Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

draigtiene

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Dec 31, 2004
Hello there i am fairly new to the idea of buying a mac but i've heard such great things about them i am intrested. I am a long time pc user and am looking into getting a notebook "more for lack of space at the moment then anything" to test out a good mac product. I do quite a bit of photoshop/bryce/fireworks work with a bit of html thrown in. What i'd like to know is how would the 12" ibook handle this? Should i go for that or is a powerbook more suitable?

atif.muhammad

macrumors member
Oct 26, 2004
none of your business
draigtiene said:
Hello there i am fairly new to the idea of buying a mac but i've heard such great things about them i am intrested. I am a long time pc user and am looking into getting a notebook "more for lack of space at the moment then anything" to test out a good mac product. I do quite a bit of photoshop/bryce/fireworks work with a bit of html thrown in. What i'd like to know is how would the 12" ibook handle this? Should i go for that or is a powerbook more suitable?
no way the ibook
as soon as you mention photoshop, you have to go for the powerbook. photoshop requires that faster processing speed and better memory and better pipes.
dont go for the 12" PB coz then you have to strain your eyes to see all the panels. try the 15" that'll be fine

Blue Velvet

Moderator emeritus
Jul 4, 2004
You may find the 12" screen a bit restrictive for design work.

A few people around here have expressed regrets about getting the smaller size, many others have said it's ok. Pshop does have quite a few palettes plus that bar along the top...

See if you can get to a good dealer/Apple Store for a demo.

Regardless of model, RAM is indeed crucial.

Abstract

macrumors Penryn
Dec 27, 2002
Location Location Location