PDA

View Full Version : lacie 250gb questions


amemoryoncelost
Dec 26, 2004, 01:58 PM
I did some searching through the forums and found some things that raised a few questions. I'm running dual 800 Quicksilver G4. I'm looking for around a 250gb lacie external to get me started with some video editing. I'm not sure which one I should do, only because I've heard some things about the porsche model (http://www.amazon.com/exec/obidos/tg/detail/-/B000117D9O/qid=1104082954/sr=8-2/ref=sr_8_xs_ap_i2_xgl23/104-8187792-5659147?v=glance&s=electronics&n=507846) . I won't be moving it at all. Basically once I plug it in, it's staying there until I'm done with the project. So the plastic casing isn't an issue for me. The price is really nice, but I will put down the money for the lacie d2(250) (http://www.amazon.com/exec/obidos/tg/detail/-/B00064FXTI/qid=1104090607/sr=8-2/ref=__2/104-8187792-5659147?v=glance&s=electronics) if it's something I should do.

Outside of choosing the actul model I'll go with. I've read a few things on here about the computer not seeing all 250gb. Only seeing 128gb or so. How do I find out if my computer will have this issue or not and if I am going to have this problem, how much of a problem is it to fix? I'm somewhat new to apples, but am pretty capable of doing things on my own.

PS this is the thread I read about the comp only seeing 128gb: right here!! (http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=100747)

cluthz
Dec 26, 2004, 06:27 PM
I did some searching through the forums and found some things that raised a few questions. I'm running dual 800 Quicksilver G4. I'm looking for around a 250gb lacie external to get me started with some video editing. I'm not sure which one I should do, only because I've heard some things about the porsche model (http://www.amazon.com/exec/obidos/tg/detail/-/B000117D9O/qid=1104082954/sr=8-2/ref=sr_8_xs_ap_i2_xgl23/104-8187792-5659147?v=glance&s=electronics&n=507846) . I won't be moving it at all. Basically once I plug it in, it's staying there until I'm done with the project. So the plastic casing isn't an issue for me. The price is really nice, but I will put down the money for the lacie d2(250) (http://www.amazon.com/exec/obidos/tg/detail/-/B00064FXTI/qid=1104090607/sr=8-2/ref=__2/104-8187792-5659147?v=glance&s=electronics) if it's something I should do.

Outside of choosing the actul model I'll go with. I've read a few things on here about the computer not seeing all 250gb. Only seeing 128gb or so. How do I find out if my computer will have this issue or not and if I am going to have this problem, how much of a problem is it to fix? I'm somewhat new to apples, but am pretty capable of doing things on my own.

PS this is the thread I read about the comp only seeing 128gb: right here!! (http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=100747)

Only seeing 128GB only applies to INTERNAL ATA harddrives connected to the onboard ata controller.

Every firewire enabled mac will read the entire 250GB (it's 233 formatted).

The LaCie d2 is a nice HD, i have a 250GB extreme myself and it works great with my powerbook, G4 Tower(400mhz) and G3/266

Frank (Atlanta)
Dec 26, 2004, 07:46 PM
I've had a Lacie d2 250 gig for ~2 mos and have had no problems whatsoever.

Good luck,
Frank

zim
Dec 26, 2004, 08:40 PM
I have a 160GB D2, got it back when the D2 line first appeared, best and most reliable hard drive that I have ever had. My wife just gave me a 200GB D2 for Christmas. The new D2 models are so nice, the small improvements that they have made really make is a wonderful drive, specifically referring to the triple interface.

Of the two, porsche vs. D2, I like the D2 series best. I also have a D2 CD-R/CD-RW, they stack nicely. The D2 line is a bit more expensive then the porsche but I think that the drives are better equipped for the video "professional" due to their larger buffer size.

solvs
Dec 26, 2004, 08:49 PM
I just bought an external Firewire and USB 2 case and a regular ATA hard drive with a 3 year warranty (Seagate has a 5 year warranty on theirs now) from Newegg.com, and it works great. Just be sure to get a 7200RPM drive with 8MB cache and a good case (read the reviews there first). Much cheaper than a prebuilt one for some reason. The Lacie's are nice though, so if you want style, or fine one for a good price, they do look and work great. Your Mac will see the whole 230GB as long as the case is 48-bit ATA/133 compatible (most of them say they are, but check and make sure).

amemoryoncelost
Dec 27, 2004, 12:47 AM
Only seeing 128GB only applies to INTERNAL ATA harddrives connected to the onboard ata controller.


Oh ok, so I was misreading. So I'll have no problems with any external drives. Whew... I was getting nervous, thinking I was gonna have to start installing stuff.

Thanks for the help guys. I'm leaning towards the d2 drive, but the porsche's price is tempting, I'll do some more research. I appreciate the help!

wrldwzrd89
Dec 27, 2004, 04:30 AM
Oh ok, so I was misreading. So I'll have no problems with any external drives. Whew... I was getting nervous, thinking I was gonna have to start installing stuff.

Thanks for the help guys. I'm leaning towards the d2 drive, but the porsche's price is tempting, I'll do some more research. I appreciate the help!
I have a pair of LaCie D2 drives (1 160GB, 1 250GB), and they're both great. I highly recommend LaCie's D2 series of drives.