PDA

View Full Version : Netflix working on My ATV2 in the UK




Evgenyy
Nov 11, 2010, 03:49 AM
Just to share with you guys that I have Netflix working perfectly on my ATV2 in the UK.

Steps to get it working:
1. Get VPN service that supports configurations for DD-WRT routers (StrongVPN is one of them)
2. Sign-up to Netflix
3. Open iTunes US account
3. Get a router that supports DD-WRT firmware and flash it with that firmware
4. Set-up VPN client on the router - took me 3 days to get it right but I can help with that if anyone is interested.
5. Set-up ATV2 with US iTunes account and connect it to the DD-WRT router. Netflix should just appear in the Internet menu and you can now login and watch movies. It also works on iPhone and iPad.

I also have Hulu, ABC, WB and other US only streaming services working on all computers including ATV2 via Plex plugin.

So free Hulu and thousands of Netflix movies for 10 month (+ the initial cost of the DD-WRT router) - not too bad at all :D



chenks
Nov 11, 2010, 04:35 AM
you need a valid US address to sign up to netflix though....

Evgenyy
Nov 11, 2010, 04:47 AM
you need a valid US address to sign up to netflix though....

Yes, I signed up with my friends address but some people use any random address. You can pay for Netflix with Entropay virtual card or possibly paypal now as well.

CanonX
Nov 11, 2010, 12:19 PM
Just to share with you guys that I have Netflix working perfectly on my ATV2 in the UK.

Steps to get it working:
1. Get VPN service that supports configurations for DD-WRT routers (StrongVPN is one of them)
2. Sign-up to Netflix
3. Open iTunes US account
3. Get a router that supports DD-WRT firmware and flash it with that firmware
4. Set-up VPN client on the router - took me 3 days to get it right but I can help with that if anyone is interested.
5. Set-up ATV2 with US iTunes account and connect it to the DD-WRT router. Netflix should just appear in the Internet menu and you can now login and watch movies. It also works on iPhone and iPad.

I also have Hulu, ABC, WB and other US only streaming services working on all computers including ATV2 via Plex plugin.

So free Hulu and thousands of Netflix movies for 10 month (+ the initial cost of the DD-WRT router) - not too bad at all :D

Hi,

I have also been trying the same method for the last few days, I'm stuck on getting the VPN on the router:confused:. Please help

Evgenyy
Nov 11, 2010, 01:37 PM
Hi,

I have also been trying the same method for the last few days, I'm stuck on getting the VPN on the router:confused:. Please help

Which VPN provider are you using?

CanonX
Nov 11, 2010, 03:16 PM
I'm using strongvpn

hardon
Nov 11, 2010, 03:19 PM
the entropay loophole no longer works, netflix at this time do not accept paypal.

netflix will not accept prepaid or virtual credit cards.

The Phazer
Nov 11, 2010, 05:04 PM
So free Hulu and thousands of Netflix movies for 10 month (+ the initial cost of the DD-WRT router) - not too bad at all :D

And all you have to do is commit fraud!

Phazer

Evgenyy
Nov 19, 2010, 04:04 AM
I'm using strongvpn

Here are the settings that I use for those who would like to set up their VPN at the router level.

1. Check the address of your main ADSL modem that connects to the internet. Usually it is something like 192.168.0.1 or 192.168.1.1 (for the settings below, I will assume that you have 192.168.0.1)



2. Do not connect your dd-wrt router to your modem just yet. Connect to it with your computer and reset the router to defaults. Then go to the Setup->Basic Setup. On that page do the following:

(a) Under Wan Connection Type chose "Disabled"

(b) Under optional settings just chose any name of your router, leave the rest blank and MTU on Auto

(c) Under Network Setup you need to put the following:

-Local IP address 192.168.0.2 (if your main modem is different then just make sure the first 3 numbers are the same and the last number is the next increment, i.e. if your modem is 192.168.1.1 then your dd-wrt router needs to be 192.168.1.2)

-Subnet Mask 255.255.255.0

-Gateway 192.168.0.1 (or whatever IP is your modem)

-Local DNS 192.168.0.1 (or whatever IP is your modem)

(d) DHCP

- DHCP Type: DHCP Server

- DHCP Server: chose Disable

- Leave the rest blank, except for Static DNS (use any DNS provider; I use google's 8.8.8.8 and 8.8.4.4) and tick all 3 boxes for DNSMasq and DHCP-Authoritative

(e) Leave NTP Client as is

3. You can now connect your dd-wrt router to your modem with a cable. Make sure you connect them via standard LAN ports and do not use a WAN port. once you connect it, you should have internet working when you are connected to dd-wrt router.

