PDA

View Full Version : New to Mac's: eMac G4

hrry
Oct 28, 2010, 07:48 AM
Hi i am going to be purchasing an eMac G4 and as i am new to Mac's was hoping to learn abit about them on here.
1. Could i run Garageband on an eMac and what version?
2. Could i run iMovie?
3. Is OS X 10.5 The latest i can run?
Is there anything else i need to know?

Thanks alot. :apple:

sonofmof
Oct 28, 2010, 08:03 AM
Welcome to the "White Side" (still applies with eMacs)

The G4 eMac was my first mac too.

Leopard or 10.5 is the latest you will be able to run but updates are still regular enough. My Mac Mini still runs this.

iLife 08 ran fine on my eMac (the 1.25G4) and that include GarageBand and iMovie HD.

iMovie HD though is VERY different to use than the current iMovie which had a re-write in iLife '09.

mrsir2009
Oct 28, 2010, 12:27 PM
Hi i am going to be purchasing an eMac G4 and as i am new to Mac's was hoping to learn abit about them on here.
1. Could i run Garageband on an eMac and what version?
2. Could i run iMovie?
3. Is OS X 10.5 The latest i can run?
Is there anything else i need to know?

Thanks alot. :apple:

1. Yes, the version that comes with Leopard should do ;)
2. Yes, again, it will come with Leopard.
3. Yup. You'll need 1GB of RAM though. 1.5GB to run smoothly.
4. Try to make it a high end eMac, with 2GB of RAM to run Leopard and iLife smooothly!

Intell
Oct 28, 2010, 12:30 PM
1. Yes, the version that comes with Leopard should do ;)
2. Yes, again, it will come with Leopard.

iLife does not come with Leopard. It is on the reinstallation discs for every Mac or bought separately from Apple.

mrsir2009
Oct 28, 2010, 12:37 PM
iLife does not come with Leopard. It is on the reinstallation discs for every Mac or bought separately from Apple.

True.

Pachang
Oct 31, 2010, 08:38 AM
I guess the only thing I would say is that the next iPad will probably be more powerful than your emac.