PDA

View Full Version : Has anybody had any bad experiences with the 11 inch macbook air?




macnerd123
Nov 7, 2010, 06:21 PM
besides the screen issues...:)



goodtimes5
Nov 7, 2010, 06:43 PM
When I bring it out for the first time, everyone goes O_O and asks to see it.

kp98077
Nov 7, 2010, 06:44 PM
NOPE! My only regret is i have the 4 g ram model and donesnt seem faster than the 2 , oh well, what screen issue? It really is not an issue like anything in life you'll get used to it.

acemics
Nov 7, 2010, 07:01 PM
I have the 11.6 64GB 4GB and no real issues at all. I use it mostly for Internet research, email, bill paying and working on my novel using Scrivener. I have not seen an instance where I have used more then half the available memory. I love the portability and how quick it comes to life when opening the lid to work. I am very pleased.

macnerd123
Nov 7, 2010, 07:04 PM
NOPE! My only regret is i have the 4 g ram model and donesnt seem faster than the 2 , oh well, what screen issue? It really is not an issue like anything in life you'll get used to it.

The issue where the screen goes black on wake up and the vertical multi-colored lines. I don't mean that the screen is smaller. I agree, that is not an issue.

einmusiker
Nov 7, 2010, 07:10 PM
besides the screen issues...:)

I have no screen issues, battery life isnt as good as I'd hoped but not a deal breaker. Otherwise it's everything I wanted and more

NOPE! My only regret is i have the 4 g ram model and donesnt seem faster than the 2 , oh well, what screen issue? It really is not an issue like anything in life you'll get used to it.

ram doesnt make your laptop faster. It's designed to not be noticed. It only helps prevent it from slowing down when you are power using cpu intense apps and multiple app tasking

MRidge
Nov 7, 2010, 07:22 PM
No issues with mine yet, except that I can't keep this machine out of my hands!! :)

1BadMac
Nov 7, 2010, 07:26 PM
ram doesnt make your laptop faster. It's designed to not be noticed. It only helps prevent it from slowing down when you are power using cpu intense apps and multiple app tasking

That is not an entirely accurate statement. RAM does come into play when multiple applications are opened, but performance degradation would only come into play if and when the amount of RAM requested exceeds that available and the system has to page out inactive items to slower disk space. It has little if anything to do with "power using CPU". You can have a very intensive CPU application and it can use little if any RAM.

At any rate, for what the 11" is designed for, you probably can't go wrong with 2GB, unless you blatantly try to use it for something that you wouldn't use on a larger machine with the same specs (i.e Photoshop, video editing, etc)

macnerd123
Nov 7, 2010, 07:39 PM
Do you think I should get the 1.4 GHz model with 128GB flash storage and 4GB of memory? I will use word processing, internet, itunes, ichat, and rarely iLife.:apple:

T4R06
Nov 7, 2010, 08:10 PM
Do you think I should get the 1.4 GHz model with 128GB flash storage and 4GB of memory? I will use word processing, internet, itunes, ichat, and rarely iLife.:apple:

1.4 is enough.. go with the 128gb like i did :apple::);)

do the unboxing at apple store if you are buying in-store then check for the creak sound by pressing the (black plastic)

silverblack
Nov 7, 2010, 08:11 PM
Do you think I should get the 1.4 GHz model with 128GB flash storage and 4GB of memory? I will use word processing, internet, itunes, ichat, and rarely iLife.:apple:

For the apps you described, you'll be fine with the 1.4/2GB model. Whether or not you need the 64 vs. 128 GB FS will depend on how much media files you plan to keep on your MBA. I have large 1080p mkv files on my MBA, and so I need the 128GB FS. Otherwise, 64GB would have been sufficient.

ReallyBigFeet
Nov 7, 2010, 08:18 PM
No issues with the machine itself, but their owners are a cranky lot.

macnerd123
Nov 7, 2010, 08:20 PM
For the apps you described, you'll be fine with the 1.4/2GB model. Whether or not you need the 64 vs. 128 GB FS will depend on how much media files you plan to keep on your MBA. I have large 1080p mkv files on my MBA, and so I need the 128GB FS. Otherwise, 64GB would have been sufficient.