4. Now setup your VPN Client in dd-wrt router by following instructions from post #3 from here http://strongvpn.com/forum/viewtopic.php?id=153 except do not use the command given in step 6 and use the command provided in post#69 on page 3 of that thread.

5. Once VPN settings are there, reboot the router.

6. Now, the final part of making this work is to configure your PC, Mac, iPad or Apple TV to use your dd-wrt router as gateway. For Apple TV it is very easy: Go to settings and connect to the dd-wrt router. Once connected it will ask you to either setup DHCP automatically or setup TCP/IP manually. Chose manually and enter the settings manually. IP address 192.168.000.144 (if your modem and router address have different first 3 numbers, you need to use those, i.e. 192.168.001.144). Subnet Mask 255.255.255.000. DNS 008.008.008.008. Gateway 192.168.000.002 (or whatever IP address you gave your dd-wrt router in step 2(c)).

You should now be connected to the internet via VPN. I usually check it on the iPhone by connecting to dd-wrt router and entering the same settings (press blue arrow and setup static IP). Then just go to http://whatismyipaddress.com and it should show your US IP.

And all you have to do is commit fraud!

Phazer

Fraud needs to contain an element of economic loss to be actionable so no, this is not fraud.

AAPLaday
Nov 19, 2010, 04:08 AM
Aren't they launching a UK service in a few weeks? Im sure i read this somewhere

Evgenyy
Nov 19, 2010, 04:19 AM
Aren't they launching a UK service in a few weeks? Im sure i read this somewhere

There were rumours but I don't remember reading anything official about netflix coming here. It looks like we now have LoveFilm trying to be the UK version of Netflix but I doubt we will be getting it on ATV any time soon... And their streaming selection is still quite poor.

Pressure
Nov 19, 2010, 06:39 AM
I'm sure it will also work if you Ad-hoc network the Apple TV to your notebook and have VPN running on that.

A bit simpler than hunting for a DD-WRT compatible router.

Evgenyy
Nov 19, 2010, 07:53 AM
I'm sure it will also work if you Ad-hoc network the Apple TV to your notebook and have VPN running on that.

A bit simpler than hunting for a DD-WRT compatible router.

Yeah, I tried that as well but couldn't get it to route through VPN for some reason. It should work though with some tinkering.

JRoDDz
Nov 19, 2010, 08:11 AM
I believe paypal can give you a temporary/one-time use Credit Card number though their site. Perhaps you can use that to pay for netflix.

CanonX
Nov 20, 2010, 06:40 AM
Here are the settings that I use for those who would like to set up their VPN at the router level.

1. Check the address of your main ADSL modem that connects to the internet. Usually it is something like 192.168.0.1 or 192.168.1.1 (for the settings below, I will assume that you have 192.168.0.1)



2. Do not connect your dd-wrt router to your modem just yet. Connect to it with your computer and reset the router to defaults. Then go to the Setup->Basic Setup. On that page do the following:

(a) Under Wan Connection Type chose "Disabled"

(b) Under optional settings just chose any name of your router, leave the rest blank and MTU on Auto

(c) Under Network Setup you need to put the following:

-Local IP address 192.168.0.2 (if your main modem is different then just make sure the first 3 numbers are the same and the last number is the next increment, i.e. if your modem is 192.168.1.1 then your dd-wrt router needs to be 192.168.1.2)

-Subnet Mask 255.255.255.0

-Gateway 192.168.0.1 (or whatever IP is your modem)

-Local DNS 192.168.0.1 (or whatever IP is your modem)

(d) DHCP

- DHCP Type: DHCP Server

- DHCP Server: chose Disable

- Leave the rest blank, except for Static DNS (use any DNS provider; I use google's 8.8.8.8 and 8.8.4.4) and tick all 3 boxes for DNSMasq and DHCP-Authoritative

(e) Leave NTP Client as is

3. You can now connect your dd-wrt router to your modem with a cable. Make sure you connect them via standard LAN ports and do not use a WAN port. once you connect it, you should have internet working when you are connected to dd-wrt router.

4. Now setup your VPN Client in dd-wrt router by following instructions from post #3 from here http://strongvpn.com/forum/viewtopic.php?id=153 except do not use the command given in step 6 and use the command provided in post#69 on page 3 of that thread.

