PDA

View Full Version : Handbrake Problem




Mr. Incredible
Oct 15, 2010, 01:40 AM
So, before trying out Blu-Ray movies, I decided to try a regular DVD.

I put my Ratatouille DVD in the CD drive of my iMac.

I opened it with Handbrake, and Handbrake is Scanning the title.

It Scanned up to Title 9 of 29 pretty fast. Slowed down when it scanned at Title 10 of 29. And now, its just stuck at Title 11 of 29. It's been well over 5 minutes, pretty close to 10 now, and it's not budging.

I took the dvd out, and put another one (for some reason, I got 2 copies, other is probably my cousins). When I put the other Ratatouille DVD in, its giving me the exact same problem!

It's stuck at Source: Scanning Title 11 of 29. Is the DVD messed up? Or is my Handbrake a bad install? I'm not sure what it could be.

I'm thinking of just trying out my The Dark Knight Blu-Ray. Gonna use MakeMKV first before using Handbrake. Hopefully it doesn't give me the same problem.

But what could the problem be now with my current situation? :confused:



hankdesign
Oct 15, 2010, 01:48 AM
I have had the same problem when converting Disney DVDS. They have probably made them so they cant be ripped. :eek:

Mr. Incredible
Oct 15, 2010, 02:12 AM
What about trying out a Disney Blu-Ray movie? Could that work, by first using MakeMKV, and then using Hand Brake?

Ingster
Oct 15, 2010, 03:50 AM
i've had similar problems, occurs on a few DVD's, it tends to stick when reading certain sources - i think it is a copy protection thing, thought my DVD drive was knackered at first!

ichaddy
Oct 15, 2010, 03:52 AM
Try MactheRipper first, then handbrake. Sometimes there are so many hidden chapters in DVD handbrake loses the plot. Ie: it tries to extract 50GB off a 7GB DVD.

If this is the case. open in DVD Player first and find out which title/chapters are playing and only extract those in MactheRipper.

I have had very mixed success using Handbrake directly. But using MactheRipper first gives 100% results so far. Plus you dont need a noisy DVD going for several hours.

For Blu-rays I use MakeMKV too, sometimes goingvia TSMuxer before ending up in Handbrake.

Hope that helps!

Ingster
Oct 15, 2010, 04:03 AM
Thanks i'll try it, anyone tried ripit i've got it on the mac but not tried it properly, is mac the ripper better?

Try MactheRipper first, then handbrake. Sometimes there are so many hidden chapters in DVD handbrake loses the plot. Ie: it tries to extract 50GB off a 7GB DVD.

If this is the case. open in DVD Player first and find out which title/chapters are playing and only extract those in MactheRipper.

I have had very mixed success using Handbrake directly. But using MactheRipper first gives 100% results so far. Plus you dont need a noisy DVD going for several hours.

For Blu-rays I use MakeMKV too, sometimes goingvia TSMuxer before ending up in Handbrake.

Hope that helps!

peterjcat
Oct 15, 2010, 04:33 AM
Handbrake isn't designed to read protected DVDs -- it will have a go at them if you have VLC installed, but you'll usually have more luck if you pre-rip the DVD with another tool first. I personally use RipIt now as I stopped using MacTheRipper when they stopped releasing public versions; but if they have sorted out their licensing etc it's a good tool.

Mr. Incredible
Oct 15, 2010, 04:51 AM
Try MactheRipper first, then handbrake. Sometimes there are so many hidden chapters in DVD handbrake loses the plot. Ie: it tries to extract 50GB off a 7GB DVD.

If this is the case. open in DVD Player first and find out which title/chapters are playing and only extract those in MactheRipper.

I have had very mixed success using Handbrake directly. But using MactheRipper first gives 100% results so far. Plus you dont need a noisy DVD going for several hours.

For Blu-rays I use MakeMKV too, sometimes goingvia TSMuxer before ending up in Handbrake.

Hope that helps!

When it comes to Blu-Rays, I ripped my The Dark Knight Blue-Ray using MakeMKV, and I don't know if this is right, but it ripped 35.65GB of Data. Did I do something wrong? Why would it be this high?

