PDA

View Full Version : good note taking app?

civicsiboi
Oct 23, 2010, 11:54 PM
I want to use my iPad in class to take notes on. I am new to the iPad and wanted to know if anyone has some good ideas on these apps and also a stylus that would be good for this purpose.

steezy1337
Oct 24, 2010, 12:15 AM
I want to use my iPad in class to take notes on. I am new to the iPad and wanted to know if anyone has some good ideas on these apps and also a stylus that would be good for this purpose.

If you're wanting to type the notes I've found evernote does what I need it to in my classes, I'm doing a computing degree so most of my note taking is just brief notes to enforce what I've been doing on the computers. The only downfall is you can't do diagrams in evernote but I rarely need to do these and always have pen and paper with me just in case.

seajay96
Oct 24, 2010, 12:38 AM
Stylus: I use a Boxwave stylus/pen combo. It has a nearly perfect size and feel for me and slides nicely on the screen

Note taking apps: there are a number of threads with a number of different recommendations. Noterize and Notes+ are both good apps that combine handwriting, drawing, and typing as well as PDF and email export. For handwriting to text recognition, Writepad is an excellent app.

And, in a related topic, Goodreader does PDF annotations so you can take notes and highlight PDF documents.

MXSkier62
Oct 24, 2010, 12:06 PM
I tried a lot of note taking apps for class, and haven't been able to find one until now. Noterize doesn't have great flow with handwriting. Penultimate and that genre haven't worked well for me either.

I have not been using the ipad in class because none of those apps were good enough. However, last night i downloaded notes plus, and it seems perfect. Has good fluidity, and more importantly, has a great palm protector, and has a zoom to write function that makes writing in the lines and smoothly, very possible.