5. Once VPN settings are there, reboot the router.

6. Now, the final part of making this work is to configure your PC, Mac, iPad or Apple TV to use your dd-wrt router as gateway. For Apple TV it is very easy: Go to settings and connect to the dd-wrt router. Once connected it will ask you to either setup DHCP automatically or setup TCP/IP manually. Chose manually and enter the settings manually. IP address 192.168.000.144 (if your modem and router address have different first 3 numbers, you need to use those, i.e. 192.168.001.144). Subnet Mask 255.255.255.000. DNS 008.008.008.008. Gateway 192.168.000.002 (or whatever IP address you gave your dd-wrt router in step 2(c)).

You should now be connected to the internet via VPN. I usually check it on the iPhone by connecting to dd-wrt router and entering the same settings (press blue arrow and setup static IP). Then just go to http://whatismyipaddress.com and it should show your US IP.



Fraud needs to contain an element of economic loss to be actionable so no, this is not fraud.


Great this has worked perfectly, thanks very much

punitnaker
Nov 20, 2010, 08:11 AM
How can I do this with a Sky router? It's one of the netgear routers.

CanonX
Nov 20, 2010, 12:47 PM
How can I do this with a Sky router? It's one of the netgear routers.

Go to this site and see if your router will work with the DD-WRT firmware:
http://www.dd-wrt.com/site/support/router-database

The.316
Nov 21, 2010, 04:20 AM
Can this be done using an Apple Airport Extreme?

tigerldn
Nov 21, 2010, 01:04 PM
Just to share with you guys that I have Netflix working perfectly on my ATV2 in the UK.

Steps to get it working:
1. Get VPN service that supports configurations for DD-WRT routers (StrongVPN is one of them)
2. Sign-up to Netflix
3. Open iTunes US account
3. Get a router that supports DD-WRT firmware and flash it with that firmware
4. Set-up VPN client on the router - took me 3 days to get it right but I can help with that if anyone is interested.
5. Set-up ATV2 with US iTunes account and connect it to the DD-WRT router. Netflix should just appear in the Internet menu and you can now login and watch movies. It also works on iPhone and iPad.

I also have Hulu, ABC, WB and other US only streaming services working on all computers including ATV2 via Plex plugin.

So free Hulu and thousands of Netflix movies for 10 month (+ the initial cost of the DD-WRT router) - not too bad at all :D


Hi

No sure if you can help but I have a Witopia Cloakbox which is a DD-WRT router pre configured to work with Witopia.net VPN service.

It seems to work fine when I connect from my iMac or Macbook with Netflix, Hulu and any website. But when I connect to my Ipad or Apple TV 2 Netflix doesn't work? everything else works fine including the ABC app on the Ipad.

On the Apple TV I get a sorry there is an error try again later... on the Ipad it opens ready to play, then just goes back to the details page.

Can anyone help?

peterjcat
Nov 21, 2010, 01:58 PM
How can I do this with a Sky router? It's one of the netgear routers.

Is it a standalone router or a combined modem/router? The combined modem/routers are generally not reflashable. If it's a separate router you'd need to find the exact model and check it against the list.

Can this be done using an Apple Airport Extreme?

You can't flash the Airport with any other firmware; but you can get a separate router and use it in conjunction with the Airport.

Bevz
Nov 21, 2010, 06:40 PM
Aren't they launching a UK service in a few weeks? Im sure i read this somewhere

Yeah I read this somewhere too, not seen any updates to the story lately so dunno if it's still on or not?

Jonny1989
Nov 21, 2010, 07:07 PM
i wish netflix did come to the UK, i cant stand to watch most british tv series. i want to watch fringe/lost/dexter/HIMYM/The office (US) things like that.

unless any of those arent available to watch on netflix? or are they?

Restinbeast
Nov 21, 2010, 09:23 PM
i wish netflix did come to the UK, i cant stand to watch most british tv series. i want to watch fringe/lost/dexter/HIMYM/The office (US) things like that.

unless any of those arent available to watch on netflix? or are they?

Unfortunately those are not on Netflix... which is only movies and Starz programming as far as I know.

So you would have to access various other services to get those shows. For example the Office (US) is available on Hulu. Shows like Dexter I think are only available on Itunes for purchase.

scarboni21
Nov 21, 2010, 11:51 PM
Unfortunately those are not on Netflix... which is only movies and Starz programming as far as I know.

So you would have to access various other services to get those shows. For example the Office (US) is available on Hulu. Shows like Dexter I think are only available on Itunes for purchase.

