PDA

View Full Version : Fairmount + Handbrake = Slow




Cave Man
Oct 16, 2010, 09:17 AM
I think I'm missing something about Fairmount. I put a DVD in and launched Fairmount. It mounted the virtual disc but when I launched HB and started it, it took a while to read it. This was last night. It's still transcoding 8 hour later with an estimated 15 hours remaining. Surely this works faster with the proper settings?



spinnerlys
Oct 16, 2010, 09:27 AM
Maybe you have a slow CD/DVD drive? Or have you ripped the DVD onto your HDD and then used Handbrake to transcode the video, otherwise I don't see why you would use FairMount, as Handbrake (+ VLC) is fully capable of "ripping" DVDs without ripping software.


How to backup/copy/rip video DVDs to your HDD and transcode them to another format. (http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=825323&highlight=)

How-To:Automating DVD & Blu-Ray (Backup, Encoding & Tagging) for Mac OS X 10.6 (http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=805573)

Cave Man
Oct 16, 2010, 11:32 AM
Yup, I was missing something. Seems that with Fairmount running it must compete with HB. I quite FM and HB is now running just fine. Thanks for the info.