Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

acoustic42

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Nov 7, 2010
First time poster in on MacRumors.

I'm switching over to a MBP in a couple weeks after being a lifetime user of a Windows-based computer. I am an engineer and for the foreseeable future will be using a Windows-based computer, namely the Microsoft Office Suite.

This might be a lame, but one of my biggest concerns is the transitioning process that I would have to go through to learn the new Mac Excel 2011. I know exactly where everything is the Windows version, but spent more time than I thought I would have to when I went to visit the Apple Store and played around with Mac's version of Excel. The Microsoft-Apple designers definitely didn't have strict limitations on making the two versions to be close copies, in terms of table structures.

In theory, I would like to use Window's Office 2010 on my new MBP instead of Mac Office 2011. However, I'm interested in hearing advice on why this might be a good or bad idea. Is there anybody else that chooses to do this, or are there gains by using Mac's Office software exclusively that I haven't considered?

Appreciate the input, and apologize if this discussion has already been made. I couldn't find anything similar in doing research on this website, and wasn't familiar enough with the forums to use all the available search tools.

Last edited:

MacDawg

Moderator emeritus
Mar 20, 2004
"Between the Hedges"
If strict compatability in a business environment is an issue, then using the Windows version is usually preferred

When it comes to Excel, I haven't used 2011 enough to know the differences, but I do know in the past, Excel on the Mac had a lot of challenges in comparison to the Windows version

Your experience with Parallels or Fusion would be good using the Office products
Gaming is where the issues are

acoustic42

macrumors newbie
Original poster