This is not true. While the newest season of some of these shows may not be there many seasons are. Here is what I remember off the top of my head that are on instant streaming

Dexter seasons 1 & 2
Lost all but the final season
No how I met your mother
Office all but the current season
No fringe

Evgenyy
Nov 22, 2010, 02:19 AM
Hi

No sure if you can help but I have a Witopia Cloakbox which is a DD-WRT router pre configured to work with Witopia.net VPN service.

It seems to work fine when I connect from my iMac or Macbook with Netflix, Hulu and any website. But when I connect to my Ipad or Apple TV 2 Netflix doesn't work? everything else works fine including the ABC app on the Ipad.

On the Apple TV I get a sorry there is an error try again later... on the Ipad it opens ready to play, then just goes back to the details page.

Can anyone help?

You can try configuring TCP/IP manually on iPad and Apple TV.

For example, if your Witopia Cloakbox is on 192.168.0.2 then put something like this:

IP: 192.168.0.117 (or any other non-conflicting IP in the range of your Witopia Cloakbox and in this case 192.168.0.*)
Subnet Mask: 255.255.255.0
Gateway: 192.168.0.2 (this is IP of your Witopia Cloakbox)
DNS: 8.8.8.8 (or any other DNS like OpenDNS or your ISP DNS)

tigerldn
Nov 22, 2010, 05:53 AM
You can try configuring TCP/IP manually on iPad and Apple TV.

For example, if your Witopia Cloakbox is on 192.168.0.2 then put something like this:

IP: 192.168.0.117 (or any other non-conflicting IP in the range of your Witopia Cloakbox and in this case 192.168.0.*)
Subnet Mask: 255.255.255.0
Gateway: 192.168.0.2 (this is IP of your Witopia Cloakbox)
DNS: 8.8.8.8 (or any other DNS like OpenDNS or your ISP DNS)

Thank you for that... it seems to have work.

JRoDDz
Nov 22, 2010, 07:58 AM
i wish netflix did come to the UK, i cant stand to watch most british tv series. i want to watch fringe/lost/dexter/HIMYM/The office (US) things like that.

unless any of those arent available to watch on netflix? or are they?

What? Had enough of Red Dwarf? :D


P.S. I'm just starting to watch that show.. I'm from U.S.

The Phazer
Nov 22, 2010, 04:52 PM
Fraud needs to contain an element of economic loss to be actionable so no, this is not fraud.

Potential economic loss (or liability). Netflix risks loss of it's rights agreements by virtue of you breaking their terms and conditions and accessing content they are not allowed to serve you, so it is very much fraud - given you have given a false address for a credit card transaction that is also fraud, as the credit card provider is not required to pay up for the transaction as a result.

Phazer

Restinbeast
Nov 22, 2010, 05:51 PM
This is not true. While the newest season of some of these shows may not be there many seasons are. Here is what I remember off the top of my head that are on instant streaming

Dexter seasons 1 & 2
Lost all but the final season
No how I met your mother
Office all but the current season
No fringe

Wow you are right! I have been using the Boxee netflix app instead of my browser. What the hell is wrong with this app? Barely anything shows up on the search function...

Well Netflix instant is a whole lot better than I thought it was... my apologies for the false info.

The.316
Nov 26, 2010, 08:48 AM
Is it a standalone router or a combined modem/router? The combined modem/routers are generally not reflashable. If it's a separate router you'd need to find the exact model and check it against the list.



You can't flash the Airport with any other firmware; but you can get a separate router and use it in conjunction with the Airport.

Im thinking about getting the Netgear DGND3300, which is a modem/router combo, would this be a router available to flash?

Evgenyy
Nov 26, 2010, 09:19 AM
Im thinking about getting the Netgear DGND3300, which is a modem/router combo, would this be a router available to flash?

You cannot flash dd-wrt firmware on routers that have modem integrated. Netgear DGND3300 does not have a VPN client so, unfortunately, it is not possible to set it up as per above instructions.

The.316
Nov 27, 2010, 08:59 AM
You cannot flash dd-wrt firmware on routers that have modem integrated. Netgear DGND3300 does not have a VPN client so, unfortunately, it is not possible to set it up as per above instructions.

So I either have to go to a modem then a flashable router, or go from my current setup, which is a modem to airport extreme to another router. That seems like a lot of trouble for something that I really wouldnt use all that often.

indesignx
Dec 1, 2010, 03:18 PM
I have Airport Extreme as well. Hate that this can't be flashed.

