PDA

View Full Version : Apple TV 2 Audio out of both cables?




iMarcusx
Oct 15, 2010, 02:00 AM
I have my apple tv hooked up to hdmi and optical. I am trying to make video come out of the hdmi but no sound. The optical is hooked up to my sound system. The apple tv is sending sound to both inputs so XD.



Omne666
Oct 15, 2010, 02:15 AM
Wouldn't you just turn off the internal sound on the tv? It's what I've done whilst sound comes out of my amp.

iMarcusx
Oct 15, 2010, 04:45 PM
Yeah I could do that, but I was wondering if there was a setting for it. Something built into the apple tv.

Batt
Oct 15, 2010, 06:36 PM
Yeah I could do that, but I was wondering if there was a setting for it. Something built into the apple tv.

The first time I used my ATV I turned the sound on my television to zero. I haven't had to touch it since. When I play something on the ATV, the TV sound is automatically set to zero. I don't know how it remembers - and I frankly don't care. It just works.

jaw04005
Oct 15, 2010, 07:35 PM
The first time I used my ATV I turned the sound on my television to zero. I haven't had to touch it since. When I play something on the ATV, the TV sound is automatically set to zero. I don't know how it remembers - and I frankly don't care. It just works.

A lot of HDTVs have a “disable/mute sound” for different sources option in their menu.

Batt
Oct 16, 2010, 05:46 PM
A lot of HDTVs have a “disable/mute sound” for different sources option in their menu.

Yes, but that's not what I did. I just tuned the sound down with the volume control.

PurdueGuy
Oct 17, 2010, 12:03 AM
Yes, but that's not what I did. I just tuned the sound down with the volume control.
The TV remembers where the setting for each input is. That's quite common. The same way many TVs will remember different color settings for each input independently.