Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

jrcsh6

macrumors 6502
Original poster
Jul 1, 2008
so lets say Lion comes along. when upgrading onto my machine with bootcamp will is go on smoothly? i didn't have a intel mac when we went from leopard so i have no experience. it should right? should be super easy and totally backed by steve as the greatest thing ever!:)

Duff-Man

Contributor
Dec 26, 2002
Albuquerque, NM
Duff-Man says...oh ffs, they have not even officially announced anything yet let alone made mention of any features etc...at least wait until *after* that before asking stuff that there cannot possibly be any credible answer to.

Having ranted that, Bootcamp is something that is a major feature of OS X now - logically, they are not going to put out an OS upgrade that intentionally screws it up (unless they explicitly say that "no bootcamp" is one of the "features" heheh)....oh yeah!

Grannyville7989

macrumors 6502a
Aug 2, 2010
When I was on Leopard, I had a Boot Camp partition with Windows 7. When I got myself Snow Leopard, I performed and upgrade install and after that completed, I gave my Windows 7 a spin to see how it was working out and everything was fine. Upgraded the drivers and it was running better than before. I've even done a clean install of Mac OS X with Windows 7 present on the hard drive and it still worked as if nothing had happened. :)

tibi08

macrumors 6502a
Sep 17, 2007
Brighton, UK
I have it on official word from Apple that Mac OS X "Lion" will completely erase the bootcamp utility and any Windows installations from your Mac.

sammich

macrumors 601
Sep 26, 2006
Sarcasmville.
Boot Camp is on a separate partition. Installing something on one partition won't affect what's installed on another. That's basically the whole point of a partition, basically a virtual 2nd hard drive.

jrcsh6

macrumors 6502
Original poster
Jul 1, 2008