PDA

View Full Version : Multiple shapes/objects

roboticapps1
Oct 4, 2010, 06:02 PM
Hi, I'm fairly new to programming with cocoa and I wanted to try programming simple things for the iOS.

I had a question about filling the screen with multiple shapes/objects. I've created a shape, specifically a star, and I have it moving around the screen the way I want it to. Now I want to populate the screen with multiple stars and add stars as time passes and delete or get rid of old stars that have been used or destroyed (I haven't thought about all the ins and outs of the game). In any case, I've been thinking about how to continually add stars and I wanted some feedback. Thought I might get some good advice before wasting hours of researching/coding.

I'm sorry I don't have code to post but the code I have is only for the star object and I didn't think that would help.

Thanx

Jman012
Oct 4, 2010, 08:00 PM
What part of it do you not know what to do? If it's actually adding separate stars, then it's actually quite easy. You'll have to add a new class, and derive it from UIView. Make the variables you want, and draw the star in the .m, then all you have todo is alloc the star in your ViewController.

//Star.h
#import <Foundation/Foundation.h>
#import <UIKit/UIKit.h>

@class Star;

@interface Star : UIView {

}

- (void)destroyStar;

@end

//Star.m
#import "Star.h"

@implementation Star

//Functions on the load to draw star, e.g. awakeFromNib, init, etc

- (void)destroyStar {
[self removeFromSuperView];
[self release];
}

@end

And now in your ViewController, setup a simple timer, I'm pretty sure it's NSTimer. and every so often just add your Star like a UIView
Star *tempStar = [[Star alloc] initWithFrame:CGRectMake(50, 50, 64, 64)];