PDA

View Full Version : Microsoft Office 2011 for Mac




loh123
Nov 4, 2010, 07:07 AM
Hi guys,

I recently bought the microsoft office for my Macbook pro...but I just got a new MBA and did the migration assistant thingy. Now the microsoft office on the MBA does not work...

Is there a way to solve this? There seems to be no uninstall option for the Office 2011...

Advice plz

Ty



KPOM
Nov 4, 2010, 07:46 AM
I'd suggest installing Office 2011 directly on the MacBook Air. Use the DVD sharing feature so you can use the MB Pro's DVD drive if necessary. You'll also need to reactivate Office 2011 on the new Mac.

loh123
Nov 4, 2010, 10:14 AM
I thought Mac office have 3 licenses?

If i install it again, would I have wasted one?

KPOM
Nov 4, 2010, 10:20 AM
I thought Mac office have 3 licenses?

If i install it again, would I have wasted one?

Technically, no. If you try to activate it more than 3 times, then you might be prompted by Microsoft to call and use the phone activation system. It will usually ask a few questions (such as have you purchased a new computer to replace an old one) just to verify that you are not trying to install it on "too many" Macs and then let you proceed to activation.

re2st
Nov 4, 2010, 01:12 PM
With older Office (i.e. 2008), you can use the same license on several machines, but you cannot run them all at the same time. Especially when you connect to the same network, it will tell you that other user is using the same license.

KPOM
Nov 4, 2010, 01:30 PM
With older Office (i.e. 2008), you can use the same license on several machines, but you cannot run them all at the same time. Especially when you connect to the same network, it will tell you that other user is using the same license.

That's changed with Office 2011. It is now more like activation for Windows or Office for Windows. You need to activate each installation, and there's a limit as to the number of activations allowed. Once you exceed the limit, you get kicked to Microsoft's phone activation system, which asks questions to make sure you aren't installing it on too many systems.

re2st
Nov 4, 2010, 01:40 PM
That's changed with Office 2011. It is now more like activation for Windows or Office for Windows. You need to activate each installation, and there's a limit as to the number of activations allowed. Once you exceed the limit, you get kicked to Microsoft's phone activation system, which asks questions to make sure you aren't installing it on too many systems.

That sucks. I also just found out that the new 2011 Outlook doesn't work with Exchange Server 2003. 2007 only.. If your work hasn't upgraded to 2007 yet, you're stuck with Entourage.

Westyfield2
Nov 4, 2010, 01:47 PM
With older Office (i.e. 2008), you can use the same license on several machines, but you cannot run them all at the same time. Especially when you connect to the same network, it will tell you that other user is using the same license.

Wish they'd kept it with 2011!

Floating licenses just makes soo much more sense. Why would you need two licenses for a product on your laptop and desktop? You're only going to be using one at a time!

Le Big Mac
Nov 4, 2010, 01:52 PM
Wish they'd kept it with 2011!

Floating licenses just makes soo much more sense. Why would you need two licenses for a product on your laptop and desktop? You're only going to be using one at a time!

True, but from their perspective you might have your laptop off your home network, meaning you're using one copy and your wife is using the other on the desktop. Or you just don't have a home network so they couldn't verify this way.

I'm not saying I like the new approach, but I understand it.

KPOM
Nov 4, 2010, 01:59 PM
True, but from their perspective you might have your laptop off your home network, meaning you're using one copy and your wife is using the other on the desktop. Or you just don't have a home network so they couldn't verify this way.

I'm not saying I like the new approach, but I understand it.

Remember, at least as far as the Business version is concerned, Microsoft lowered the price of Office considerably. It's now $200 or $280 for a two machine license (the second limited to a portable owned by the primary user), vs $400 for Office 2008.

re2st
Nov 4, 2010, 02:07 PM
They usually have big Black Friday deals for Office Mac. Hopefully they'll have the same this year.

deeddawg
Nov 4, 2010, 02:23 PM
They usually have big Black Friday deals for Office Mac. Hopefully they'll have the same this year.

There's also the Academic Edition of Office Mac 2011 -- appears to be different from the Student/Teacher version in that it includes Outlook.

It's ~$90 from Provantage or $100 direct from Microsoft via theultimatesteal.com (http://www.microsoft.com/student/office/en-us/default.aspx). Look at the "Other Student Deals" part at the lower-right part of the page.

Westyfield2
Nov 4, 2010, 02:31 PM
There's also the Academic Edition of Office Mac 2011 -- appears to be different from the Student/Teacher version in that it includes Outlook.

It's ~$90 from Provantage or $100 direct from Microsoft via theultimatesteal.com (http://www.microsoft.com/student/office/en-us/default.aspx). Look at the "Other Student Deals" part at the lower-right part of the page.

You sir have just saved me a good bit of cash! Thanks! :D

I was about to buy Home/Business as I want Outlook, but yeah as you say Academic is better than the normal Home/Student.

http://www.microsoft.com/presspass/press/2010/aug10/08-02msmacofficepr.mspx has the details of what's in each.

deeddawg
Nov 4, 2010, 07:30 PM
You sir have just saved me a good bit of cash! Thanks! :D

Glad to help!

Malbase
Jan 4, 2011, 03:06 PM
I read blogs written by Microsoft Staff on how to solve crashes.
Change the User in the Computer.
Go to the Safety Mode, (where Office 2011 does work).
I solved the problem as Word, and Excel would not Open.
I matched my desktop computer Font Book to my Laptop's Font Book.
Then I eliminated font by font which my Laptop did not have.
I cut the Fonts in my Desktop to just over 200+.
Then I clicked on Word 2011 and it opened with no problems.
It appears that the crash messages indicated Font problems.