Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

CaptainCaveMann

macrumors 68000
Original poster
Oct 5, 2004
Ever heard of WebEasy Pro 5.0 for pc? Thats the genra im looking for but for the Mac platform. Can anyone help me out? I want to make a web page for myself but i have pretty much no experience, so i need a really simple and easy program that will help me make the page then transfer it to my comp and then to my web space. :confused:

HenMaster6000

macrumors regular
Dec 16, 2003
If you think you'll be doing this a lot, I'd recommend just spending the money on Dreamweaver. I was a newbie about 8 months ago, and picked up Dreamweaver really quickly. I tried a couple of easy-first time programs (like Web Design 2.2) and they made it hard to get done what I wanted. I used my friend's copies of Dreamweaver and Fireworks and really liked what I saw.

I think that the trial versions of both are free downloads. They don't have any limitations as far as export (maybe Fireworks does), but expire in 30 days. You might as well give them a try, especially if your project is short term.

scem0

macrumors 604
Jul 16, 2002
back in NYC!
The best thing a newb can do IMO is learn HTML & CSS.

Those two tools together can do a bunch. After that, PHP or Javascript.

But if you just want to throw a page together, something like the WYSIWYG editor on Mozilla should work fine.

scem0

iJon

macrumors 604
Feb 7, 2002
RapidWeaver is good for real easy nice look pages. Personally I am a GoLive CS fan. I use GoLive, bought myself a GoLive book, and a HTML & CSS book and I am golden. Just like scem0 said, next would be a JS and PHP book. Just build as you go. For doing CSS, CSSEdit is a great program as well.

jon

munkle

macrumors 68030
Aug 7, 2004
On a jet plane
There's always Freeway, which is meant to be fairly easy to grasp although some of the code it spouts might be questionable.