Does it run 1080p videos smoothly?

silverblack
Nov 7, 2010, 08:26 PM
Does it run 1080p videos smoothly?

Yes, but you'll need FLEX (not VLC), regardless of the amount of RAM that you have.

macnerd123
Nov 7, 2010, 08:30 PM
1.4 is enough.. go with the 128gb like i did :apple::);)

do the unboxing at apple store if you are buying in-store then check for the creak sound by pressing the (black plastic)

Do you think I could use it as my primary computer. To replace my late 2007 macbook

silverblack
Nov 7, 2010, 08:34 PM
Do you think I could use it as my primary computer. To replace my late 2007 macbook

You should find your answer here -
http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=1039985
http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=1039985

einmusiker
Nov 7, 2010, 08:35 PM
Do you think I could use it as my primary computer. To replace my late 2007 macbook

it's MUCH more powerful than your macbook

macnerd123
Nov 7, 2010, 08:51 PM
Let me ask this. Would it be worth it to spend 200 dollars extra for the 13 inch model with 4GB just to get the 1.86 GHz processor. I don't care about the screen sizes and besides that the RAM would be the same. Is there a difference between the 1.4 GHz processor and 1.86 GHz? :confused:

aleni
Nov 7, 2010, 09:00 PM
well, i use the base 11" but upgraded the ram to 4GB.

one thing i can say is it's silent, it's even cold like the iPad, and much much better than my old rev B 1.86ghz with 128GB SSD.

the rev B i got still has some keneltask issue where this new 11" is dead silent.

T4R06
Nov 7, 2010, 09:02 PM
Let me ask this. Would it be worth it to spend 200 dollars extra for the 13 inch model with 4GB just to get the 1.86 GHz processor. I don't care about the screen sizes and besides that the RAM would be the same. Is there a difference between the 1.4 GHz processor and 1.86 GHz? :confused:

if you are going to use this as your primary go with 13" if secondary just buy the 11"

wkw
Nov 7, 2010, 09:03 PM
I had a bad experience. I went and looked at one at best buy. I felt bad that I couldn't buy one

macnerd123
Nov 7, 2010, 09:22 PM
well, i use the base 11" but upgraded the ram to 4GB.

one thing i can say is it's silent, it's even cold like the iPad, and much much better than my old rev B 1.86ghz with 128GB SSD.

the rev B i got still has some keneltask issue where this new 11" is dead silent.

as a primary computer?:confused:

Over Achiever
Nov 7, 2010, 09:26 PM
I've had no issues with it so far, and I'm using it as my primary computer with no regrets. I did have to go out and buy an SD card reader =/ No problems with the screen size or processor. I don't demand too much from my computers.

macnerd123
Nov 7, 2010, 09:26 PM
if you are going to use this as your primary go with 13" if secondary just buy the 11"

Why do you say this? If it is the screen size, that does not matter to me. I am young and have fine eyes:eek:

Tomple
Nov 7, 2010, 09:28 PM
So far so good

macnerd123
Nov 7, 2010, 09:29 PM
So far so good

which one do you have....Specs?

acron1
Nov 7, 2010, 09:55 PM
No problems at all so far...

Tomple
Nov 7, 2010, 09:58 PM
which one do you have....Specs?

11.6" maxed out

1.6GHz 4GB Ram 128 SSD

Flawless

macnerd123
Nov 7, 2010, 10:04 PM
11.6" maxed out

1.6GHz 4GB Ram 128 SSD

Flawless

For the same price you could have gotten a larger screen, an SD card slot and a faster processor. What made you choose the maxed out 11 inch instead.

Tomple
Nov 7, 2010, 10:08 PM
For the same price you could have gotten a larger screen, an SD card slot and a faster processor. What made you choose the maxed out 11 inch instead.