Will this fix it, when I use Handbrake, the file will be much smaller, and then I would be able to delete the giant 35GB file?

Ivan P
Oct 15, 2010, 05:10 AM
When it comes to Blu-Rays, I ripped my The Dark Knight Blue-Ray using MakeMKV, and I don't know if this is right, but it ripped 35.65GB of Data. Did I do something wrong? Why would it be this high?

Will this fix it, when I use Handbrake, the file will be much smaller, and then I would be able to delete the giant 35GB file?

With Handbrake you can choose how big you want the file to be.

And yes, 35.65GB is perfectly reasonable for a Blu-ray after it's been ripped - a standard Blu-ray movie disc holds 50GB of data, meaning the movie file is rather huge (that's how it's able to be used for high definition video).

P Mentior
Oct 15, 2010, 10:49 AM
Thanks i'll try it, anyone tried ripit i've got it on the mac but not tried it properly, is mac the ripper better?

I have been using RipIt for about a year now and have never had a problem with it.

rusty2192
Oct 15, 2010, 11:24 AM
So, before trying out Blu-Ray movies, I decided to try a regular DVD.

I put my Ratatouille DVD in the CD drive of my iMac.

I opened it with Handbrake, and Handbrake is Scanning the title.

It Scanned up to Title 9 of 29 pretty fast. Slowed down when it scanned at Title 10 of 29. And now, its just stuck at Title 11 of 29. It's been well over 5 minutes, pretty close to 10 now, and it's not budging.

I took the dvd out, and put another one (for some reason, I got 2 copies, other is probably my cousins). When I put the other Ratatouille DVD in, its giving me the exact same problem!

It's stuck at Source: Scanning Title 11 of 29. Is the DVD messed up? Or is my Handbrake a bad install? I'm not sure what it could be.

I'm thinking of just trying out my The Dark Knight Blu-Ray. Gonna use MakeMKV first before using Handbrake. Hopefully it doesn't give me the same problem.

But what could the problem be now with my current situation? :confused:

Disney is bad about copy protection on their DVDs. While I do usually use Mac The Ripper first just to speed up the process (rip a bunch, then encode overnight) I sometimes do it all in handbrake. In order to get past Disney's protection, start playing the movie in DVD Player on your Mac, then look under Go>Title (I think that's right) and see which title the main movie is. Then when in handbrake, go to File>open title specific and then enter the title that is the main movie. No hang ups then.

PS checking the title of the movie isn't a bad practice for all movies. They are getting more clever and are making it harder to rip DVDs by adding in dummy titles. I believe handbrake just picks the longest title, which is usually the main feature, but not always.

tbayrgs
Oct 15, 2010, 07:09 PM
Disney is bad about copy protection on their DVDs. While I do usually use Mac The Ripper first just to speed up the process (rip a bunch, then encode overnight) I sometimes do it all in handbrake. In order to get past Disney's protection, start playing the movie in DVD Player on your Mac, then look under Go>Title (I think that's right) and see which title the main movie is. Then when in handbrake, go to File>open title specific and then enter the title that is the main movie. No hang ups then.

PS checking the title of the movie isn't a bad practice for all movies. They are getting more clever and are making it harder to rip DVDs by adding in dummy titles. I believe handbrake just picks the longest title, which is usually the main feature, but not always.

Rusty2192 is spot on with this post. I've been using RipIt for about a year and a half and the only DVDs I have ever had problems ripping are Disney (more specifically, usually Pixar) produced. When RipIt hasn't been able to get the job done, using Handbrake (in conjunction with VLC to rip) directly by following his suggestion regarding looking up the exact title number and then using the Open Source (title specific) option under File dropdown in Handbrake has always worked.

Handbrake isn't designed to read protected DVDs -- it will have a go at them if you have VLC installed, but you'll usually have more luck if you pre-rip the DVD with another tool first. I personally use RipIt now as I stopped using MacTheRipper when they stopped releasing public versions; but if they have sorted out their licensing etc it's a good tool.

As it sounds like the OP may not have VLC installed, just thought I'd reiterate that HB won't handle the decryption on it's own--you must have VLC installed (doesn't need to be open though).