PDA

View Full Version : How many 13" MBA Users w/ 2gigs?




ndriver182
Nov 2, 2010, 08:24 PM
Any feedback from those who stuck with the base 2 gigs of RAM in the 13" model? Satisfaction? Buyer's remorse?

I'm not fully convinced I need 4 gigs.



runnin17
Nov 2, 2010, 08:28 PM
A quick phrase that should solve all your problems.....

IT'S SOLDERED TO THE MOTHERBOARD!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Fork out the extra cash and then you won't have to ever regret not getting that extra ram. The 4GB ram is the one thing they should have made standard, IMO.

ndriver182
Nov 2, 2010, 08:32 PM
A quick phrase that should solve all your problems.....

IT'S SOLDERED TO THE MOTHERBOARD!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Fork out the extra cash and then you won't have to ever regret not getting that extra ram. The 4GB ram is the one thing they should have made standard, IMO.

Yes, I'm fully aware of the issue.

nearpass
Nov 2, 2010, 08:39 PM
Got the base 13", 2 gig, 128 model...no problems here. This is a secondary computer, so I did a software reinstall, I've just installed a bit of my iTunes library...don't need it all on here, only installed iPhoto with some important pics...don't need GarageBand, iWeb, iMovie, etc. on here.

It probably depends what you want to do. I just needed more continuity of apps than the iPad has offered, but don't intend this to be my primary computer, rather to give me the opportunity to work on what's needed on-the-go.

I'm really pleased. It's very fast, have had no problems at all.

Your mileage may vary depending on what you need and expect. ;)

teerexx52
Nov 2, 2010, 08:41 PM
Any feedback from those who stuck with the base 2 gigs of RAM in the 13" model? Satisfaction? Buyer's remorse?

I'm not fully convinced I need 4 gigs.

I have one here with me now, Been using it the past few days along with a maxed out 11.6. I tired to choke the machine by processing video in Aperture and opening all other programs I had. It did not skip a beat which is purely amazing. So, one can draw their own conclusions.

wirelessmacuser
Nov 2, 2010, 08:44 PM
_NOT_

I'm writing this on my Very Quick 13" ~ 4GB ~ 2010 MBA

Because I plan on keeping mine at least 18 months...

Max Ram is how I order all my Mac Laptops :)

runnin17
Nov 2, 2010, 09:31 PM
Yes, I'm fully aware of the issue.

Then why even ask the question. You are spending at least $1300 on a laptop and you are fretting about an extra $100 that will likely extend the usable life of your laptop 6-12 months.

Seems like a no-brainer to me. But who knows, maybe you like making short-sided decisions...:rolleyes:

ndriver182
Nov 2, 2010, 09:39 PM
Then why even ask the question. You are spending at least $1300 on a laptop and you are fretting about an extra $100 that will likely extend the usable life of your laptop 6-12 months.

Seems like a no-brainer to me. But who knows, maybe you like making short-sided decisions...:rolleyes:

I'm in California where we have to pay something called sales tax if I buy CTO from Apple. This means a $100 RAM upgrade would cost me ~$1515.00 vs buying a stock system from somewhere like Amazon for ~$1300. Seems to me a 15% savings is something worth considering.

runnin17
Nov 2, 2010, 09:45 PM
I'm in California where we have to pay something called sales tax if I buy CTO from Apple. This means a $100 RAM upgrade would cost me ~$1515.00 vs buying a stock system from somewhere like Amazon for ~$1300. Seems to me a 15% savings is something worth considering.

Not really. You can get a CTO machine from Amazon, macmall or onSale and not have to pay tax. Seems like your argument is a bit moot at this point. 15% savings at the cost of your laptop being obsolete for you 6-12 months sooner is just stupid.

Buy as much laptop as you can afford and then don't worry about it. People always fret over their purchases. If you don't have the money, then don't spend it. If you have the money and you have a legitimate need for the ram upgrade, then spend the money and stop whining about tax.

PS: Also, you being in California doesn't mean crap. Everyone who buys from Apple and lives in a state with sales tax has to pay sales tax. I had to pay it for my MBA. I could have waited for macmall or amazon to get one in stock and not pay the tax, but waiting a month just wasn't something I wanted to do.

Maven1975
Nov 3, 2010, 01:37 AM
I'm in California where we have to pay something called sales tax if I buy CTO from Apple. This means a $100 RAM upgrade would cost me ~$1515.00 vs buying a stock system from somewhere like Amazon for ~$1300. Seems to me a 15% savings is something worth considering.

The state needs the revenue.

Sophistry
Nov 3, 2010, 01:43 AM
Not really. You can get a CTO machine from Amazon, macmall or onSale and not have to pay tax. Seems like your argument is a bit moot at this point. 15% savings at the cost of your laptop being obsolete for you 6-12 months sooner is just stupid.