Its a second computer and i wanted the portability of the 11 over the 13

it was my birthday so i maxed it out :p

macnerd123
Nov 7, 2010, 10:11 PM
Its a second computer and i wanted the portability of the 11 over the 13

it was my birthday so i maxed it out :p

Ahh..makes sense. Would you say it would be a useful primary computer for word processing, iChat, Safari, and iTunes, and rarely iLife. On average running no more than 3 apps at once.


AND HAPPY BIRTHDAY

Tomple
Nov 7, 2010, 10:14 PM
Ahh..makes sense. Would you say it would be a useful primary computer for word processing, iChat, Safari, and iTunes, and rarely iLife. On average running no more than 3 apps at once.

Absolutly

I have run Pages, Acorn, Alfred, Notify, Dropbox, Cloud, iTunes, and Chrome with no lag at all

the machine continues to amaze me and i highly recomend it, even as a primary computer.

EDIT

Thanks for the birthday wishes! :D

macnerd123
Nov 7, 2010, 10:19 PM
Absolutly

I have run Pages, Acorn, Alfred, Notify, Dropbox, Cloud, iTunes, and Chrome with no lag at all

the machine continues to amaze me and i highly recomend it, even as a primary computer.

EDIT

Thanks for the birthday wishes! :D


Thank you very much...very useful info.

Tomple
Nov 7, 2010, 10:21 PM
Good luck with your decision! :)

bcaslis
Nov 7, 2010, 10:29 PM
Problems? Yes, certain forum members here keep calling it a netbook. :D

Otherwise if you are looking for a tiny machine, it's pretty incredible.

macnerd123
Nov 7, 2010, 10:49 PM
I think that I will just wait until after the holidays and save up all my money from work:) and then I will go with the 13 inch with the 1.86 GHz processor and 4GB or RAM.
I know with this, I will not look back and regret my decision, but it better be the best 1,400 dollars ever spent. :D

Dammit Cubs
Nov 7, 2010, 11:00 PM
Its a second computer and i wanted the portability of the 11 over the 13

it was my birthday so i maxed it out :p

happy birthday.

Tomple
Nov 7, 2010, 11:01 PM
I think that I will just wait until after the holidays and save up all my money from work:) and then I will go with the 13 inch with the 1.86 GHz processor and 4GB or RAM.
I know with this, I will not look back and regret my decision, but it better be the best 1,400 dollars ever spent. :D

Good luck!

are you going with the 13 for the screen real estate or something else

wirelessmacuser
Nov 7, 2010, 11:10 PM
what screen issue? you'll get used to it.
And you base your "get used to it" comment on what proof? Or is that denial I hear talking? I wish you well, if your MBA develops the problem you're in for the shock of your life. Or not, denial can be very rewarding (for some people) ... :)

Starfyre
Nov 7, 2010, 11:57 PM
Does it run 1080p videos smoothly?

Testing a 11' model 1.4ghz processor 2gb ram in the Apple Store with this trailer at 1080p:

http://www.google.com/url?sa=t&source=web&cd=2&sqi=2&ved=0CB4QtwIwAQ&url=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.youtube.com%2Fwatch%3Fv%3D4N2YWRJ-ppo&rct=j&q=1080p%20youtube&ei=EJHXTI3CCoS0lQfU59CACQ&usg=AFQjCNFPWV8GsR1GmeG38sjJ8e--W5Z-yw&cad=rja

Choppy, slow. On 13' 1.86ghz mba played smoothly.

Can anyone this with 1.6ghz to see if there is any difference?

fyrefly
Nov 8, 2010, 12:06 AM
it's MUCH more powerful than your macbook

Depends on how you equate power? A 2.2Ghz Core2Duo vs. a 1.4Ghz ULV Core2Duo is not more powerful.

A 1.4Ghz Core2Duo with a speedy SSD = "feels faster" than a 2.2Ghz Core2Duo. But put an OWC or Vertex or other Sandforce SSD into the 2.2Ghs 2007 MacBook and you'll feel the same "snappiness", plus have more horsepower under the hood.

