PDA

View Full Version : Apple TV 2 Handbrake Setting




techguy40
Oct 3, 2010, 05:04 PM
Anybody have a great setting to use on Handbrake for the new Apple TV?



DotCom2
Oct 3, 2010, 07:21 PM
Anybody have a great setting to use on Handbrake for the new Apple TV?

Have you tried the nightly build?

ugp
Oct 3, 2010, 07:35 PM
I've been using the AppleTV Preset and keeping everything the same for DVDs and with HD movies I slide the quality down to 18 from 20.

HobeSoundDarryl
Oct 3, 2010, 07:57 PM
Too soon for this. The Handbrake guys are working with the :apple:TV in search of the ideal version. I'm sure they'll be an official :apple:TV2010 or :apple:TV2 Handbrake profile soon.

There's a lot going on inside this little box. Testing has it working so-so to great with even 1080p encodes (though currently it still pushes it out of the :apple:TV at 720p). Some tests suggest it can handle 720p60fps (which is also well above published specs), though people are less certain if it is pushing it out of the box at 720p60fps or switching it to 720p30fps. Etc. Like I said, there's a lot going on in there.

As the testing moves toward solid observations, I'm sure the Handbrake crew will crank out a profile(s) that maximizes what the new one can do.

BlackMangoTree
Oct 3, 2010, 10:06 PM
You could just use the iPad Preset since it's the exact same hardware as the Apple TV.

The High Profile preset is actually the best to use just make sure you set the resolution to 1280 by whatever.

The High Profile prest has all the bells and whistles nothing else you can add to make it any better.

The only thing i change is set the RF to 18.

DanMacApple
Oct 3, 2010, 10:52 PM
So far I have had no problems with the preset for apple tv. The quality will vary also depending on the screen size of your tv.

BlackMangoTree
Oct 3, 2010, 11:26 PM
For the new Apple Tv might as well use the High Profile preset get the same quality with a smaller file size.

frequeniquity
Oct 4, 2010, 01:01 AM
I've found that the HD settings found here (http://lifehacker.com/5572037/handbrake-presets-for-your-new-ipad-or-iphone-4) work great.

agentphish
Oct 4, 2010, 01:10 AM
I've found that the HD settings found here (http://lifehacker.com/5572037/handbrake-presets-for-your-new-ipad-or-iphone-4) work great.

+1
I've been using the 720p setting. Works great.

BlackMangoTree
Oct 4, 2010, 11:20 AM
That HD preset is not as good as the High Profile prest.

newagemac
Oct 4, 2010, 11:41 AM
Exactly. The only reason the high profile setting was not used before was because the old ATV couldn't handle it. The Handbrake guys are recommending using the default high profile preset for now and changing the resolution to 1280. They'll be starting from the high profile setting and tweaking from there to improve on it to establish a new preset for the ATV2.

tommylotto
Oct 4, 2010, 12:00 PM
just make sure you set the resolution to 1280 by whatever.

The AppleTV can handle anamorphic HD content. So, you should make your 720p content 1280x720 and select the custom anamorphic setting. So long as "keep aspect ratio" is checked, handbrake will create a 720p file that plays great and keeps the original aspect ratio. The effective resolution will be something like 1733x720 as oppose to 1280x525

BlackMangoTree
Oct 4, 2010, 12:10 PM
The AppleTV can handle anamorphic HD content. So, you should make your 720p content 1280x720 and select the custom anamorphic setting. So long as "keep aspect ratio" is checked, handbrake will create a 720p file that plays great and keeps the original aspect ratio. The effective resolution will be something like 1733x720 as oppose to 1280x525

The Apple tech spec state 1280 by 720, even though higher resolution can be played back on the Apple Tv it's no wise to encode higher than the tech spec state.

Just because the video plays today doesn't mean it will play tomorrow.

bigpatky
Oct 4, 2010, 02:02 PM
i'm very happy with the setting I read on another thread:]

http://forums.macrumors.com/showpost.php?p=11162856&postcount=189

For the new Apple TV a good setting is:

ref=5:me=umh:b-adapt=2:weightp=0:direct=auto:no-dct-decimate=1:merange=32:bframes=5:subq=9:vbv-maxrate=12000:vbv-bufsize=12000

No filters and set the resolution to 1280 by 720 or lower depending on the movie. Set the Audio to your liking and the subtitles and set the RF to 22 for HD and 20 for SD.

The results are very good quality video and pretty small file sizes and the file will play on Apple TV 2, iPhone 4, iPod Touch and obviously your computer.

