PDA

View Full Version : .profile not working?

CMT
Oct 18, 2010, 01:33 PM
I created a .profile in my home directory with this line:

export PATH=.:$PATH:~/bin
alias h history

But it look that it has no effect. Any ideas on what can be blocking? (I'm new to working with the Bash Shell)

Thanks!

lee1210
Oct 18, 2010, 01:38 PM
1) I think .bash_profile is what you want.
2) Don't add . to your path.

-Lee

robbieduncan
Oct 18, 2010, 01:38 PM
When you say "it has no effect" what have you done? Have you created a new shell/terminal window? Changes to the .profile don't effect currently running shells.

CMT
Oct 18, 2010, 02:02 PM
1) I think .bash_profile is what you want.

I put the same lines in .bash_profile, and the PATH extension worked perfectly.

However, now I get this message:

-----------------------------------
-bash: alias: h: not found
-bash: alias: history: not found
-----------------------------------

2) Don't add . to your path.

Hmm, just curious, why not? I did that as a initial configuration as recommended in the book I'm reading. (Beginning Show Leopard Programming)

Have you created a new shell/terminal window? Changes to the .profile don't effect currently running shells.

Of course, I know that.

Thanks!

robbieduncan
Oct 18, 2010, 02:04 PM
Try

alias h=history

CMT
Oct 18, 2010, 02:06 PM
Try

alias h=history

So we have a typo in the Book!

Thanks a lot, worked perfectly.

robbieduncan
Oct 18, 2010, 02:07 PM
So we have a typo in the Book!

Thanks a lot, worked perfectly.

Or it assumes a different shell where the syntax given works?

chown33
Oct 18, 2010, 02:08 PM
Have you checked for a website associated with the book, for any corrections to printed errors?

CMT
Oct 18, 2010, 02:14 PM
Or it assumes a different shell where the syntax given works?

Probably not. The book was made to work with the standard bash shell… (this is all I now until now, I'll continue reading)