PDA

View Full Version : Apple TV Remote




baconroll
Oct 9, 2010, 01:48 PM
Hi - I just purchased the new Apple TV which is great. I have a problem though. My iMac is situated near the apple TV and every time I use the Apple TV remote, it operates my Mac at the same time. I have unpaired the remote from ATV and re-paired it, but it still operates my mac as well. Any suggestions please? Thanks



Mr Kram
Oct 9, 2010, 01:50 PM
turn off the ir sensor on the imac.

OllyW
Oct 9, 2010, 01:53 PM
You can pair or block the remote to your iMac in System Preferences/Security.

chriso89
Oct 9, 2010, 01:54 PM
or pair it to the apple tv

wodeh
Oct 9, 2010, 02:11 PM
On iMac: System preferences -> security -> disable remote control infrared receiver

pairing your remote to the Apple TV will still result in it controlling other devices. It's fun for a few minutes if its not your mac though :)

chriso89
Oct 9, 2010, 02:41 PM
not if you have paird the macbook with another control:)

question. what do you do if your apple tv remote dosent work anymore? buying a new apple remote wil not work if the old remote is paired with apple tv. wh

baconroll
Oct 9, 2010, 05:08 PM
Got it working thanks.

Paired my Mac remote only with the Mac and now the ATV remote only works with ATV. Thanks for all your help.

Zimmy68
Oct 9, 2010, 06:19 PM
As a last gen AppleTV owner I must say I really dislike the new remote.
It looks so much nicer then the little white one but I can't tell you how many times I press select when I meant left or right.