PDA

View Full Version : Mission Control & Multiple Displays




Sammio2
Oct 21, 2010, 04:30 PM
Anyone else curious as to how this would work?



bristleworm
Oct 21, 2010, 04:42 PM
Good question.
My first idea was, that as most users with two screens have them aligned horizontally next to each other, MC could simply be "extended" to the two screens, or just show up on the main screen, and show something like "the last active screen" on the other one…

Sammio2
Oct 22, 2010, 06:54 AM
Yeah, its interesting.

I mean, as far as displaying it, they could do what they currently do with expose, and treat each screen separately, but they seem to be taking the idea of gestural controls as a separate input to the mouse cursor.

So it seems like although they could treat it separately and simply activate the gestures from whichever screen the cursor was currently on. I don't think they want to do this. They seem to be tying these gestures into the core OS rather than having them as an attchment to the pointer.

I'll be interested to see how they get around this issue. And also, I really REALLY hope they introduce a dual screen menu bar system!!

rekhyt
Oct 25, 2010, 04:29 AM
Yeah, its interesting.

I mean, as far as displaying it, they could do what they currently do with expose, and treat each screen separately, but they seem to be taking the idea of gestural controls as a separate input to the mouse cursor.

So it seems like although they could treat it separately and simply activate the gestures from whichever screen the cursor was currently on. I don't think they want to do this. They seem to be tying these gestures into the core OS rather than having them as an attchment to the pointer.

I'll be interested to see how they get around this issue. And also, I really REALLY hope they introduce a dual screen menu bar system!!

Nope nope-Dual screen menubar would be bad. ... Are you going to suggest dual docks for dual screens next? :eek:

Frosties
Oct 25, 2010, 06:45 AM
I really REALLY hope they introduce a dual screen menu bar system!!

Have you tried SecondBar (http://blog.boastr.net/?page_id=79)?

http://blog.boastr.net/wp-content/uploads/2009/09/foto.jpg

lythium
Dec 25, 2010, 04:49 PM
I envision it working the same way expose does now. Only on the main screen. Everything else gets darkened.

I just hope they find a better name before release. "Mission Control" sounds too... "space adventure boy".