 20, 2004, 07:06 PM
they could have at least done something a bit more interesting than that...
I agree. OOOOH!!! This site has been DEFACED!!! :rolleyes: :rolleyes: :rolleyes:
C'mon, if you're gonna deface a site, put a little CREATIVITY into it! :p
cb911
Dec 22, 2004, 07:06 PM
looks like those sites were hit by the Santy worm.
http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/technology/4117711.stm
Thousands of website bulletin boards have been defaced by a virus that used Google to spread across the net.
The Santy worm first appeared on 20 December and within 24 hours had successfully hit more than 40,000 websites.
well, at least the lack of creativity can be excused because of how effective this worm was. seems to be more of a "proof of concept" type thing really, it wasn't at all terribly malicious was it?
anyone know what other sites were hit by the worm?
saabmp3
Dec 22, 2004, 09:20 PM
Netcraft.com says....hosted on a linux box since April 23rd, 2004. Before that it was on MacOSX.
BEN
Counterfit
Dec 22, 2004, 10:13 PM
anyone know what other sites were hit by the worm? http://www.asylumon5thstreet.com/ was. Another comic I read was also nailed, but it said something in Russian (or some other Cyrillic-alphabet-using language) so I don't know what it said, but I think it was something else that got that site.
vBulletin® v3.8.6, Copyright ©2000-2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.