PDA

View Full Version : aTV2 and large library.. SLOW




crotalus99
Oct 14, 2010, 06:39 PM
Hi,

I have a huge library of ripped DVDs (~900); it worked will with the old aTV1, but I bought an aTV2 last week for the netflix and the hope it would speed it up a bit.
The menu is much faster and even netflix loads fast, but when I try to access the iTunes stuff it can take as much as 20-30 seconds to load the movie menu. This doesn't make sense to me. It is on a central server and only the 3 aTVs access it for content. The actual movies are on a Drobo, but that doesn't seem to be the problem, because once the movie menu is up and on is selected it usually starts in 3-5 seconds.
Does anyone else have this problem? I only have 1 aTV2 at the moment, but if this is the norm then I may have to put the aTV1 back on and return it.

The aTV2 is connected via ethernet not wifi.


Thanks



thetruth1985
Oct 14, 2010, 07:29 PM
Dam that sux bro. I have about 150 movies so far on my imac and the menu on the apple tv is pretty fast. I don't know what you can do to speed it up since the apple tv doesn't even have gigabit. Does it take that much time to load everytime you open the computer tab or only once per session?

crotalus99
Oct 14, 2010, 08:49 PM
I bought it last week and hadn't used it in a couple of days. Did an update come out recently? Because I just went and looked at it and it's much better today.

I'll update the thread if the problem occurs again.

GermanSuplex
Oct 15, 2010, 11:00 AM
Strange. I have about 250 movies, over a thousand TV shows, and tons of music and the menus load up fast. I am connected via ethernet though, so maybe that's why. Although 900 is almost quadruple 250, I'd imagine it's still within the realm of taking roughly the same amount of time to load. Could've just been a fluke, I guess.

WiiDSmoker
Oct 15, 2010, 12:15 PM
I bought it last week and hadn't used it in a couple of days. Did an update come out recently? Because I just went and looked at it and it's much better today.

I'll update the thread if the problem occurs again.

It might be faster because the Apple TV needed to cache everything.

williedigital
Oct 23, 2010, 01:27 PM
I have a 5K film collection, and the old model would literally crash when it tried to load them. The new one takes 15-20ish seconds.

crotalus99
Oct 23, 2010, 02:03 PM
I think the loading is related to the other problem that I am having. A large percentage of movies will not run on the aTV2. Everything is fine on the aTV1 though. I spent aver an hour last night with Apple Care and they were stumped and escalated it up.
I figured this out because the time issue was fine with loading some genre, but I have a holiday one with only 18 movies (which most don't work) that takes about 3-5 minutes to load. An action genre with 200 movies loads almost instantly.
Hopefully, Applecare will have a solution. I think I am going to have to reformat all the disks though because it reads all the metadata fine. If I run one through Visualhub though on the AppleTV setting then it works fine afterwards. Weird thing is though that when you look at the stats nothing really changes that should make a difference.
If anyone has a better idea I would appreciate it. I don't know how many hundreds of movies that I am going to have to run through visualhub and then attach metadata to.

Thanks,

RWHGadianton
Nov 9, 2010, 10:25 AM
Have tried using libraries from a Mac an a PC.
Have over 1K movies. Genre load times are 5-15 minutes. Tried using a test library and started bogging down after 350 movies added. ATV2 also connected via Ethernet. I've had for over a month now. Never seems to cache fully. I think I is taking forever on movie artwork caching first. My aTV1 works fine. Maybe a s/w update to increase cage size is needed. All movies play on both, just long load times on genres.

omni
May 5, 2011, 10:07 PM
thread necromancy!

Ever work out a solution?

SurfMacJpMtb
May 5, 2011, 10:21 PM
Someone brought this up in another thread....how big are your movie & tv show artwork?

I have a huge library, my movie art is up to 800 pixals high, mostly 600. I can count to ten while mine loads, if it takes much longer then iTunes or the TV needs to be restarted.

gunthermic
May 6, 2011, 10:56 AM
I have 1000+ myself. In my living room which is closest to the wireless router it always loads within seconds. The second one in bedroom which is farthest, sometimes does have problem loading(caching). My quick fix is to re-boot ATV2, then it comes right up. But it is only loading the playlist and smartlists and the artwork.

It seems to me that is it tied to the fact if 1. I am currently ripping/encoding on machine that is hostign the iTunes. or 2. I have done a reboot since last time i accessd the ATV2. and lastly sleep mode. The living room is set to never sleep, while the bedroom one is set to sleep after an hour.