PDA

View Full Version : Will a PowerBook g4 be sufficient for my needs?

barny
Oct 24, 2010, 06:15 PM
Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPod; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_1 like Mac OS X; en-gb) AppleWebKit/532.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/4.0.5 Mobile/8B117 Safari/6531.22.7)

Hi. I have recently noticed that a laptop would be very useful for me. I have an old dell one but it is extremely slow. I just need something good for browsin the Internet and basic word processing. I was thinking maybe going for a good condition PowerBook g4? What do u guys think?

Barny :)

g4 powerbookboy
Oct 24, 2010, 06:27 PM
I have one of the original g4 powerbooks. it is a g4 titanium 400 mhz/512 ram and so far i am very happy with it. it does everything i need it to do, including running live weather radar programs since i am a storm chaser by trade in the US. i think if you could find one reasonably priced in decent condition you wil be happy with it. dont run anything lower than os x 10.4.11 since most programs still support 10.4.11

spinnerlys
Oct 24, 2010, 06:28 PM
The PowerBook G4 will be sufficient enough, unless you visit Flash related websites like YouTube or other similar sites, as Flash is quite CPU hungry and the G4 is not really equipped for that kind of CPU activity anymore, it is an old architecture. Better get one of the first MacBooks (Core Duo) if you want to use YouTube or similar Flash related video sites.
And as the above post indicates, the G4 came in many variants, from 400MHz and 128MB RAM to 1.67GHz and 512MB RAM as standard.
See here for all the models: http://www.everymac.com/systems/apple/powerbook_g4/index-powerbook-g4.html

Btw:

"How to maximise your MacRumors troubleshooting experience" (http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=205018) created by mad jew in 2006