Buy as much laptop as you can afford and then don't worry about it. People always fret over their purchases. If you don't have the money, then don't spend it. If you have the money and you have a legitimate need for the ram upgrade, then spend the money and stop whining about tax.

PS: Also, you being in California doesn't mean crap. Everyone who buys from Apple and lives in a state with sales tax has to pay sales tax. I had to pay it for my MBA. I could have waited for macmall or amazon to get one in stock and not pay the tax, but waiting a month just wasn't something I wanted to do.

There are several issues with your reply. First, please show us where on Amazon's site you can currently order any of the new MBA configurations with 4GB of RAM -- and by that, I mean items that are actually available for sale and not listed as "unavailable" (with no indication of when/if stock will be resupplied) or backordered.

Second, being in California does matter. You mention both MacMall and OnSale as buying options. Did you know that the latter is a subsidiary of the former? And, furthermore, that MacMall (which is, itself, a subsidiary of PCMall) is based in Southern California, which means that sales tax of almost 10% will be applied. This makes buying from MacMall/OnSale no different than buying from the Apple Store, except that with the latter you have less hassle with respect to exchanges or returns if something is wrong.

So, again, you provide Amazon as an option, but there aren't any 4GB config's available at the moment -- there were a few days ago, but the seller was not Amazon but, coincidentally, OnSale, which would assess tax on the purchase. And you also suggest MacMall and OnSale which also assess sales tax, contrary to what the OP was inquiring about.

I believe the OP's concern is valid. As a CA resident, opting for a base 2GB model of the 11" MBA, as in my case, costs quite a bit less than configuring one through Apple, MacMall, or OnSale. I should mention that there are two other options that don't assess tax for CA residents: MacConnection and Small Dog.

vraxtus
Nov 3, 2010, 01:53 AM
Stock 13" here and no problems. This is my secondary computer though so my needs on it aren't as great.

Bear in mind this whole useable life thing is frankly a bandwagon appeal. RAM is entirely for multitasking multiple applications - if you don't use many applications at once, or applications that are going to manipulate large files, it frankly doesn't really matter.

Mike225
Nov 3, 2010, 01:57 AM
_NOT_

I'm writing this on my Very Quick 13" ~ 4GB ~ 2010 MBA

Because I plan on keeping mine at least 18 months...

Max Ram is how I order all my Mac Laptops :)

18 months? Is that a long time? LOL

nfl46
Nov 3, 2010, 02:05 AM
Stock here...and this is my primary computer. I use it for everything. I'm switching to the new MBPs when they are released in a few months though. I should have just stuck with the 11" in the mean time.

jeffg819
Nov 3, 2010, 06:56 AM
I had the 13" with 2gigs and just could not let it be... Returned for a 4 gig model. I'm really thinking my MBA will last for a while...

teerexx52
Nov 3, 2010, 07:11 AM
I had the 13" with 2gigs and just could not let it be... Returned for a 4 gig model. I'm really thinking my MBA will last for a while...

Yeah, do I understand that. I just can't seem to let it be either. My wife says why would you want 4gb if it runs fine without? I say to "future proof". She says you never keep a computer longer than the next refresh. So......I have no valid argument to present her with:)

jeffg819
Nov 3, 2010, 07:36 AM
My wife is kind of a geek, too. She's the one that said "get it and be done!". Man, I love that woman!!!

teerexx52
Nov 3, 2010, 08:10 AM
My wife is kind of a geek, too. She's the one that said "get it and be done!". Man, I love that woman!!!

Agreed! Isn't it sweet?

Spacekatgal
Nov 3, 2010, 09:16 AM
I asked a friend of mine why he didn't wait to BTO 4 gigs in his 11 inch, and he gave me a quite honest answer. "Because I'm insane and it would have required me to wait a few days."

It sucked waiting more than a week to get my BTO 13, but I'm really glad that I did. It's your machine and choice, but I think for the kind of user that's going to visit the MacRumors forums - we have more information than most of the people that wander into the Apple Store. I think there's no excuse for not being patient, in my personal opinion.

mac jones
Nov 3, 2010, 10:32 AM
I owned the rev A, then the rev B. I never thought that I needed more ram.

But i'll tell you one thing.

I thought I needed a better hard drive :D

vistokid
Nov 3, 2010, 10:37 AM
I've got the base 13" and it's haven't had an issue at all.

I came from a 13" MBP with 4GB and the new MBA is faster on all fronts.

cheapa55
Nov 3, 2010, 11:04 AM
There are several issues with your reply. ...

