Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

foidulus

macrumors 6502a
Original poster
Jan 15, 2007
So I'm a bit new to the Obj-C/Cocoa world and I have sort of a best practices question,

In Java and the like, the recommended way to store constant value keys for hashmaps that have constant keys is to make a constant somehwere and use that. That way it's easier for other packages to use the same keys and everyone stays in sync.

I am currently doing that with an Obj-C cocoa project I am working on by defining the strings as extern const in a class that basically holds all the constants. However when I go to use the strings I of course get a compiler warning about discarding qualifiers from target type. I know it's perfectly valid since the stringForKey SHOULDNT be changing my strings, but I hate compiler warnings and try to generate as few as possible.

So what I am doing is casting them to (NSString *) whenever I use them, but this doesn't seem like the best practice either. What is the recommended way of storing all these keys?

Sydde

macrumors 68030
Aug 17, 2009
IOKWARDI
I find the easiest approach is to create a single .h file that gets imported, directly or indirectly, by everything that uses the key strings and just use

#define aKeyString @"TheParicularKeyString"

for each key

(By "indirectly imported", I mean imported via other imported headers that import the constants header.)

kainjow

Moderator emeritus
Jun 15, 2000
^ I do the same. However, I only put them in a shared file if they're used across multiple files, otherwise I stick them at the top of the file it's used in.

And since you're getting warnings, you should post your exact code so we can see what's wrong.

chown33

Staff member
Aug 9, 2009
A sea of green
I find the easiest approach is to create a single .h file that gets imported, directly or indirectly, by everything that uses the key strings and just use