PDA

View Full Version : Moving CS5 Applications to another folder?




bpl323
Sep 30, 2010, 01:32 AM
Quick CS5 question... can I move all of the apps into a different folder? Not a fan of having a dozen Adobe application folders at the top of my main Applications folder.



spinnerlys
Sep 30, 2010, 01:35 AM
I recently did that and it seemed to work, but I returned to status quo, as some applications might get confused, if they are not in the Applications folder.

But I get what you mean, Adobe takes up quite a lot of visual real estate for their applications.

Why don't they have one Adobe folder where all that stuff goes into?

FourCandles
Sep 30, 2010, 01:49 AM
Not tried it, but I think it may cause problems with Auto-update (or whatever the Adobe updater is called now), as it may expect to find apps in the default location.

And, ironically, there is a folder within my Applications folder just called "Adobe", but it currently just contains Adobe Help, AdobePatchFiles and Flash Player.

bpl323
Sep 30, 2010, 02:33 AM
It wouldn't be that hard for them to put everything in that Adobe folder, no?

(Ironically enough, this is the opposite problem I have with iWork installing into a folder instead of straight into the Applications folder)

sTEALtooth
Feb 11, 2013, 10:16 AM
Unfortunately, reinstalling is the best option for this. I moved my CS3 apps into the Adobe folder and got the "application has moved" error every time I opened an app, but when I installed CS6 on my laptop, I remembered to choose a different folder and it worked fine.