PDA

View Full Version : I know I should give up...but I'll try one more time (Vent thread!)

chrono1081
Sep 26, 2010, 06:42 PM
So, I have this friend who decided to go back to school for computer programming. I am tutoring him because honestly if he fails out of school this time he will be so far in debt there will be no hope for him ever going back.

Anyway he keeps whining because he can't remember all of the different things he learned. I tried telling him not only does he have to practice what he is taught in class (he doesn't) but I also tried telling him in programming its not possible to memorize everything, hence tons of programming reference manuals, documentation etc.

Well, whoever his professor is told him I was wrong and that programmers memorize all of their stuff and didn't know what I was talking about. (What!??) Now this is making my tutoring that much harder because its my word against his professor. I'm a hobbyist game developer who has been programming since the sweet old age of 15 (I am now 28).

Anyway, this professor was supposedly a professional programmer but honestly, I don't see how he can be if he is saying things like this. He also said no one uses the MSDN documentation in real life.

Now instead of concentrating on learning things like classes, pointers, etc, I'm stuck reteaching things like various string functions just so he can memorize them. What a waste of time :/

Anyway I tried showing him how useful documentation is by showing him some Cocoa programming (wow was that a mistake) it only confused him more because he has only been exposed to C++.

I know I should just give up and let him dig his own hole by wasting his time memorizing things he will rarely use instead of important core concepts but I feel bad if I do that.

How do prove to him his professor is wrong?

MorphingDragon
Sep 26, 2010, 07:00 PM
I tried telling him not only does he have to practice what he is taught in class (he doesn't)