NEBaghead
Oct 4, 2010, 02:56 PM
i'm very happy with the setting I read on another thread:]

http://forums.macrumors.com/showpost.php?p=11162856&postcount=189

This setting has worked great for me. I had some stuttering before I enabled the vbv-maxrate=12000:vbv-bufsize=12000 advanced flag. I've been ripping my Harry potter blu-rays and they play smooth as butter with these settings.

bijanm
Oct 4, 2010, 05:57 PM
This setting has worked great for me. I had some stuttering before I enabled the vbv-maxrate=12000:vbv-bufsize=12000 advanced flag. I've been ripping my Harry potter blu-rays and they play smooth as butter with these settings.

so are you selecting the "High Profile" setting and then copy and pasting the string into the advanced tab?

Can't wait until there is a preset in Handbrake for the new ATV, messing with all the different filters and other settings is confusing

tbayrgs
Oct 4, 2010, 06:21 PM
The Apple tech spec state 1280 by 720, even though higher resolution can be played back on the Apple Tv it's no wise to encode higher than the tech spec state.

Just because the video plays today doesn't mean it will play tomorrow.

????

You think Apple is going to either release new hardware or firmware in the future with less capabilities than they currently have? If you've done any reading on these or the Handbrake forums you'd realize that the :apple:TV can handle more than those published specs and I'll go out on a limb an guarantee all of Apple's future hardware will be at least as capable.


The AppleTV can handle anamorphic HD content. So, you should make your 720p content 1280x720 and select the custom anamorphic setting. So long as "keep aspect ratio" is checked, handbrake will create a 720p file that plays great and keeps the original aspect ratio. The effective resolution will be something like 1733x720 as oppose to 1280x525

This suggestion by tommylotto works great for anyone who is looking to get the most out a single encode. I watch my media on an iPhone, iPad, Apple TV, and a Mac Mini HTPC running PLEX. Using these settings allows me to get a version that will play on the lower resolution devices yet also plays at a higher resolution on the Mac Mini hooked up to a 1080p plasma. Considering it appears the new Apple TV can handle 1080p material, it may certainly be more worthwhile for some people to encode everything at 1080p but I still wouldn't have a version that would play on my smaller devices so for the time being, I'm using these settings.

trip1ex
Oct 4, 2010, 06:47 PM
I use the universal preset and ain't ripping BRs anyway.

NEBaghead
Oct 4, 2010, 07:55 PM
so are you selecting the "High Profile" setting and then copy and pasting the string into the advanced tab?

Can't wait until there is a preset in Handbrake for the new ATV, messing with all the different filters and other settings is confusing

Yes. Also, i change the picture settings to 1280 and turn off all filters.

techguy40
Oct 4, 2010, 08:26 PM
How are you changing the picture resolution to 1280? It not letting me change it. I am making a backup of a SD DVD with the mac handbrake.

suss2it
Oct 4, 2010, 08:31 PM
How are you changing the picture resolution to 1280? It not letting me change it. I am making a backup of a SD DVD with the mac handbrake.
Why would you even want to do that to a SD video?

techguy40
Oct 4, 2010, 08:42 PM
Why would you even want to do that to a SD video?

A little confuse, so what people are saying above is for HD blue ray?

For SD DVD backup, do i just pick High Profile and don't touch anything?

BlackMangoTree
Oct 4, 2010, 09:02 PM
A little confuse, so what people are saying above is for HD blue ray?

For SD DVD backup, do i just pick High Profile and don't touch anything?

Basically yes. You should just encode 30 secs of a dvd and see if you're happy with the results first.

Just ajust the audio and subtitles to your liking

PsychoSid
Oct 5, 2010, 03:10 AM
I have both the new, and old ATV's to account for on my network.

So I just use the AppleTV preset, for SD, and for HD/BR rips use that preset and switch off anamorphic and set to 1280 with keep aspect ratio selected.

It is OK, but maybe there are other options ?

BlackMangoTree
Oct 5, 2010, 03:39 AM
If you need your file to work on both Apple TV you can use the Apple TV preset and chagne the advanced string to:

mixed-refs=1:b-adapt=2:b-pyramid=none:trellis=0:weightp=0:vbv-maxrate=5500:vbv-bufsize=5500

This was offered by someone on the handbrake forums and it works very very well.

Mr. Incredible
Oct 5, 2010, 03:52 AM
i'm very happy with the setting I read on another thread:]

http://forums.macrumors.com/showpost.php?p=11162856&postcount=189

Will it play on the iPad too?