But if I go from modem to airport extreme to another router, how will that affect my current wireless signal? I switched to Extreme because the signal was 100X better than my previous router.

If I get a new router to use in conjunction with my extreme any recommendations?

Thx!

ibookster
Dec 9, 2010, 05:16 PM
I have Airport Extreme as well. Hate that this can't be flashed.

But if I go from modem to airport extreme to another router, how will that affect my current wireless signal? I switched to Extreme because the signal was 100X better than my previous router.

If I get a new router to use in conjunction with my extreme any recommendations?

Thx!

I tried loading DD-wrt on my linksys router myself but never got it to work. Found out it was much easier to just buy a preconfigured VPN router instead. Did a post on it here (http://thomasfals.com/how-to-use-netflix-on-the-apple-tv-2-from-outside-the-us/)

IrmaN
Dec 11, 2010, 04:07 AM
i just cant make it work.

I test in om my PC and if i set the pc to get the ip adress automatically i have internet.

but as soon as i set the pc to manual ip and to use the dd-wrt routers as gateway the connection is down. The pc diagnostic says that the dns server is not answering........

have been trying to make vpn via dd-wrt to work, for the last two days and still no luck :-)

Here are the settings that I use for those who would like to set up their VPN at the router level.

1. Check the address of your main ADSL modem that connects to the internet. Usually it is something like 192.168.0.1 or 192.168.1.1 (for the settings below, I will assume that you have 192.168.0.1)



2. Do not connect your dd-wrt router to your modem just yet. Connect to it with your computer and reset the router to defaults. Then go to the Setup->Basic Setup. On that page do the following:

(a) Under Wan Connection Type chose "Disabled"

(b) Under optional settings just chose any name of your router, leave the rest blank and MTU on Auto

(c) Under Network Setup you need to put the following:

-Local IP address 192.168.0.2 (if your main modem is different then just make sure the first 3 numbers are the same and the last number is the next increment, i.e. if your modem is 192.168.1.1 then your dd-wrt router needs to be 192.168.1.2)

-Subnet Mask 255.255.255.0

-Gateway 192.168.0.1 (or whatever IP is your modem)

-Local DNS 192.168.0.1 (or whatever IP is your modem)

(d) DHCP

- DHCP Type: DHCP Server

- DHCP Server: chose Disable

- Leave the rest blank, except for Static DNS (use any DNS provider; I use google's 8.8.8.8 and 8.8.4.4) and tick all 3 boxes for DNSMasq and DHCP-Authoritative

(e) Leave NTP Client as is

3. You can now connect your dd-wrt router to your modem with a cable. Make sure you connect them via standard LAN ports and do not use a WAN port. once you connect it, you should have internet working when you are connected to dd-wrt router.

4. Now setup your VPN Client in dd-wrt router by following instructions from post #3 from here http://strongvpn.com/forum/viewtopic.php?id=153 except do not use the command given in step 6 and use the command provided in post#69 on page 3 of that thread.

5. Once VPN settings are there, reboot the router.

6. Now, the final part of making this work is to configure your PC, Mac, iPad or Apple TV to use your dd-wrt router as gateway. For Apple TV it is very easy: Go to settings and connect to the dd-wrt router. Once connected it will ask you to either setup DHCP automatically or setup TCP/IP manually. Chose manually and enter the settings manually. IP address 192.168.000.144 (if your modem and router address have different first 3 numbers, you need to use those, i.e. 192.168.001.144). Subnet Mask 255.255.255.000. DNS 008.008.008.008. Gateway 192.168.000.002 (or whatever IP address you gave your dd-wrt router in step 2(c)).

You should now be connected to the internet via VPN. I usually check it on the iPhone by connecting to dd-wrt router and entering the same settings (press blue arrow and setup static IP). Then just go to http://whatismyipaddress.com and it should show your US IP.



Fraud needs to contain an element of economic loss to be actionable so no, this is not fraud.

p17blo
Dec 14, 2010, 05:03 AM
If you are going to go buy a new router I can highly recommend any of the Draytek routers. Obviously if you are lucky enough to already own one you are all set already. These routers are not DD-WRT compatible, however they all have a VPN client in as standard. You can even buy one of the Ethernet Routers (rather than ADSL routers) which are cheaper and add them to your existing home network and connect your ATV etc to this instead of your existing router.

These routers have some significant extra features such as Web Filtering, DDoS protection, 4 SSIDs, VoIP etc. I find them invaluable.

All works perfectly for me as long as you are using firmware later than 3.2.1.