I believe the OP's concern is valid. As a CA resident, opting for a base 2GB model of the 11" MBA, as in my case, costs quite a bit less than configuring one through Apple, MacMall, or OnSale. I should mention that there are two other options that don't assess tax for CA residents: MacConnection and Small Dog.

Great reply. I'm on the same boat as OP. I purchased a 11" 2GB RAM and I'm very happy with it since it's my 2nd machine. I need a 13" MBA for my wife and I'm not sure she would even need a 4GB machine. Currently, I'm looking to purchase from MacConnection since I also live in CA.

Anyone with the 13" 1.86 2GB ram use iMovie? that's the most "intensive" app that my wife will use, I wonder if 2GB will be enough for that.

HLdan
Nov 3, 2010, 11:33 AM
Great reply. I'm on the same boat as OP. I purchased a 11" 2GB RAM and I'm very happy with it since it's my 2nd machine. I need a 13" MBA for my wife and I'm not sure she would even need a 4GB machine. Currently, I'm looking to purchase from MacConnection since I also live in CA.

Anyone with the 13" 1.86 2GB ram use iMovie? that's the most "intensive" app that my wife will use, I wonder if 2GB will be enough for that.

What people are forgetting is that the built-in ram is not all yours to use. There's a large amount that used to run the system which is called "Wired".

teerexx52
Nov 3, 2010, 11:37 AM
What people are forgetting is that the built-in ram is not all yours to use. There's a large amount that used to run the system which is called "Wired".

I have used Aperture and iMovie processing video and opening as many apps as I can while I do it. The machine does not hiccup at all. This is a 1.86 13" Stock new model

Kajover
Nov 3, 2010, 11:42 AM
My wife is kind of a geek, too. She's the one that said "get it and be done!". Man, I love that woman!!!
Agreed! Isn't it sweet?

A little bit off-topic... I am jealous where did you find a woman like that?! attractive and geeky - a dream come true :rolleyes:

4GB 11" here. did not want it to swap the files between ram and ssd causing additional write accesses and it was about 100€ more expensive (with tax)

teerexx52
Nov 3, 2010, 11:44 AM
A little bit off-topic... I am jealous where did you find a woman like that?! attractive and geeky - a dream come true :rolleyes:

4GB 11" here. did not want it to swap the files between ram and ssd causing additional write accesses and it was about 100€ more expensive (with tax)

Well many years ago when I was a younger man (much) I dropped an Apple on her head. For some reason she appreciated that and we went from there. Now 35 years later all is SUPER!!!! She is more of an Apple Fan Boy than me:)

jamesschmidtke
Nov 3, 2010, 12:00 PM
there are several issues with your reply. First, please show us where on amazon's site you can currently order any of the new mba configurations with 4gb of ram -- and by that, i mean items that are actually available for sale and not listed as "unavailable" (with no indication of when/if stock will be resupplied) or backordered.

Second, being in california does matter. You mention both macmall and onsale as buying options. Did you know that the latter is a subsidiary of the former? And, furthermore, that macmall (which is, itself, a subsidiary of pcmall) is based in southern california, which means that sales tax of almost 10% will be applied. This makes buying from macmall/onsale no different than buying from the apple store, except that with the latter you have less hassle with respect to exchanges or returns if something is wrong.

So, again, you provide amazon as an option, but there aren't any 4gb config's available at the moment -- there were a few days ago, but the seller was not amazon but, coincidentally, onsale, which would assess tax on the purchase. And you also suggest macmall and onsale which also assess sales tax, contrary to what the op was inquiring about.

I believe the op's concern is valid. As a ca resident, opting for a base 2gb model of the 11" mba, as in my case, costs quite a bit less than configuring one through apple, macmall, or onsale. I should mention that there are two other options that don't assess tax for ca residents: Macconnection and small dog.
+ 100

Toonbay
Nov 3, 2010, 12:17 PM
i got he 13 inch 2gb 256 SSD and its running like a draem as second machine, also have 27 inch imac.
The MBA runs AutoCAD 2011 for mac and ArchiCAD 14 very well, really pleased with it so far

ndriver182
Nov 3, 2010, 12:23 PM
Well, my older '09 (yeah, real old) 13" 2.26 ghz MBP sold on eBay last night for a fair amount so I ended up just going with a base 13" off Amazon. I have an i7 27" iMac so I'm not TOO worried about heavy computing on the notebook.