Let me ask this. Would it be worth it to spend 200 dollars extra for the 13 inch model with 4GB just to get the 1.86 GHz processor. I don't care about the screen sizes and besides that the RAM would be the same. Is there a difference between the 1.4 GHz processor and 1.86 GHz? :confused:

There most certainly is a difference between the 1.4Ghz and 1.86Ghz processors. Look at Anandtech's report (http://www.anandtech.com/show/4000/apples-11inch-upgraded-macbook-air-review-do-16ghz-and-4gb-make-a-difference/2) on anything that is processor intensive, such a Photoshop Task:

http://images.anandtech.com/graphs/graph4000/33490.png

The 1.86 is ~20% or more faster than the 1.4Ghz.

Over Achiever
Nov 8, 2010, 12:11 AM
Testing a 11' model 1.4ghz processor 2gb ram in the Apple Store with this trailer at 1080p:

http://www.google.com/url?sa=t&source=web&cd=2&sqi=2&ved=0CB4QtwIwAQ&url=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.youtube.com%2Fwatch%3Fv%3D4N2YWRJ-ppo&rct=j&q=1080p%20youtube&ei=EJHXTI3CCoS0lQfU59CACQ&usg=AFQjCNFPWV8GsR1GmeG38sjJ8e--W5Z-yw&cad=rja

Choppy, slow. On 13' 1.86ghz mba played smoothly.

Can anyone this with 1.6ghz to see if there is any difference?

I just tried it on my 1.6/4/128 and I had no studdering. I let the video load a bit to make sure my internet connection wouldn't make a difference.

Funny, I think I tried it in the apple store on a 1.4 machine and didn't have any problems either.

bcaslis
Nov 8, 2010, 12:12 AM
Testing a 11' model 1.4ghz processor 2gb ram in the Apple Store with this trailer at 1080p:

http://www.google.com/url?sa=t&source=web&cd=2&sqi=2&ved=0CB4QtwIwAQ&url=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.youtube.com%2Fwatch%3Fv%3D4N2YWRJ-ppo&rct=j&q=1080p%20youtube&ei=EJHXTI3CCoS0lQfU59CACQ&usg=AFQjCNFPWV8GsR1GmeG38sjJ8e--W5Z-yw&cad=rja

Choppy, slow. On 13' 1.86ghz mba played smoothly.

Can anyone this with 1.6ghz to see if there is any difference?

Not sure what I'm looking for. Played perfectly smoothly full screen on my 11". I can't believe the processor speed would be enough to make a difference. Are you sure you weren't seeing a slow connection speed?

aleni
Nov 8, 2010, 12:21 AM
as a primary computer?:confused:

my job requires me to do 4000x4000 pixels images in photoshop, and i have 17" uni MBP to work on that. but if my job doesn't require me to do that kind oh photoshop work, then yes, the 11" can be used as a primary computer.

Tomple
Nov 8, 2010, 12:25 AM
I just tried it on my 1.6/4/128 and I had no studdering. I let the video load a bit to make sure my internet connection wouldn't make a difference.

Funny, I think I tried it in the apple store on a 1.4 machine and didn't have any problems either.

Flawless on my 11.6" 1.6ghz as well

crisito
Nov 8, 2010, 08:38 AM
Please delete

Tomple
Nov 8, 2010, 10:20 AM
Please delete

Why?
Delete what?

Over Achiever
Nov 8, 2010, 10:42 AM
I just wondered is there any difference in fullscreen on the MBA and playing on an external at 1080p resolution? Maybe 1080p video studders then? I've only tried it fullscreen on the MBA resolution.

Tomple
Nov 8, 2010, 10:51 AM
I just wondered is there any difference in fullscreen on the MBA and playing on an external at 1080p resolution? Maybe 1080p video studders then? I've only tried it fullscreen on the MBA resolution.

mine was fullscreen and it ran great

let it load a little bit and then it was all good

(im on google chrome if that matters)

ayuchan
Nov 8, 2010, 11:01 AM
Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_0_1 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/532.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/4.0.5 Mobile/8A306 Safari/6531.22.7)

I just wondered is there any difference in fullscreen on the MBA and playing on an external at 1080p resolution? Maybe 1080p video studders then? I've only tried it fullscreen on the MBA resolution.

mine was fullscreen and it ran great

let it load a little bit and then it was all good

(im on google chrome if that matters)

Weird. I can't run even 720p YouTube video on chrome, on 1.4 4Gb. However Safari works fine.