Paul

BD Conan
Jan 24, 2011, 06:46 AM
I have followed the string and am trying to set up my ITV2 to watch Netflix on our main TV. In the house we have the Telecom W503V router, a Airport Extreme/Timecapsule, MacBook Pro, iMac and of course the ITV2.
Is there a way to set up a VPN on my Airport Extreme so that I can watch Netflix on the TV? or does the VPN get set up on the Telecom W503V router? I am stationed in Germany and can't seem to figure out a way to watch US TV from the comfort of my living room chair. If I am able to set up the VPN, what effect will it have on my timecapsule?
If this doesn't work I am afraid I am going to have to surrender and let my 12 year old daughter do it.

iNick5
Mar 25, 2011, 02:32 AM
...(d) DHCP

- DHCP Type: DHCP Server

- DHCP Server: chose Disable

- Leave the rest blank, except for Static DNS (use any DNS provider; I use google's 8.8.8.8 and 8.8.4.4) and tick all 3 boxes for DNSMasq and DHCP-Authoritative...

I'm currently trying to set up my DD-WRT Router...but I don't quite get the above instructions...

when I disable the DHCP Server, the Static DNS fields get grayed out and I can't set up google's DNS Server...so my setup wouldnt match with the instructions....can somebody help me out?

ro-76
Mar 29, 2011, 03:38 PM
Here are the settings that I use for those who would like to set up their VPN at the router level.

1. Check the address of your main ADSL modem that connects to the internet. Usually it is something like 192.168.0.1 or 192.168.1.1 (for the settings below, I will assume that you have 192.168.0.1)



2. Do not connect your dd-wrt router to your modem just yet. Connect to it with your computer and reset the router to defaults. Then go to the Setup->Basic Setup. On that page do the following:

(a) Under Wan Connection Type chose "Disabled"

(b) Under optional settings just chose any name of your router, leave the rest blank and MTU on Auto

(c) Under Network Setup you need to put the following:

-Local IP address 192.168.0.2 (if your main modem is different then just make sure the first 3 numbers are the same and the last number is the next increment, i.e. if your modem is 192.168.1.1 then your dd-wrt router needs to be 192.168.1.2)

-Subnet Mask 255.255.255.0

-Gateway 192.168.0.1 (or whatever IP is your modem)

-Local DNS 192.168.0.1 (or whatever IP is your modem)


I'm in the US and attempting something similar for BBC iPlayer.

I have a cable modem connected to a Vonage VOIP gateway connected to an Airport Extreme. Currently, the Vonage VOIP gateway assigns IP addresses to the rest of the network and the AE is in bridge mode. My current devices use the VOIP gateway as the default gateway.

On my DDWRT setup, should I use the cable modem or the VOIP gateway as the gateway?

Thanks

skjold
Jul 11, 2011, 07:19 PM
I'm currently trying to set up my DD-WRT Router...but I don't quite get the above instructions...

when I disable the DHCP Server, the Static DNS fields get grayed out and I can't set up google's DNS Server...so my setup wouldnt match with the instructions....can somebody help me out?

Trying the same but like you get grayed out fields, any luck on that?

h00ligan
Jul 15, 2011, 11:22 AM
I need to find someone I can trade vpn endpoints with.. I would swap my us end for a uk end in a heartbeat. 90% of what I watch is from the uk it feels like.. well it's probably more like 65%... still I want iplayer.

ghileman
Jul 21, 2011, 04:26 PM
There were rumours but I don't remember reading anything official about netflix coming here. It looks like we now have LoveFilm trying to be the UK version of Netflix but I doubt we will be getting it on ATV any time soon... And their streaming selection is still quite poor.

I'm looking for the best, cheap UK flat panel wireless streaming setup.

I'm a student who just moved from the U.S. to London. Ideally I'd like to hang a flat panel TV on a wall, plug the power in, and wirelessly stream everything I want to watch to it from my Mac or some other device.

My questions:

1. Is there a particular TV I should purchase?

2. If my 2008 Rev B MacbookAir is not sufficient (which I am almost sure it is not), will one of the 2011 ones just released do or do I need something like Apple TV?

Thanks!

oskin
Aug 12, 2011, 01:12 AM
I found a method is which working well for me in Canada. I imagine it will work in UK as well.

Basically, you will need a Virtual Prepaid U.S. credit card and a proxy service to allow you to sign up and watch Netflix outside USA.

More details from this blog How to watch Netflix outside USA (http://www.unotelly.com/blog/?p=72)