PDA

View Full Version : iMac G5... how long does it have?




sikkinixx
Nov 1, 2010, 06:50 PM
Alright, so if I were to use an iMac G5 (second to last revision, just before they got the iSight camera built in) as a main/secondary PC (Macbook/Air would be the other) how long does it have left?

I mean, it can only go to Leopard so how soon until Apple stops updating iTunes etc. for it. Basically I want to have a laptop as my main computer but I want an always-on computer for Apple TV etc. And I may have a chance to scoop an iMac up for nothing.

I don't speed is a huge deal since I just browse the web/email/iTunes anyway. Thoughts?



mrsir2009
Nov 1, 2010, 07:33 PM
A G5 imac'll be great for what you need! Leopard is the latest OS that works on it, but I'd imagine it would be some time before they stopped iTunes updates for it. And even if they do, you'll be fine with the current version of iTunes, won't you? :)

Hrududu
Nov 1, 2010, 08:25 PM
I would imagine iTunes and Safari support for PowerPC will continue for some time. Probably until 10.8 comes out as Apple is still doing a good job at supporting Tiger even today.

mrsir2009
Nov 1, 2010, 09:05 PM
I would imagine iTunes and Safari support for PowerPC will continue for some time. Probably until 10.8 comes out as Apple is still doing a good job at supporting Tiger even today.

When Lion comes out I think they will ditch all support for Tiger with iTunes. But they will continue supporting Leopard for ages, since it is very similar to Snow Leopard - their current OS.

DoFoT9
Nov 1, 2010, 09:08 PM
When Lion comes out I think they will ditch all support for Tiger with iTunes. But they will continue supporting Leopard for ages, since it is very similar to Snow Leopard - their current OS.
thats what they did with SL iirc, dropped support for 10.3.

mrsir2009
Nov 1, 2010, 10:00 PM
thats what they did with SL iirc, dropped support for 10.3.

Makes sense. No one uses Panther anymmore. Around 90% of Mac users use Snow Leopard or Leopard, and the remaining 10% use Tiger. When devs make modern apps, there is no point in making it support OS's earlier than Tiger. Maybe even just Leopard and up if supporting Tiger is too much trouble.....

DoFoT9
Nov 1, 2010, 10:02 PM
Makes sense. No one uses Panther anymmore. Around 90% of Mac users use Snow Leopard or Leopard, and the remaining 10% use Tiger. When devs make modern apps, there is no point in making it support OS's earlier than Tiger. Maybe even just Leopard and up if supporting Tiger is too much trouble.....
yeh totally agreed there, however i do like that certain coders still code for Tiger, Panther etc because quite often i will want my iMac G3 to work in a certain way, blaablaa. i guess they are legacy apps though.

mrsir2009
Nov 1, 2010, 10:06 PM
yeh totally agreed there, however i do like that certain coders still code for Tiger, Panther etc because quite often i will want my iMac G3 to work in a certain way, blaablaa. i guess they are legacy apps though.

Yes I'd like it if most apps still supported Tiger, as it is quite widely used. 10% isn't that much... but hey! Its 10% of the market your missing out on if you don't bother making your apps run on Tiger...

DoFoT9
Nov 1, 2010, 10:11 PM
Yes I'd like it if most apps still supported Tiger, as it is quite widely used. 10% isn't that much... but hey! Its 10% of the market your missing out on if you don't bother making your apps run on Tiger...
agreed. i still use Tiger quite a bit, i even use OS8 and OS9 a lot!.

mrsir2009
Nov 1, 2010, 10:19 PM
agreed. i still use Tiger quite a bit, i even use OS8 and OS9 a lot!.

I'm using OS9 right now!

BTW, isn't OS8 pretty much the same as OS9?

DoFoT9
Nov 1, 2010, 10:22 PM
I'm using OS9 right now!

BTW, isn't OS8 pretty much the same as OS9?
:eek:

BLASHPEMY!!! IVE NEVER HEARD ANYTHING SO INCORRECT AND RUDE!!!! ;) :rolleyes:

nah, OS9 was the first to truely implement multitasking, OS8 and OS7 were only "fake" in the sense that the idle apps were halted in computations - much the same as iOS HAHA.

mrsir2009
Nov 1, 2010, 10:43 PM
:eek:

BLASHPEMY!!! IVE NEVER HEARD ANYTHING SO INCORRECT AND RUDE!!!! ;) :rolleyes:

nah, OS9 was the first to truely implement multitasking, OS8 and OS7 were only "fake" in the sense that the idle apps were halted in computations - much the same as iOS HAHA.

What, so if say, you were on Macrumours on OS8, and you had an app/game loading in the backround... would it pause till you switched to that app?!

