PDA

View Full Version : Illustrator Help

Josh
Jan 6, 2005, 12:26 AM
Hello :)

I created a logo in photoshop how I wanted it, but I need to create it in illustrator. The problem is, I've never used illustrator before, and am having a little trouble.

Here is what I need to re-create:
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v607/newfoundglory72/kspec.jpg

I can get the text how I want it, but I am having problems with the white stroke around "KSPEC". I have the red "K" and the black "SPEC" as two seperate text layers (couldnt figure out how to merge them to one). Whenver I apply a stroke in illustrator, it applies the stroke to each layer seperately, so there is a white line all around "SPEC" seperating it from the "K" - which is what I dont want.

I want the white stroke to go around both layers as if they were only one. I've tried to figure this out for the past two days and cannot do it lol. I'm sure its easy, I'm just boggled as how to do it.

Any help is *greatly* appreciated! Thanks in advance!

tech4all
Jan 6, 2005, 01:13 AM
Make a copy of the text and move it aside. Now with 2 copies of the text, get one set, select it with a marquee and go to TYPE > Create Outlines which renders the type in a vector path (NOTE: Type is no longer editable when converted to outlines). Select the vector path and go to the Pathfinder window and select Add to Shape Area - the first one on the left under Shape Modes. Now select the path and give it a white stroke and weight you want. Now get the other type of "K SPEC" and drag it directly over the white outline. Now you will have the two colors, red and white, and a white outline that goes around the parameter of both "K" and "SPEC" - not their own outlines.

Remember, there's more than one way to do this, this is just the one I picked right now ;) If you need any clarification about any of the steps, just post back.

Hope that helps and hope thats what you meant, if not, well you learned something new :D

Good Luck!

maya