I guess I'll find out more in a couple days when it shows up. When I played with one in the Apple Store for 30-45 minutes it seemed to have no real issues with about 10 apps running at once, but I obviously didn't have that much time with it. So, although mine is on order, anybody with feedback on their experiences in the meantime would still be great.

jetjaguar
Nov 3, 2010, 03:28 PM
i have a 27inch i7 imac and i was really confused on what air to buy .. i ended up buying the base 13 because all i do is write papers and browse the net at school .. im having a really hard time in my head settling with 2gb of ram .. im still in my 14 days but i have had no issues at all with it .. wondering if i should return it and get the 4gb one .. i can never make up my mind ..

i really love the form factor of this machine and i want it to last .. i guess if i decide that i really love this .. i can sell it down the road when lion comes out and buy a newer faster one ?

teerexx52
Nov 3, 2010, 03:33 PM
i have a 27inch i7 imac and i was really confused on what air to buy .. i ended up buying the base 13 because all i do is write papers and browse the net at school .. im having a really hard time in my head settling with 2gb of ram .. im still in my 14 days but i have had no issues at all with it .. wondering if i should return it and get the 4gb one .. i can never make up my mind ..

i really love the form factor of this machine and i want it to last .. i guess if i decide that i really love this .. i can sell it down the road when lion comes out and buy a newer faster one ?

If you read my posts above I see nothing wrong with the 2gb

Perdification
Nov 3, 2010, 09:02 PM
What is the expected lifespan of a 2GB MBA as compared to a 4GB one, before it becomes too slow to use?

Apollo73
Nov 4, 2010, 12:45 PM
What is the expected lifespan of a 2GB MBA as compared to a 4GB one, before it becomes too slow to use?

You guys are so funny. Look, unless you find 2GB to be too slow for you now, because you leave lots of programs open, I highly doubt you will find 2GB to be too little for you a few years down the road.

TheAllStar
Nov 4, 2010, 12:55 PM
There are a lot of users who have 2GB and haven't had a problem... although keep in mind that Lion may need more RAM to breathe easy when we get it next summer.

wirelessmacuser
Nov 4, 2010, 01:40 PM
There are a lot of users who have 2GB and haven't had a problem... although keep in mind that Lion may need more RAM to breathe easy when we get it next summer.
I agree.

2GB is sufficient for lots of tasks, as well as running the computer just fine for the _present_moment_.

Despite all the arguments, and defensive stances to justify why one doesn't need more than 2GB... there are two major points of contention:

1) The ram is NOT User Upgradeable.

2) 2GB is not much ram if you find out that you are enjoying it and want to use if for more tasks than you anticipated. As a netbook type machine, it's gonna be fine with 2GB for a long time.

But as a _computer_ anyone with more than just a year of computer experience knows that as time goes by, more resources are needed. Ram, especially.

These are the reasons I waited patiently, and now have a 4GB 13" MBA. I have the peace of mind of knowing I'm set for whatever I want to do within reason.

Cheers... :)

PBG4 Dude
Nov 4, 2010, 01:54 PM
My last few Macs (PBG4, iMac G5, MacBook, MBP) have had 2GB RAM so I figured it won't be an issue for me on my MBA.

TheAllStar
Nov 4, 2010, 02:02 PM
My last few Macs (PBG4, iMac G5, MacBook, MBP) have had 2GB RAM so I figured it won't be an issue for me on my MBA.

Keep in mind, though...

2GB is sufficient for lots of tasks, as well as running the computer just fine for the _present_moment_.

Depending on how long you plan to hold on to your computer, 2GB will quickly become as inefficient as 1GB is now (for the majority of users and their needs). And again, the key words are NON-UPGRADABLE. I'd have no qualms buying a 2GB MacBook, since I know I can upgrade whenever I need. The soldered RAM is a different story.

PBG4 Dude
Nov 4, 2010, 02:16 PM
I've been running 2GB RAM since 2004 so it's still a good amount of RAM for me and my use cases. :) I understand people may need 4GB (or more) RAM for their purposes but I don't. Definitely not trying to tell people not to upgrade if they want, just saying I'm OK with 2GB RAM and I've been working under that ceiling for many moons now. :)

netdog
Nov 4, 2010, 02:19 PM
4GB here, but agree that 2GB is fine for most. I even suspect that it will be okay for Lion.

robeddie
Nov 4, 2010, 02:36 PM
Great reply. I'm on the same boat as OP. I purchased a 11" 2GB RAM and I'm very happy with it since it's my 2nd machine. I need a 13" MBA for my wife and I'm not sure she would even need a 4GB machine. Currently, I'm looking to purchase from MacConnection since I also live in CA.

Anyone with the 13" 1.86 2GB ram use iMovie? that's the most "intensive" app that my wife will use, I wonder if 2GB will be enough for that.

Not a problem.

I've got an 11.6 inch 1.4ghz Air with 2 gigs. Ive done some editng in full hi def (1080i) using final cut pro, and it handled it just fine.