PDA

View Full Version : New AppleTV with older LCD TV with no HDMI




Whorehay
Sep 21, 2010, 05:38 PM
I'm really considering getting the new AppleTV for my apartment for various reasons.

I picked up an older LCD TV/Monitor that has RCA plugs (Red, Yellow, and White plugs) and Component Video Out (Red, Green, Blue plugs). It also has Coaxial In, DVI and VGA connectors.

What would be the most efficient/best way to hook up the HDMI from AppleTV to this TV? Should I be looking for an HDMI -> DVI adapter for best quality since they are both digital formats?



tommylotto
Sep 21, 2010, 06:17 PM
HDMI > DVI will work but you will not get audio. Not sure how you can get audio. The new appleTV has optical audio out, but unless you are using a receiver for sound, not sure how you can get sound into the TV without HDMI.

solowap
Sep 21, 2010, 06:29 PM
Requirements

* HDMI Cable
See cables
* High-definition TVs with HDMI and capable of 720p

JoshBoy
Sep 21, 2010, 08:38 PM
Component Video Out will run hi def through the other RCA's will not.

fpnc
Sep 21, 2010, 11:43 PM
If you want to use a HDMI -> DVI adapter your TV's DVI input will have to support HDCP. Not all DVI ports support HDCP and if your TV lacks such support then the Apple TV's video output won't work since the content protection handshake will fail (because HDCP will be missing).

However, if you have a component video INPUT on your TV then you could use a product like the HDFury which will convert content-protected HDMI to un-encrypted component video. But this will cost you over $100 just for the HDFury itself.

Whorehay
Sep 22, 2010, 12:40 AM
Sounds like I might be better off getting the previous generation AppleTV for $150 then since it has composite I believe.

fpnc
Sep 22, 2010, 02:39 AM
Sounds like I might be better off getting the previous generation AppleTV for $150 then since it has composite I believe.
The previous generation Apple TV doesn't have composite output, but it has component video and RCA stereo outputs. In any case, the first generation Apple TV at $150 (clearance) is a pretty good deal. The only potential problem with the previous generation is that Apple may never again update the software for that model which may mean that new features such as the 99 cent HDTV rentals may not be available.

As for composite video out on the first generation Apple TV, you MAY be able to enable that with a relatively simple hack/workaround. You can search the internet (or MacRumors) for the details on this technique (not particularly difficult to implement, but a bit of a hassle).

Whorehay
Sep 22, 2010, 10:10 PM
Yeah, I believe Apple has said that the old AppleTV would not be getting the new AppleTV software.

But that's okay, it'd be more expensive for me to get a new monitor and TV than it would be to get the slightly more expensive older AppleTV.

I've attached a picture of the ports on the TV. From what it looks like to me:

1) For video, it should work with the component video ports via the red, green and blue plugs.
2) For audio, I'd get a RCA cable and plug it into the first two plugs on the TV (red and white).

http://www.s2ki.com/forums/index.php?act=module&module=gallery&cmd=viewimage&img=743766.jpg

http://km.support.apple.com/library/APPLE/APPLECARE_ALLGEOS/HT1586/HT1586_4.gif

GreatDrok
Sep 23, 2010, 01:15 AM
I have the original 40GB Apple TV and it is connected to my LCD via component since I only have 1 HDMI socket and my HD Freeview box uses that. The advantage of this is that the HDMI out on the ATV goes to my HDMI amp and on to my DLP HD projector. The new ATV can't do that :-) I still like the old ATV and since we don't get Netflix here the new one has nothing much to offer over the old one and loses a lot of connectivity.

Whorehay
Sep 23, 2010, 02:54 AM
I have the original 40GB Apple TV and it is connected to my LCD via component since I only have 1 HDMI socket and my HD Freeview box uses that. The advantage of this is that the HDMI out on the ATV goes to my HDMI amp and on to my DLP HD projector. The new ATV can't do that :-) I still like the old ATV and since we don't get Netflix here the new one has nothing much to offer over the old one and loses a lot of connectivity.

Ahh, good to hear. How are you connecting the audio?

Omne666
Sep 23, 2010, 05:15 AM
I also have my first :apple:TV hooked up to our oldest LCD...it has no HDMI, so its connected via component video and RCA audio. Works a treat. Been going that way for 4 years without any issues.

You should be fine with the TV you have. (thats with the old :apple:TV anyway)

fpnc
Sep 23, 2010, 12:00 PM
Does your TV have a widescreen/HD mode? If it only works in the 4:3 standard definition mode then the aspect ratio of the video from the Apple TV will be incorrect and everything will look distorted (for example, people will look too tall and thin). If it supports any of the HDTV resolutions (720p or 1080i) then the aspect ratios will be correct and you won't have any problems. In any case, I've known people who were completely oblivious to aspect ratio distortions so it may not bother you even if it is incorrect.

Whorehay
Sep 23, 2010, 05:11 PM
Does your TV have a widescreen/HD mode? If it only works in the 4:3 standard definition mode then the aspect ratio of the video from the Apple TV will be incorrect and everything will look distorted (for example, people will look too tall and thin). If it supports any of the HDTV resolutions (720p or 1080i) then the aspect ratios will be correct and you won't have any problems. In any case, I've known people who were completely oblivious to aspect ratio distortions so it may not bother you even if it is incorrect.

Some of the marketing materials says it is "HD-ready, 1440x900." Do I need a HD converter box or should the AppleTV work for what you are saying?