DoFoT9
Nov 1, 2010, 10:48 PM
What, so if say, you were on Macrumours on OS8, and you had an app/game loading in the backround... would it pause till you switched to that app?!
yes i believe so, never actually tried it - but thats what ive read :)

i dont think the main OS supported a feature known as forking, so each app was put into a hold state. or maybe OS8 was the first, im getting confused - in anycase its one of them haa

mrsir2009
Nov 1, 2010, 10:52 PM
yes i believe so, never actually tried it - but thats what ive read :)

i dont think the main OS supported a feature known as forking, so each app was put into a hold state. or maybe OS8 was the first, im getting confused - in anycase its one of them haa

Well thank god I've got OS9 on my iBook then! As I'm always downloading stuff, then installing/unzipping it in the backround while I'm on the net. Plus I play games while downloads are in progress etc...

It'd be hell if something paused when I went onto another app!

DoFoT9
Nov 1, 2010, 11:01 PM
Well thank god I've got OS9 on my iBook then! As I'm always downloading stuff, then installing/unzipping it in the backround while I'm on the net. Plus I play games while downloads are in progress etc...

It'd be hell if something paused when I went onto another app!
oh wow yes that would be quite annoying! is that a clamshell ibook? if so - JEALOUS!

mrsir2009
Nov 1, 2010, 11:06 PM
oh wow yes that would be quite annoying! is that a clamshell ibook? if so - JEALOUS!

Nah its not, its one of those 12" white later models, made in 2001. Its a pretty decent computer for everyday use actually :)

BTW: If you like Classic Macs, you should join Classic Mac, which is a starting up forum about older Macs ;-) www.classicmacforum.com

DoFoT9
Nov 1, 2010, 11:12 PM
Nah its not, its one of those 12" white later models, made in 2001. Its a pretty decent computer for everyday use actually :)

BTW: If you like Classic Macs, you should join Classic Mac, which is a starting up forum about older Macs ;-) www.classicmacforum.com (http://www.classicmacforum.com)
ahh very nice, great machines.

LOL at the banner of that website - thats awsome! i might sign up :)

mrsir2009
Nov 1, 2010, 11:15 PM
ahh very nice, great machines.

LOL at the banner of that website - thats awsome! i might sign up :)

Cool, we need some founders/moderators to get it started up ;)

Oh BTW, I made that banner in Paintbrush :o

DoFoT9
Nov 1, 2010, 11:21 PM
Cool, we need some founders/moderators to get it started up ;)

Oh BTW, I made that banner in Paintbrush :o
nice, i signed up! PM me if you want any more info/want to talk. keep this thread clean.

mrsir2009
Nov 1, 2010, 11:28 PM
nice, i signed up! PM me if you want any more info/want to talk. keep this thread clean.

Will do!

sikkinixx
Nov 3, 2010, 11:28 PM
Thanks for the input (initially anyway ;)) Can you add a small SSD in old G5 units? Most of the music/pics etc will be on a network drive anyway so a cheap way to boost performance on the old systems would be a reasonably priced SSD no?

DoFoT9
Nov 3, 2010, 11:32 PM
Thanks for the input (initially anyway ;)) Can you add a small SSD in old G5 units? Most of the music/pics etc will be on a network drive anyway so a cheap way to boost performance on the old systems would be a reasonably priced SSD no?
i thikn that will work fine, as long as the iMac uses SATA power and data cables :)

mrsir2009
Nov 4, 2010, 12:26 AM
Thanks for the input (initially anyway ;)) Can you add a small SSD in old G5 units? Most of the music/pics etc will be on a network drive anyway so a cheap way to boost performance on the old systems would be a reasonably priced SSD no?

Yes, I suppose it would. The older iMacs take 3.5 inch hard drives I would imagine.

DoFoT9
Nov 4, 2010, 02:10 AM
Yes, I suppose it would. The older iMacs take 3.5 inch hard drives I would imagine.

correct, however size doesnt matter :D

mrsir2009
Nov 4, 2010, 12:22 PM
correct, however size doesnt matter :D

True, you can get an enclousure or something to fit a 2.5 inch HD into a 3.5 bay.

4JNA
Nov 4, 2010, 05:48 PM
...speed isn't a huge deal since I just browse the web/email/iTunes anyway. Thoughts?

i had a 17" 1.6 g5 that i donated to my brother-in-law and family. it was fixed under the recall (new logic board/power supply), after which i replaced the hard drive with a 500gb 7200rpm drive, added 2gb of ram, and loaded 10.5.0 before giving it away.

it has been used every day since late 2006, it has never had a problem, it is running 10.5.x (current) and is used as a family machine for everything from email/internet, to word/iLife apps, quicken, and also kids playing flash games. it's not fast, but it is stable and reliable and awesome.

i would think that your system would do even better and last for several years.

best of luck.

raysfan81
Nov 4, 2010, 07:58 PM
Nah its not, its one of those 12" white later models, made in 2001. Its a pretty decent computer for everyday use actually :)

BTW: If you like Classic Macs, you should join Classic Mac, which is a starting up forum about older Macs ;-) www.classicmacforum.com

I'm a member there as well. :) Its pretty cool. We should try to get it more exposure.

