PDA

View Full Version : Remote updated with new Apple TV




Bcos17
Sep 29, 2010, 08:41 PM
Not sure if anyone else has noticed this but the new silver remote that is shipping with the new Apple TV has been updated. The black circle button for left, right, up, and down used to be entirely flat. (I bought one of these new remotes for my old Apple TV a couple months back). Sometimes it was difficult to determine if you were clicking up or the center button and you could end up hitting the wrong button. The silver remotes shipping with the new Apple TV now have a slight bump on the black circle going all the way around which make it much easier to feel the buttons and figure out what you are pressing without looking. I know its a very small insignificant detail but its something that bothered me in the past and I was very happy to see that Apple had updated the remote.

ps The new Apple TV is great. Same basic software, much faster, no more syncing issues, and the Netflix integration is better than anything else out there (roku, ps3, wii, etc.).



Arran
Sep 29, 2010, 09:20 PM
I was kinda surprised when Apple abandoned the contoured "ring" on the first version of the aluminum remote. Nice to see (or rather, feel) it back.

Yeah, love the Netflix integration. Much better than getting our streaming fix through the kids' Wii. No more, "where's the bl***y disc! :)

Tilpots
Sep 30, 2010, 08:09 AM
OP, could you post a pic?

Arran
Sep 30, 2010, 08:42 AM
From apple.com. It's hard to see clearly, but the ring now has a "donut" sort-of contour. Like the old white remote or the iPod shuffles.

Tilpots
Sep 30, 2010, 10:34 AM
Interesting. I have one of the other silver ones. I would love to check out this new one.

trip1ex
Sep 30, 2010, 01:25 PM
LIke the feel of the middle button, but don't like the feel of the arrows. It doesn't feel like you're pressing anything. IT doesn't feel like you can trust it. But it works.

Remote is weakest part of the system. IT's nice for what it does, but the system begs for a better remote. I guess that's where the Touch/iPad/iPHone come in.

And I suppose you can use a universal remote so volume and tv input & power are on same remote.

I too like that you don't need the disc like you do with the Wii. But love the wiimote as a control for Netflix. You can quickly skip to any part of a show or list of movies by dragging an icon. Or instantly select any show or episode on the screen by pressing it.

ATV has search though, looks better, no disc and can see what other movies actors are in with press of a button.

coachaaron
Sep 30, 2010, 03:47 PM
the new design is far too simplistic for tv use. the updated remote app for the iphone and ipod touch is far more usable, especially with the small trackpad.

i have an annoying problem with this remote. my tv and apple tv is about 7 feet from my imac. right out of the box the apple tv remote is controlling both the apple tv and itunes and front row on my imac. how can i fix this?

i tried going into the itunes settings on the imac and forgetting all remotes but that is not working.

i want to get the apple tv remote to only work for the apple tv. i never use front row.

GeekLawyer
Sep 30, 2010, 04:22 PM
i have an annoying problem with this remote. my tv and apple tv is about 7 feet from my imac. right out of the box the apple tv remote is controlling both the apple tv and itunes and front row on my imac. how can i fix this? A couple of options. Probably more. I never use a remote with my MacBook, so I disabled the IR sensor. For some weird reason, this is done in System Preferences -> Security -> Disable remote control infrared receiver.

Tilpots
Sep 30, 2010, 04:31 PM
how can i fix this?


Not sure if this will help, but look into candelair (http://www.iospirit.com/labs/candelair/). I know it helps with Plex, and it may help with your situation.



Candelair is an alternative driver for the built-in IR receiver as found in many Mac®s today. It provides a clean, global fix for Apple® Remote issues many users are experiencing with third party applications under Snow Leopard releases 10.6, 10.6.1 and 10.6.2. It's based on Remote Buddy's driver and comes packaged in a preference pane that presents all remote control options at a glance. Candelair is a free download.


http://static.iospirit.com/static/objectfiles/image/945/candelairScreenshot.jpg

GeekLawyer
Sep 30, 2010, 04:50 PM
^ That seems like overkill, if I understood the issue correctly. If not, carry on.

coachaaron
Sep 30, 2010, 05:02 PM
thank you for the tips, i appreciate both. disabling the IR sensor fixed the issue. thanks guys!

trip1ex
Sep 30, 2010, 05:36 PM
thank you for the tips, i appreciate both. disabling the IR sensor fixed the issue. thanks guys!

YOu can also pair your iMacs remote if you have one with the iMac. and then only that remote will work with it.

Same with the ATV and its remote.

I happen to have an old remote laying so that's what I did.

newagemac
Sep 30, 2010, 05:53 PM
Yeah, you don't have to turn off the IR sensor. You just need to pair the remote. I believe out of the box Macs are able to be controlled by any Apple Remote for easy set up. That's why you have the option to turn it off under Security and only pair it with a certain remote.

HT Guy
Sep 30, 2010, 06:03 PM
I know it may sound silly, but this remote is a beautiful, simple design. It is the first Apple aluminum remote I have owned. If only other companies could follow Apples aesthetic and ergonomic approach.