Westinghouse LTV-19w6

Video Interface: Component , S-Video , Composite
HDTV Ready: Yes
Analog Video Input Signals: NTSC , PAL
Input Video Formats: 480p , 720p , 1080i , 480i
Supported Computer Resolutions: 1680 x 1050 (WSXGA+) , 1024 x 768 (XGA) , 640 x 480 (VGA) , 800 x 600 (SVGA) , 1280 x 1024 (SXGA)

Whorehay
Sep 24, 2010, 12:43 AM
I picked one up and so far it works pretty well with component and analog audio.

I set it up as 720p but it cuts off the edges in that mode. I tried 1080i and it seems to fit the screen nicely so I'll keep it like that.

Wicked1
Sep 24, 2010, 07:26 AM
This is the reason I chose to get the older one, it has the ports which are standard on any TV, and the new one doesn't. There are very little drawbacks to the older one for me, except it doesn't support HD movies, and anything higher then 720P

JPGR_Fan
Sep 30, 2010, 04:23 PM
I have a Sharp Aquos LCD, 2003 vintage (LC-37HV4U) that does not have HDMI.

I ordered the new AppleTV because I had a leftover cable from a satellite TV system that had HDMI on one end and DVI on the other. The Sharp box (yes, it is so old it has a big separate box for connections) has a DVI digital IN terminal. My Yamaha receiver of the same vintage has an optical in.

I had to basically reconfigure my entire setup, but yes, it works. Don't know if this type of cable is available at local stores, but it appears to be available on-line.

I am well pleased with the added TV functionality I now have for $99. As a shareholder, I think it is underpriced. Ha.

johnckendall
Oct 1, 2010, 10:30 AM
I have a Sharp Aquos LCD, 2003 vintage (LC-37HV4U) that does not have HDMI.

I ordered the new AppleTV because I had a leftover cable from a satellite TV system that had HDMI on one end and DVI on the other. The Sharp box (yes, it is so old it has a big separate box for connections) has a DVI digital IN terminal. My Yamaha receiver of the same vintage has an optical in.

snip
.

Awesome that you got it to work. Sadly, mine is exhibiting a waterfall effect. Could you please post the exact make and model of the cable you are using?

The official word from Apple is that DVI input are NOT supported.... :(

Thanks,
jck

JPGR_Fan
Oct 1, 2010, 11:44 AM
Awesome that you got it to work. Sadly, mine is exhibiting a waterfall effect. Could you please post the exact make and model of the cable you are using?

The official word from Apple is that DVI input are NOT supported.... :(

Thanks,
jck

The cable markings are:

E166307 RU AWM 20276 26AWG 80oC 30V VW-1 Low Voltage Cable Applied Telecom Corp

In the above, the RU has the R attached and backwards to the U. The o after 80 is really supposed to be the degree symbol.

Both the HDMI and DVI connectors are embossed with DirectTV.

mjgillen
Oct 1, 2010, 11:44 PM
One note of caution: I could not get the ATV2 to work on either of my two old LCD TVs with an HDMI->Component converter box in between because they do not support HD (no 720P). Also didn't work on an old 36" Sony tube TV.

I thot using the converter would solve my problem of not having an HDMI input however I am not that savvy on TV (yet) so it did not work.

I also want to try the original 1st gen ATV however I see now that it would not work either.

My $0.02 worth for free.
Michael

Stuipdboy1000
Oct 2, 2010, 04:48 PM
This could be a long shot. No idea if it'll work. I'll see what you guys think.

From Apple TV: standard HDMI to DVI cable > (female to female DVI connector ("http://ep.yimg.com/ca/I/videoware_2127_9286118)) > (DVI to Video Adapter ("http://store.apple.com/uk/product/M9267G/A?mco=MTY3ODQ5OTY)) > any standard yellow RCA connector.

It'll certainly not be cheap but it may be the one of the only ways for people with older TV units to use the new Apple TV unless they buy a converter box. The above option may be slightly cheaper.

JPGR_Fan
Oct 2, 2010, 05:29 PM
Further discussion and commentary at MacFixIt:

http://reviews.cnet.com/8301-13727_7-20018163-263.html?tag=mncol;title

Ca$hflow
Oct 2, 2010, 05:49 PM
This is what to get.

http://www.lightinthebox.com/HDMI-to-Component-Video-Audio-AV-Cable_p78570.html

Stuipdboy1000
Oct 2, 2010, 06:18 PM
This is what to get.

http://www.lightinthebox.com/HDMI-to-Component-Video-Audio-AV-Cable_p78570.html

They're just a scam product. They don't work. HDMI is digital whereas component is analogue. You would need some sort of converter box to convert the signals, but they're not exactly cheap.

Check out reviews on Amazon (http://www.amazon.com/Component-Video-Stereo-Audio-Cable/product-reviews/B001IUQB2W/ref=dp_top_cm_cr_acr_txt?ie=UTF8&showViewpoints=1) if you want to see what I mean.

aviddk
Oct 2, 2010, 09:14 PM
Here is a thread (http://discussions.apple.com/thread .jspa?threadID=2597397&start=0&tstart=0) about similar issues at the Apple Support forums.

chapindad
Oct 2, 2010, 09:32 PM
Just wait until Black Friday and you will be able to pick up a 32 inch LCD for around $160-$180. Anything you try now is just throwing good money at a bad solution.

GreatDrok
Oct 2, 2010, 10:59 PM
Ahh, good to hear. How are you connecting the audio?

DD goes to the amp via HDMI and I just have stereo going to the TV which is being driven by the component connection. Works perfectly. When i turn the HDMI amp on the ATV redirects its output to that and the component connections go blank so you can't drive both at once but it defaults to component when HDMI isn't active. Works for me.