But back to the topic, if you could get an iMac G5 for cheap I say go for it as long as you get a chance to inspect it for defects beforehand.

sikkinixx
Nov 5, 2010, 12:41 AM
Well I think I am gonna go for it.

Basically the deal is my grandfather has my uncle's old G5 and it's been acting up on him (sounds like hard drive issue) and my uncle has been trying to find him a new Mac. He asked if I want to part with my 2.26ghz Mac Mini in exchange for some cash and the G5. I want the new Air anyway and my girlfriend has a nice new 21" iMac and I have a gaming PC and an iPad and iPhone and blah blah so I figured if the iMac can serve as an 'always-on' mac for my Apple TV etc then I might as well help out granddad out since I am kind of surrounded with computers :p Plus it gives me an excuse to buy the laptop and a nice new Dell monitor...

sikkinixx
Nov 12, 2010, 02:17 AM
So I did the deed today. Got the old beast at home now. Grandpa is happy with the mini (even though Migration Assistant was a nightmare...). Just formatted the G5 and got a fresh install of Leopard on here. A bit disappointed, its the first gen iMac G5 so no wifi, no gigabit ethernet... oh well.

My pressing concern though is the noise. WOW is it noisy. I fired up istatpro and its showing that my CPU fan is rev'ing at a ripping 4800 rpm on idle with 60 degrees.... I dont know if that is normal, I remember the G5's being hot running but the fan shouldn't be going so hard. Is there an SMC fan control like program for the PPC?

MacHamster68
Nov 12, 2010, 03:04 AM
if its the first generation iMac g5 , turn it on its screen (something soft please underneath , then turn the 3 screws at the bottom , and lift on the stand so the back comes off and you can see the internals , if it still has the original black with a golden stripe and a x on the top capacitors from nichicon
http://lh6.ggpht.com/_aGOA7XlvHs4/Sr_WmVFBeaI/AAAAAAAAAFE/YekWkcpCP_8/CapacitorsNichiconAppleiMac1465.png?imgmax=800

do yourself a favor and get them replaced sooner rather then later as they are the main course of all problems related to anything in the iMac G5, especially the ones close to the heatsink of the processor are known to bulge and leak , so are the ones for the graphics and the ones in the powersupply

rtrt
Nov 13, 2010, 12:53 PM
So I did the deed today. Got the old beast at home now. Grandpa is happy with the mini (even though Migration Assistant was a nightmare...). Just formatted the G5 and got a fresh install of Leopard on here. A bit disappointed, its the first gen iMac G5 so no wifi, no gigabit ethernet... oh well.

My pressing concern though is the noise. WOW is it noisy. I fired up istatpro and its showing that my CPU fan is rev'ing at a ripping 4800 rpm on idle with 60 degrees.... I dont know if that is normal, I remember the G5's being hot running but the fan shouldn't be going so hard. Is there an SMC fan control like program for the PPC?

have a feeling that 4800 could be the max speed - suggesting some kind of sensor problem maybe.

i dont think 60c is that high - iirc mine sat at 70 or so when it was doing something useful.

cant check sorry - its in pieces on the other side of the room at the minute.

re the caps thing - jim warholic has a good site if a little disorganised. i used his psu kit and it did the job for me. suspect the mobo soldering would be a little more difficult.

sikkinixx
Nov 14, 2010, 12:09 AM
Thanks for the replies.

The mobo was replaced on warranty a few years ago as it was effected by those bad capacitors. I don't feel like going through a soldering exercise so if they go again then it goes in the dumpster (well recycled...)

I opened it up (and broke a little plastic clip in the process... oops) and gave it a good clean. That has helped a bit. The dust inside the CPU area was pretty heavy. It's the lower CPU fan that is making all the noise. It's okay when I am not going anything heavy (like typing this up) and ClicktoFlash has helped keep surfing mostly quiet. One Flash vid and it goes REALLY loud though, I guess as the CPU is being used a bit more heavily.

I tried to get it out as per the Apple PDF but it didn't work so well, the little metal bar lifts up, but after that I can't wiggle it out... Very annoying. I wanted to get the part number off of it and buy one from eBay (they seem to run ~$20 on there).

I'm happily surprised at how well this old beast handles everyday tasks. Even using iTunes isn't too bad. I wish the screen was as bright as my gf's new iMac but hey, this dude is almost 6 years old so I can't expect the world.