PDA

View Full Version : Using Front Row on MBA with Apple Remote




Kenzembo1
Nov 8, 2010, 10:35 AM
I've decided to get a spec'd out 11" MacBook Air to replace my 13" MBP. I'll be using it alongside my 24" cinema display so that I can still enjoy a desktop experience when watching movies or editing photos where I need the larger screen real estate. Everyone is talking about how they miss the illuminated keyboard, but for me, the biggest loss (going from a MBP to MBA) is the ability to access Front Row conveniently with the Apple Remote.

It probably sounds silly to most, but having the infrared sensor on the Pro and using Front Row to manage DVD movies, iTunes content, photos, etc. at a distance from my bedside was really a neat feature. This definitely won't keep me from purchasing the new Air, but it's a shame that technology can't be used on the Air as well.

This raises another question- what use is the Apple Remote with the MacBook Air? Should I pitch it in when I sell my Pro or can I still use it somehow in conjunction with Keynote presentations, etc?



Bluemeanie1976
Nov 8, 2010, 10:36 AM
If you have an ipod touch, you can use that.

fyrefly
Nov 8, 2010, 10:41 AM
To answer your last question - the Apple Remote will not work with the 2010 MBA. (Unless you buy one of those USB Mira IR receivers (http://twistedmelon.com/mira/hardware.html) - which seems to defeat the point of Apple's svelte little machine. ;)

You also can't use Apple's "remote" application to control Front Row (AFAIK). You have to use an application like RowMote (http://gizmodo.com/5142740/rowmote-brings-apples-front-row-remote-to-the-iphone-unofficially) for the iPhone/iPad/iPod Touch for that.

Dustman
Nov 8, 2010, 10:42 AM
What he said. You just need an iOS device, one of the numerous App Store apps, and WiFi.

Kenzembo1
Nov 8, 2010, 10:44 AM
That's true, I do have an iPhone with the Remote application but the wifi connection is pretty weak at school (you would think it would be better). Ha I have to turn on my wireless printer and select the default wifi option to use the application :o

AAPLaday
Nov 8, 2010, 10:46 AM
Being able to use the Apple remote is now a pro feature in their laptops im afraid

Bluemeanie1976
Nov 8, 2010, 11:01 AM
Airmouse works.. Just tried it.

Kenzembo1
Nov 8, 2010, 11:04 AM
Thanks guys! I think I'll try Air Mouse or some other variation. Hopefully I can use that as a workable solution.

Spacekatgal
Nov 8, 2010, 11:48 AM
If you have an ipod touch, you can use that.

This actually doesn't work very well. I run 3000 miles a year, and over the winter a lot of it is on the treadmill. I spend a lot of time watching movies.

The problem with the remote app is it has to connect to your machine every time you use it, meaning there's a delay. The other problem is, if you're using the external superdrive, it will not control a DVD. This is severely disappointing.

I'm unsure how much battery power the IR port took, but I strongly wish Apple had kept it.

Bri

Bluemeanie1976
Nov 8, 2010, 12:11 PM
This actually doesn't work very well. I run 3000 miles a year, and over the winter a lot of it is on the treadmill. I spend a lot of time watching movies.

The problem with the remote app is it has to connect to your machine every time you use it, meaning there's a delay. The other problem is, if you're using the external superdrive, it will not control a DVD. This is severely disappointing.

I'm unsure how much battery power the IR port took, but I strongly wish Apple had kept it.

Bri

Delay? I don't know about you but the delay is utterly negligible. As for the DVD, as I said, airmouse will control most apps, including dvd player.


http://farm2.static.flickr.com/1234/5158901274_bfaf231492.jpg (http://www.flickr.com/photos/350gt/5158901274/)
photo.PNG (http://www.flickr.com/photos/350gt/5158901274/) by 350GT (http://www.flickr.com/people/350gt/), on Flickr

gonzaload1987
Dec 6, 2010, 09:14 AM
Is there any app that doesn't require wifi connection to use the iphone with a mac?

goodtimes5
Dec 7, 2010, 02:04 AM
Is there any app that doesn't require wifi connection to use the iphone with a mac?

That sounds physically impossible

sammich
Dec 7, 2010, 02:11 AM
Is there any app that doesn't require wifi connection to use the iphone with a mac?

Generally you use the iPhone as a remote when you're sitting in front of your mac. And WiFi is usually available, but if not, just make a network from your Macbook.

If you're wanting to do so with Bluetooth, not possible atm since bluetooth usage is limited.

And developers don't really see people wanting to control their computers over 3G unless it's a remote desktop/VNC type application.

deedas
Dec 7, 2010, 02:13 AM
Bluetooth?

Kenzembo1
Dec 7, 2010, 11:26 AM
I heard that it's possible to use a Wii remote with the new Air. You can connect it via Bluetooth and configure it using a free app.

Can anyone confirm this? I think there was a YouTube video posted doing this not too long ago. Also, I went to the Tech Desk at school to aid in my data transfer and the guy mentioned the Wii remote as a possible solution as well.

ohno321
Dec 21, 2010, 11:26 PM
I heard that it's possible to use a Wii remote with the new Air. You can connect it via Bluetooth and configure it using a free app.

Can anyone confirm this? I think there was a YouTube video posted doing this not too long ago. Also, I went to the Tech Desk at school to aid in my data transfer and the guy mentioned the Wii remote as a possible solution as well.

MiFi is another alternate solution to use iphone as a remote;)