BlackMangoTree
Oct 5, 2010, 05:43 AM
Will it play on the iPad too?

Yes, iPad and Apple TV2 are basically the same thing.

I don't use that advance string anymore, just use the High profile preset. After many encodes for my Apple TV i haven't come across any issues.

Seamaster
Oct 5, 2010, 05:58 AM
I'm using the Apple TV setting on my Elgato Turbo and the results are fine on ATV2.

Zimmy68
Oct 5, 2010, 08:21 AM
I was very happy with the AppleTV settings on the nightly build.
I did the first 2 discs of the Simpsons' Season 12 set.
I included the subtitles, passthru 5.1 track, downmixed to AAC 5.1 track, and the commentary.
It played great on the new AppleTV and I could easily select everything.
I even cut out the intro and credits which make them a nice quick watch.
I still see some combing effects which I am sure I could fix with a setting.

PsychoSid
Oct 5, 2010, 01:02 PM
If you need your file to work on both Apple TV you can use the Apple TV preset and chagne the advanced string to:

mixed-refs=1:b-adapt=2:b-pyramid=none:trellis=0:weightp=0:vbv-maxrate=5500:vbv-bufsize=5500

This was offered by someone on the handbrake forums and it works very very well.

Thanks is that good for the current nightly builds ?

BlackMangoTree
Oct 5, 2010, 01:50 PM
Yes i have used it with the nightly builds and the file looked good and played back perfectly on the original Apple TV.

techguy40
Oct 5, 2010, 06:09 PM
Yes, iPad and Apple TV2 are basically the same thing.

I don't use that advance string anymore, just use the High profile preset. After many encodes for my Apple TV i haven't come across any issues.



So high profile preset for the new apple tv?

Do you recommend turning off filters and changing RF from 20 to 18 also on the high profile?

Thanks

bigpatky
Oct 5, 2010, 06:16 PM
So high profile preset for the new apple tv?

Do you recommend turning off filters and changing RF from 20 to 18 also on the high profile?

Thanks

i also have this question

BlackMangoTree
Oct 5, 2010, 07:57 PM
The RF is a personal choice.

Play around with a short sample clip start at about 28 and work your way down till you are happy with the quality.

techguy40
Oct 5, 2010, 08:02 PM
what size movie are you getting with a SD DVD with the high profile preset?

what size movie are you getting with a HD DVD with the high profile preset?

BlackMangoTree
Oct 5, 2010, 08:07 PM
It varies from movie to movie but roughly

for a 100 min SD movie about 1.8.gb

HD movie about 2gb.

techguy40
Oct 5, 2010, 08:19 PM
It varies from movie to movie but roughly

for a 100 min SD movie about 1.8.gb

HD movie about 2gb.

Thanks. You been very helpful. Its cool we all can help each other with our new apple tv.

When picking audio? what do you recommend to choose? I am seeing two listed on most SD dvd on high profile set under audio. Do we leave it as is?

Beside turning off filters, Do you recommend to set anamorphic to none?

BlackMangoTree
Oct 5, 2010, 09:04 PM
I put a AAC Stereo track at 160 incase i want to play that file on a iPhone, iPod Touch or iPad. I aslo put a AC3 5.1 track so i can hear it in surround sound when watching on the Apple TV.

techguy40
Oct 5, 2010, 09:46 PM
I put a AAC Stereo track at 160 incase i want to play that file on a iPhone, iPod Touch or iPad. I aslo put a AC3 5.1 track so i can hear it in surround sound when watching on the Apple TV.


Which AAC do you recommend to add? CoreAudio or faac for stereo at 160 for the iphone?

Because On default I see the following:

Track AC3 5.1 CH /Codec: AAC(CoreAudio) Mixdown: Pro Logic II Auto 160
Track AC3 5.1 Ch/Codec: AC3 Passthru Mixdown: AC3 Passthru

Won't that play on the Iphone fine and surround sound for the Apple TV?

BlackMangoTree
Oct 5, 2010, 10:11 PM
Track AC3 5.1 CH /Codec: AAC(CoreAudio) Mixdown: Pro Logic II Auto 160
Track AC3 5.1 Ch/Codec: AC3 Passthru Mixdown: AC3 Passthru

Thats perfect.

AAC CoreAudio produces better sound than faac.

techguy40
Dec 1, 2010, 09:24 PM
Handbrake nightly build as ATV2 preset now.


For apple tv 2

Do you still recommend HIGH PROFILE preset with RF 18, filters off or
the New ATV2 preset?