PDA

View Full Version : Can someone remind me how to do this please?




mrsir2009
Oct 28, 2010, 10:49 PM
Hello,

I'm in Mac OS9 and I need to allocate some more memory to an application in order for it to run. I've done it before, some years ago, but I've forgot. Can someone please remind me how to allocate some more memory to an app so it will load/run?

Thanks!



Intell
Oct 28, 2010, 10:52 PM
I think you press Command-I to open the Get Information window then change the memory listed there.

rprebel
Oct 28, 2010, 10:53 PM
Maybe increase its preferred/max RAM size? It's been years, but I think that's it.

http://www.rit.edu/its/services/desktop_support/mac/images/9GetInfoMemory.jpg

mrsir2009
Oct 29, 2010, 12:14 AM
Ah yes thats how you do it... Forgot since this is the first time in almost a year that I've used Mac OS9. Correct me if I'm wrong, but you simply don't get problems like that in Mac OSX - It must do it all automaticlly for you behind the scenes =D

OrangeSVTguy
Oct 29, 2010, 06:18 AM
Create a RAM Disk and install the app on there and then you will be flyin'!

Boy I miss the OS7 days lol. 10+ years ago.

mrsir2009
Oct 29, 2010, 12:51 PM
Create a RAM Disk and install the app on there and then you will be flyin'!

Boy I miss the OS7 days lol. 10+ years ago.

Yup I used to have a Preforma running OS7.5. It was that version that had that cool Preforma startup movie!

This is OS9 on the iBook, which is the next best thing.