PDA

View Full Version : new CS student and just need a little help plz (Java programming)

hassoon
Oct 6, 2010, 10:23 AM
hi, i'm a new CS student! my first course at college is object orienting programs ! so we started learning about the java language. i wanna apply what they're giving us at college at home, and i have a mac. so what do i have to install on my mac? can i work on xcode with the java language ? at college we're working on PC's but they don't mind us working on macs too..! i installed BlueJ but i dn knw how it works..! ty

robvas
Oct 6, 2010, 10:33 AM
Download Eclipse or Netbeans

lee1210
Oct 6, 2010, 10:35 AM
If this is your first course, you need a text editor, and javac and java at the terminal. An IDE can only stand to confuse you at this point.

-Lee

(marc)
Oct 6, 2010, 10:40 AM
If this is your first course, you need a text editor, and javac and java at the terminal. An IDE can only stand to confuse you at this point.

-Lee

+1. Don't download an IDE.

Hansr
Oct 6, 2010, 10:48 AM
In my first Java course we used DrJava: http://drjava.sourceforge.net/

Just ignore the in app file browser and you have the same thing mentioned above, except you can compile and run from the app instead of going to the terminal each time.

jared_kipe
Oct 6, 2010, 01:01 PM
JGrasp, it is practically just a text editor, but with compile and run buttons.

elppa
Oct 6, 2010, 04:21 PM
Don't listen to any of the above advice. Stick with BlueJ. It is great for learning and getting to grips with objects. You will want to move on to something more powerful later.
But BlueJ is an educational tool designed specifically for people like you who are just starting out.

chown33
Oct 6, 2010, 04:36 PM
Don't listen to any of the above advice. Stick with BlueJ. It is great for learning and getting to grips with objects. You will want to move on to something more powerful later.
But BlueJ is an educational tool designed specifically for people like you who are just starting out.