PDA

View Full Version : 1.4Ghz Mini via DVI/HDMI to Samsung Series 6 40" LED panel FAIL




gibzy
Sep 28, 2010, 08:18 AM
Hi. Anyone help here?

A while ago I bought a 1st gen Mini to use as a HTPC on a 26" Samsung LCD panel. Bought a DVI/HDMI cable, hooked it all up works fine (across all resolutions, PAL & NTSC).

Now just taken delivery of a Samsung 40" LED panel as above and tried to connect. I got a check connection and signal/resolution not supported type message. I checked the LED manual for trouble shooting and set the mini (via the LCD panel) to appropriate 680 resolution and NTSC 60Hz setting after initially trying on 1280 interlaced PAL. Still no joy :(

I checked the DVI/HDMI cable on my MBP to the LED and it works fine - the screen recognised that machine instantly. The MBP was also recognised on a 19" Techika HDTV via same cable too but again not the Mini.

Why wont the Mini connect to the Samsung LED via DVI/HDMI??

Any suggestions? Thanks in advance...



Irishman
Sep 28, 2010, 09:14 AM
Hi. Anyone help here?

A while ago I bought a 1st gen Mini to use as a HTPC on a 26" Samsung LCD panel. Bought a DVI/HDMI cable, hooked it all up works fine (across all resolutions, PAL & NTSC).

Now just taken delivery of a Samsung 40" LED panel as above and tried to connect. I got a check connection and signal/resolution not supported type message. I checked the LED manual for trouble shooting and set the mini (via the LCD panel) to appropriate 680 resolution and NTSC 60Hz setting after initially trying on 1280 interlaced PAL. Still no joy :(

I checked the DVI/HDMI cable on my MBP to the LED and it works fine - the screen recognised that machine instantly. The MBP was also recognised on a 19" Techika HDTV via same cable too but again not the Mini.

Why wont the Mini connect to the Samsung LED via DVI/HDMI??

Any suggestions? Thanks in advance...

It's gotta be a setting on the Mini somewhere.

Try changing your output resolution and see if that helps.

gibzy
Sep 28, 2010, 10:57 AM
I dont understand. Are you saying that there might be a specific combination of resolution and PAL/NTSC on the Mini to be made in order to get the picture on the LED panel??

MacHamster68
Sep 28, 2010, 11:21 AM
yes , and i have a example here , i have bought 2 lcd tv's (cheaper and more versatile then a monitor alone ) from polaroid (great picture) , but one is a bit older the other newer and has freeview(doesnt really matter the tv features) but you wont spot any difference unless you look really close to the ports at the back (they have both the same ports but in a other layout )and these things have some sort of procesor inside and some sort of open firmware or bios or OS however you want to call it and thats expecting something to come from the line connected to them and if it doesnt match their expectations they refuse

on the older one
i can connect the mini g4 with vga , with hdmi all fine full resolutions and perfect picture

on the newer one of the two
a totally different story , VGA , yes works but only up to 800x600 ,my msi wind hackintosh gets full resolution on that one via VGA ,hdmi only 1024x768 and crappy ,instead of full resolution , i connected a dell zino (previously mine but donated to a neighbour )and get full resolution on hdmi and perfect picture ,so the tv is alright

so there are definitely either limits the graphics output from the mini g4 ati 9200 can handle or the modern tv's on the input side can handle or expect