Tomple
Nov 8, 2010, 11:26 AM
Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_0_1 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/532.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/4.0.5 Mobile/8A306 Safari/6531.22.7)



Weird. I can't run even 720p YouTube video on chrome, on 1.4 4Gb. However Safari works fine.

Weird indeeed.....

ccsicecoke
Nov 8, 2010, 11:40 AM
I have a 1.4GHz w 4GB ram. It plays with a little choppy. I believe a 1.6GHz will have no problem

Tomple
Nov 8, 2010, 11:48 AM
I have a 1.4GHz w 4GB ram. It plays with a little choppy. I believe a 1.6GHz will have no problem

mines a 1.6 and its flawless

gustav531
Nov 8, 2010, 12:15 PM
Testing a 11' model 1.4ghz processor 2gb ram in the Apple Store with this trailer at 1080p:

http://www.google.com/url?sa=t&source=web&cd=2&sqi=2&ved=0CB4QtwIwAQ&url=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.youtube.com%2Fwatch%3Fv%3D4N2YWRJ-ppo&rct=j&q=1080p%20youtube&ei=EJHXTI3CCoS0lQfU59CACQ&usg=AFQjCNFPWV8GsR1GmeG38sjJ8e--W5Z-yw&cad=rja

Choppy, slow. On 13' 1.86ghz mba played smoothly.

Can anyone this with 1.6ghz to see if there is any difference?

Tested this on my 1.4 / 4GB model, it ran 1080P perfectly smooth with eight (8!) other apps open other than Safari..
This little thing can do alot.

Over Achiever
Nov 8, 2010, 12:17 PM
Has anyone tried on an external monitor? I'm still curious as to how it plays at an actual higher resolution.

Tomple
Nov 8, 2010, 12:23 PM
Has anyone tried on an external monitor? I'm still curious as to how it plays at an actual higher resolution.

Good question, can someone test this?

linkandzelda
Nov 8, 2010, 12:43 PM
1.4 is enough.. go with the 128gb like i did :apple::);)

do the unboxing at apple store if you are buying in-store then check for the creak sound by pressing the (black plastic)

And you base your "get used to it" comment on what proof? Or is that denial I hear talking? I wish you well, if your MBA develops the problem you're in for the shock of your life. Or not, denial can be very rewarding (for some people) ... :)

Im thinking of purchasing the 11" Air at some point, i heard about this "display issue" and i'm referring to the flickering. Does anyone know much about this? Like how likely it is to happen, cause, fixes etc?

I've seen a youtube video on it, looks pretty bad...

Tomple
Nov 8, 2010, 12:50 PM
Im thinking of purchasing the 11" Air at some point, i heard about this "display issue" and i'm referring to the flickering. Does anyone know much about this? Like how likely it is to happen, cause, fixes etc?

I've seen a youtube video on it, looks pretty bad...

Not happening on my 11.6"
im sure the genius bar would replace though so i would not worry

alflavor
Nov 8, 2010, 02:56 PM
So far so good here, still using it as my 2nd computer, i.e. downstairs, in kitchen, away from the Windows 7 desktop I also use.

That said, since I go this 2 weeks ago 90% of my computing has been on the MBA.

I am only using the desktop right now for printing, and iphone/itunes syncing, also for streaming to my squeezebox at the weekends!

I still need to learn how to 'do more' with mac as I'm new to it, but as I started off, so far so good.
Oh, and I use the base model MBA 64gb/2gb

mattpreston11
Nov 8, 2010, 04:26 PM
Mine has been an absolute nightmare!


JK, it's awesome.

drxcm
Nov 8, 2010, 04:34 PM
No issues with my maxed out 11.6" - this is the computer I've wanted from Apple for so long - it is perfect for my needs.